We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Save Saved
You added Sunbird Livingstonia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Salima
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Stayed here for one night and the only problem was the air conditioning, which resulted me changing three times before they found a room wher one worked.

Staff very helpful.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
10
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

I stayed in Salima for just one night in their luxury corner suite and it was lovely. It's not luxurious by American standards, but it certainly is in Malawi. The lake is beautiful and I felt like I could stay there forever. While walking on the beach that morning I came across two baboons that were looking for their breakfast and they followed me back to the hotel buffet! The food is very good - be sure to order their specialty Chambo (fish) and chips - it was delicious.

At night you can see the lanterns of all the fisherman out in their boats, which was very cool. The only thing that freaked me out was when the security guard came onto our veranda in the middle of the night, and I didn't know who he was. I tried calling the front desk but no one answered, and I could tell that he was carrying a knife (which makes sense considering he's a security guard), but when I called out to him he just left and everything was fine.

If you're ever in Malawi, be sure to visit the lake and stay at this hotel. There's a wonderful market just down the road where you can buy incredible wood carvings and crafts for unbelievable prices.

  • Liked — It's beautiful and very peaceful
  • Disliked — Service can be an issue
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

This has been a year ago but the memory is still fresh of this very unpleasant stay at Le Mridian Livingstone Beach. Granted travel to Malawi is not your everyday occurence and you cannot expect things you find elsewhere. In fact in 10 days spent there we met NO Westerners that were not missionaries or foreign government workers. But standards at supposed quality international hotels have to be better than this.

Having done research into places to stay on Lake Malawi we found the Livingstone Beach and the reputation as"the nicest in the country". Le Meridian seemed a solid brand and off we went. Pleasant drive from Llowngwe. We rented a car and had no difficulties as roads in Malawi, for most part, are very good and have little traffic. You do need to concentrate however as always people walking on side of roads.

I will get to the point about this hotel. Nice pool and beach. Friendly staff. We got malaria.

"Family Suite" with no a/c in the Malawian heat, equipped with ripped and torn mosquito nets. How did the mosquitos get in the room and inside our nets? A ripped and torn window screen. We woke up the next morning with bites everywhere. Staff in no hurry to fix the problem.

Food was lacking. Only choice was a sad looking buffet(pronounced in Malawi as "boof-it")with a prohibitive price tag

We left after 2 days of a planned 7 day stay realizing we were overpaying in an extraordinary way.

We found suitable accomodation at half the price further south towards Monkey Bay. Malawi is a lovely country with the most welcoming people and worth a trip to.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

This hotel is very good. The rooms are nice and clean, but not as luxury as I aspected.
The bar is good, but the white whine of the house, was a bit "sandy".
There were to swimming pools in the public area, and I nice restaurant with food that tasted very good. But, it is africa, and it took ages to get our meal. We decided to eat lunch about 12 am, and we had to wait 1,5 hours to get our meal...Things take time in Africa. Get used to it! :)

The bar/restaurant is placed about 50 metres from the beach. The view is very nice.

I really recommend this hotel in this area. It was not very expensive as well.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

In the past, I've usually thought of Le Meridien as being rather luxurious. I certainly wouldn't call this place bad, but it wasn't quite what I had expected.

First of all, the staff are extremely friendly, and try to help wherever they can. The pool is great, the hotel is on the beach (and the beach is great - make sure you wander along it, as you're bound to see kids playing football or generally mucking around having fun). The restaurant is pretty good as well - make sure you try the Malawi shandy - I think it's meant to be ginger ale, Sprite and bitters - sounds terrible, but on a hot day is very refreshing. Oh and the bar is nice as well

Essentially, in the public areas, the place feels really great, and it's difficult not to enjoy. The only catch though is the rooms, which feel a good notch lower in the quality stakes. There's nothing disastrous about them - they're clean, and the shower works, but it just felt a little bit of a let down, after such a great time for lunch and wandering along the beach.

Having said all that, it's almost certainly the best place anywhere near Senga Bay / Salima - none of the other places come close in quality.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunbird Livingstonia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Address: Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Salima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Livingstonia Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Sunbird Livingstonia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Hotel Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Malawi/Salima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.