We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa 33

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa 33 to your Saves list
Villa 33
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 Chilomoni Ring Road | Namiwawa, Blantyre 01, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Kampala
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wish I could live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is great! With great beautiful gardens, patio, ambiance, rooms. It's not super luxury but more like home. Rooms are very clean and have all you need, good wifi-signal, great coffee and breakfast. Staff are friendly and allowed for a free late checkout. My only qualm is the reception and bar close earlier, around 9pm, so make sure you have all you need before they do (this is why I gave the service only 4 stars). Big comfy beds, good wine, hot water. Wish I could stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back in Malawi soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a wonderful 10 weeks at the Villa late in 2013, whilst working mostly in Blantyre. One of the happiest hotels I have visited anywhere.

The place was a wonderful mix of friendly people with a family atmosphere between staff and guests. Self-catering bungalow was spacious and tidy - don't expect luxury but do expect a really helpful team on-site.

My attempts to film the genet that lives in the palm tree became part of the local folklore and I was treated with every courtesy by everyone who worked there.

Nothing was too much trouble and it was like staying with unobtrusive friends. The grounds are home to a host of wildlife and lots of visiting birds. Everything from land crabs to chameleons. It is like living in your own personal miniature wildlife reserve - and totally safe.

Room Tip: If staying more than a few nights - choose one of the self-catering bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. It was really nice having you stay with us. Your great sense of humour and stories are missed by us all!

Looking forward to seeing a photo of the ice-cream tricycle sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed at Villa 33 in February 2013, when i was traveling on business. Its a lovely set up, with an assortment of rooms for long and short stays. My stay was a week long and the rooms are cozy and very homely because the very tasteful decor. But the home like feel does not come at any compromise in the quality of services there - it has all the facilities any hotel would offer with an amazing restaurant that has a wide range of good food to choose from. The breakfast is wholesome and enjoyable because of the way the restaurant seating is designed....with a lot of outdoor options. The chef even offered to make us Indian food (because he thought we were bored by the fifth or sixth day). Zein, the owner is extremely warm and helpful and plays a perfect host - helping you with information when needed and at the same time not intrusive....A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It was a very nice surprise to see your review as you stayed with us over a year ago. We really enjoyed having you and I hope that you and your family are all well. Should i ever plan to visit visit your part of the world as promised i will get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed in Malawi for a week on a business trip and read the good reviews for Villa33 on TripAdvisor. Let me assure you it's a great place to stay and the staff is super.

After a long day of business meetings this also is the best place in Blantyre to cool down and have a drink & meal in their restaurant.

WiFi Internet (Skyband) and Cellphone (Airtel) has always been working good.
Credits for this are also available at the reception.

Thank you Zein & Matthew (and of course all the other staff that makes things happen) for making my time in Malawi very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and also that your business trip to Malawi was successful. Please do get in touch if you plan to come back or if you need me to assist in any manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Villa 33 was a great place to stay. The owner, Zane was so friendly and helpful and had lots of helpful tips on places to go/what to see. The breakfast that was included was excellent...as was the other food. The location was just far enough away from the busier city but close enough you could walk. And the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend villa 33 and would stay there again on my next trip to Malawi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
It was so much fun having you stay at the lodge, and all the staff pass their regards to you! I do hope that you will come back to Malawi to climb Mulanje Mountain. If i get any information on any exciting expeditions i will let you know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great simple, cost affordable property with beautiful gardens, great food, friendly attentive staff! I have struggled finding hotels properties in Africa I consider good value for money. This is one of the first!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Stacie,
Thanks so much for the lovely review.
It was nice to meet you and i do hope that work brings you back to Malawi on a regular basis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Villa 33 for three months while I was working as a volunteer. We had lived and worked in Blantyre for five years during the late 70s and early 80s, when such establishments did not exist. It was nice to be back. Zein and his staff were most friendly and helpful. It was a very relaxing place to return in the evening, and there was always a pleasant mix of fellow guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
It was so nice to have you and Fern at the lodge. It was an interesting 3 months with so much stuff happening. I'm sure you have lots of stories to tell all your friends!

You will be happy to know that the building work is finished, and the new structure complements the lodge really well. Thanks for the review and i hope all is well on your end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 33

Address: 33 Chilomoni Ring Road | Namiwawa, Blantyre 01, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 33 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 33 is the perfect location for business and independent travellers who need short to medium term accommodation in Blantyre. The lodge is set in 1.7 acres of beautiful tropical gardens in the quiet suburb of Namiwawa and is easily accessible from the centre of town.We have a nice, small restaurant on site and provide free laundry services to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa 33, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.