We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chez Maky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Maky

Chez Maky
Kabula Hill Rd, Blantyre, Malawi
1 833 764
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Blantyre
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chez Maky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited Chez Maky's on a number of occasions as we were in Malawi for a long period of time. The free internet access was a bonus which we used alot and also the music and setting fantastic. The food initially when we first went was really good but then tended to decline in quality. However, the noodles remained gorgeous mmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!

I would recommend a visit especially if you can catch the sunset the views are amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston Mass
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautiful view from the outdoor dining room. I ate here twice and tried others' dishes... quality is a little uneven but mostly good, especially the stir fry noodle dishes, spare ribs and grilled chicken. Good drinks, too. I wouldn't bother with the desserts. This is a well known hang out (expat, visitor and local), and has (good) music on weekends.

Be alert: no credit cards accepted, so bring cash.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is one of the best places to eat in Blantyre.

The food is great. We had the fish and chips, which used the local fish and was very good. The home-made noodles with shrimp was excellent.

The atmosphere is easy going and there's no rush. Lot's of interesting conversation and people here.

And when you're done don't forget the dessert crepes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoy a quality, friendly meal chez Maky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Every time I come to Blantyre, my friends, the Nyirenda family, and I go out for a slap up meal. We usually go to L'Hostaria for the good pizza and great crepes. It is not cheap - but then this is always a special night.
What we didn't realise this visit was that L'Hostaria is closed on Mondays, so a quick flick through the short list of Blantyre restaurants suggested Chez Maky Club instead. It turned out to be a wise choice.
England was playing France in the European Championships, so the big screen in the corner of the restaurant was a huge hit with boys. A good start to the evening.
The menu is less sophisticated than L'Hostaria - grills, salads, sandwiches and a few Malawi dishes with cake or crepes for desert. But the kitchen uses good produce and the cooking is of a high standard according to Thoko Nyirenda, and she is the best cook I know in Malawi!
I had to pay in a mix of sterling and kwacha, having forgotten to change money earlier in the day, but Maky, the friendly owner and his team didn't bat an eyelid.
The views from the restaurant are stunning, with a gorgeous garden and a panoramic view of the city - but you have to go at lunch time to really appreciate it.
Chez Maky is a laid back place, but maintains high standards, in both food and service. Definitely one of Blantyre's best places to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
“Cool spot for a quiet afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spend a lot of time in Blantyre, but stay outside of the City for the work we do. Often when we come into the City on business we want a quiet place to relax, read a book and grab a Meal. Chez Maky is always our first choice! Such a relaxed environment, great food and always a pleasant chat to be had with the more than friendly owner. A must visit for Breakfast, lunch or dinner and decent value priced accommodation available as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Maky also viewed

Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 

Been to Chez Maky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Maky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.