We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accomodations. Excellent Malawian food at restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kara O'Mula Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kara O'Mula Country Lodge to your Saves list
Kara O'Mula Country Lodge
Chichiri, Blantyre 8 | PO Box 80095, Blantyre, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good accomodations. Excellent Malawian food at restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed one night at the Lodge in the main building. The beds were very comfortable and the showers were hot (after letting the water run a few minutes). It was very clean. The location can't be beat - at the base of the mountain with lush gardens and views of the tea fields. Considering what is normally available in this region, this place is very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

A wonderful location, on the side of Mulanje Mountain. The monkeys playing in the treetops above the lodge are just breathtaking. The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular. A quiet location with great food and wonderful service from a staff, who could not be more attentive.
The rooms are clean and tidy with towels replaced daily. If you are looking for 5* luxury this is not the place for you. If you want good quality accommodation and great food, Malawi style, you could not pick a better venue.
I will be returning to RM 10 at Kara OMula as soon as possible.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Kara o Mula provided us with the warmest of welcomes throughout our stay. Not once did I ever feel unsafe or that anything was too much bother for any of the staff. They did what many "5 star" hotels fail to do - place their guest's needs above all else and have lots of fun along the way! I can honestly say that my stay there helped make my first experience of Malawi an amazing and truly unforgettable one. Any previous negative reviews are from people who expect 5 star luxury in a third world country...how these people are not embarrassed by what they write is beyond me. Personally my safety and the atmosphere provided by the staff is far more important than the standard of linen provided! Coincidentally,the rooms are beautiful ,particulary those at the top of the steps with amazing views - we were all very pleasantly surprised and thankful that we were staying there. If Malawi is the warm heart of Africa, then Kara O Mula is truly the warm heart of Mulanje! I will definitely be back xxx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I stayed in the Kara O'Mula Lodge for about 10 days and it felt like home. All the staff there were amazing. They made you feel so welcome and they are very trustworthy. 10 out of 10 for the cooking. (Domigos Sizzling Steak). After a long trip from here to there on the Vengabus you always looked forward to getting back and relax. I thought it would be quite scary as it is at the botom of the mountain and it surrounded with trees but the guards at night were brilliant making sure you get in okay :D. Lovely costomer service and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Malawi as the people there are so friendly. Thanks Guys :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We went with the understanding that this was not 5 star accommodation. It is very basic and rustic but was more than adequate for our needs. We found the staff exceptionally friendly and we were welcomed very warmly. There had been some problems with the servicing of the room but this was rectified and dealt with as soon as it was brought to the attention of the owners. We were very disappointed that the swimming pool was empty but realised it was a water shortage problem for that time of the year. The food was adequate and the waiters attentive. We enjoyed the wonderful walks nearby and for access to the mountain it was perfect. We would definately go again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Stayed here on 31st oct. 2008 with V J Verne,Place should be removed from Voyages Jules Vernes otherwise excellent holiday to malawi.The place was so bad that none of our group (8 people),even bothered to open our cases to get changed.the food was terrible.

  • Liked — Peter one of the staff
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed here for 1 night as part of my Jules Verne tour of Malawi. It was in a lovely position with good views of the mountain and over the countryside and tea plantations. The accommodation was very basic and not as clean as all our other accommodation we stayed in. Some of the rooms were accessed up a very step unlit wooden staircase. The 2 rooms which were on the level and had good views were close to a communal living room/barn which was very noisy at night due to the television and radio being on. The room was 'rustic' with only 1 towel for 2 people. If you asked for an extra towel they didn't like it and made a fuss!!! The bathroom had to be de-bugged before we could use it but the shower did work efficiently. There wasn't a bed side lamp that worked and the curtains were so thin we could see creatures flying around out side all night as the room was well lit by an out side light which we couldn't turn off!! If you like sleeping in daylight this is the place for you. One of our group had a shower and discovered his feet were dirtier after the shower where he had walked across the floor. The bed was comfortable and had mosquito nets. The food , which was quite expensive for Malawi, was fairly good and the breakfast was adequate. We opted for the optional packed lunch for the next day as we were visiting a nearby waterfall. When we opened this it consisted of 2 very small slices of bread with a very small amount of grated cheese, most of which had fallen out. No fruit or biscuit or drink! The grounds were quite pretty but the swimming pool was empty when we went to look at it. All in all not the best place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kara O'Mula Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kara O'Mula Country Lodge

Address: Chichiri, Blantyre 8 | PO Box 80095, Blantyre, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kara O'Mula Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kara o Mula Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kara O'Mula Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.