We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and peaceful lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Safari Beach Lodge
Save
You added Safari Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Senga Bay Forest Reserve | Shore of Lake Malawi, Salima, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Salima
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Restful and peaceful lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Splendid overview on the Lake !
A quiet platform for a coffee or a beer upon the sunrise or sunset, a delicate service and a safe food ! Dedicated canoes for early paddling are a foremost plus!

Organize your meals at the previous one and no wasted time!

Great people for a very nice spot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
20
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a nice place to be, no doubt. I was there with a friend and we had a great time. We went out with a boat to photograph African Fish Eagles, awesome to see! We hiked up a small nearby mountain (guided) and enjoyed the scenery, we canoed on the lake, but it was relaxing too: staying at the pool, just reading a book, enjoying the sun at the private beach or swim in the lake. So much to see and to do, you can easily stay here for a week without getting bored.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed for a short weekend break here; it was the only hotel in Senga bay which answered the phone/emails, so we chose it! Rooms (chalets) are in the trees overlooking the lake and have a great view. Bathrooms are just beside the chalet, and you can't leave things in there as the monkeys will steal it; a bit of a pain, yes, but this is Africa, and if you want a sterile environment then go somewhere where they've shot all the wildlife. Some bugs in the room but sorted with a generous helping of bug spray. Bar is in a great location, and food and drinks are reasonably priced, the menu is fairly limited but tasty. The hotel's beach is private, so hassle free, but not really great for swimming, there was a fair bit of flotsam when we were there and the water didn't entice us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Having been spat out by the Sunbird as they double booked us, what a lovely find next door. Fantastic. Thanks and well done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

A bit of a mixed bag. Power cuts meant that our first impression was in the dark but the service was good and we were treated hospitably - by the eccentric German manager. The room is comfortable - with a great view across Lake Malawi. No air-conditioner - just a fan with mosquito nets in place. Shower and toilet were private but outside the room in the open. No TV in the room - which is fine for one or two nights but poor weather may well send you seeking distraction. Food was good and the pool setting pleasant. Baboons could be an irritation as they do come close to the entertainment area and rooms must be kept closed up. A change from the routine in Malawi - more a getaway than the standard fare.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of November 2011 as a party of 6 couples. When we arrived the power was off (a regular occurrence in Malawi) so we could only get an impression of the room by candlelight. As the generator gave power to the bar we all met there and stayed eating and drinking until midnight and having a great night.
When we got to our room we found that the mosquito net over the bed was full of flies and possibly mosiquito's, fortunatelt there was a single bed in the room too with a clean net so we both squeezed into that. If I'd had the mini bus keys we would have slept in there. The toilet and shower were outside in a 'hut' with no door and you couldn't keep soap or toilet paper in there because the baboons steal them.
One other couple with us had a similar room / toilet / shower arrangment but all the other couples had en suite rooms, some with air con and some on two levels with two balconies and up to 4 beds.
We really liked the stting of this lodge, it has great views, we found the food good, the pool OK but your satisfaction will really depend on the type of room you get.

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Spent 4 nights at Safari Beach Lodge, after 3 weeks of voluntary work, and did practically nothing. I had a stunning view from my gazebo. Yes, the bathroom is outdoors, but that was not a problem. Only the basin was leaking a bit. I told them but during my stay it was not repaired. The food was very nice. Breakfast was good, a buffet with choice of different cereals, juice, milk, coffee, tea, bread, butter, jam and fruit. If you want fried eggs, sausages, omelets etc, the kitchen prepaires it for you. The baboon family living on the property is not dangerous, don't harm them then they will not harm you. The youngsters were playing on the grass, which I loved to watch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Beach Lodge

Address: Senga Bay Forest Reserve | Shore of Lake Malawi, Salima, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Salima
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Safari Beach Hotel Salima
Safari Beach Lodge Malawi/Salima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.