We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant to your Saves list
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kabula Hill Road | PO Box 31005, Blantyre 3, Malawi   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off in December
Ranked #3 of 16 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Edenvale, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a full week including weekend
Rooms are great and good selection on the tele
Food was awesome service a bit slow , restaurant always busy so book in advance
Oh watch for the Mosquitos they do fly in the rain

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
6
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I'm right now about to leave Casa Mia after another superb visit! The Lodge has nice comfortable rooms, the restaurant is one of the best in Blantyre, and probably in the whole of Malawi, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The English breakfast, included in the rate, is good.

The owner, Peter, is just the best! This time around my suitcase did not arrive at the same time as me. Peter took care of everything, and arranged for the suitcase to be collected at the airport when it arrived.

The pool area is a very nice place to rest after a long day working or sightseeing in Blantyre. Enjoying the sunset at the pool is highly recommended!

There are some minor issues - it can take some time to get the right temperature in the showers, not all the rooms have a fridge, but that is not really important.

I've stayed here four or five times now, and I will return again and again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This has been the third time that I stayed at Casa Mia in Blantyre while on a business trip. The rooms are spacious and neat and the sleep quality is good. The food from the very popular restaurant is very good and the coffee excellent! the full English breakfast is also very good value for money - included in the B&B rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I really enjoyed the stay at Casa Mia. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and clean. The food was outstanding, both the dinners and breakfast. The staff were relatively helpful, although a bit slow in service. You do you have to pay for internet access. Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Casa Mia is a fairly small B&B with a busy restaurant. I got good service from reception and housekeeping but quite variable service from the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner - some good and some poor. My room was fine with nice dark drapes to keep out the early morning sun. I made use of the pool and pool deck and have no complaint about this area, unlike some reviews.

It is located somewhat away from the city centre. Since I did not have access to a car, I had to use a taxi or walk 10 minutes. As a white person, I felt a little nervous walking even during the day.

We had great expectations of the restaurant but were disappointed. Only the calamari trio was good - everything else was mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed fourteen days at Casa Mia, and enjoyed it thorughly. Great food, good, clean and nice rooms, nice little pool (should have had a shade or two and cleaner sun Chairs :-)) the staff was service minded and pleasant and made our stay Worth remebering. We really felt welcome at Casa Mia and will not hesitate to give or best recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Casa mia for two nights. The place is well located close to Blantyre business centre and Hanover str where you can find restaurants and shops. The food at the lodge is good and not too expensive. The rooms are a bit small but there is a nice pool (with no shade though). There is wifi but you have to purchase internet cards to use it - although the price is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks very much for your review, its really appreciated. As rule our rooms are about 25sq mtrs, but 2 of them are a little smaller. We are about to start expanding our lodge to 20 rooms and those will all be larger. We really try to be affordable and also offer a great standard and we are so pleased that you appreciate this. Be assured that we value all revues and will continue to try to exceed expectations. Thank you so much!
Cathy
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Kabula Hill Road | PO Box 31005, Blantyre 3, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mia offers accommodation, conferencing and a first class restaurant. Situated in the heart of Blantyre we are a stone's throw from shops, banks and other amenities. Our well trained staff will do there utmost to make your stay comfortable & enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Blantyre
Casa Mia Lodge And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.