We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anjajavy L'Hotel to your Saves list
Anjajavy L'Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Paradise found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Myself,husband and 16 yr old daughter booked 5 nights here (only managed 4 thanks to Air Madagascar-travel with them at your own risk!) and were totally awestruck with the place. As everyone says, a 2 hour flight from Tana in a small plane but was worth it for the views. We were met at the airport by the manager, Cedric who is a great host and transferred to the resort by 4x4. We were shown around by Daria (sorry but i don't know your title) who is lovely. Nunzio the activities manager arranged trips and excursions for us and nothing is too much trouble for them. All the staff are so kind and helpful but these 3 really are fabulous, they became more like friends than staff (don't forget the wedding invitation Daria!!)
The hotel really is something special. The villas are beautifully appointed and even the upstairs bedroom for children has proper beds and mosquito netting-no fold out beds here.. The view from your own veranda is stunning.
The pool area is relaxing and quiet-excellent pool.
The oasis garden where afternoon tea is served is lovely and teaming with birds and lemurs.
Dinner and lunch are a la carte, only 2 choices but beatifully prepared and presented. Wine is a bit expensive-€40 about the cheapest so be prepared for a large bar bill!
I really cannot recommend this place highly enough. It is a little pricey and difficult to get to but it is so worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
135
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the begining of May.
Firstly it is in the middle of nowwhere and it's nearly a two hour small plane ride to get there.
Please don't let this put off, the location and hotel are spectacular. Having spent 3 days walking through very humid rainforests to catch a sight of lemurs, there they all were.
The trips out around the hotel are great, we saw many different types of lemurs , birds and the famous hairy crabs.
The food was top notch, the drinks inexpensive and the staff just delightful, especially Ana. This is a little piece of heaven in a beautiful country that is obviously suffering a lot of hardship at the moment. It needs tourists and it probably the most extraordinary country I have visited. Wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Fantastic location. Great friendly service and food. Staff are excellent with tremendous, personal service. Great trips/guided tours with wildlife guides who clearly love their country and it's animals. There are 6 beaches. Book your choice of lunch, on your choice of beach, and have it simply appear, served on linen and crockery. 5pm tea with the Sifakas and Brown Lemurs in the Oasis garden is consistent and very worthwhile. The chalets are great. There has to be a downside..... the champagne is grossly over priced. That's it, the only downside we could think of... and that's why there is Duty Free. Highly recommended. Great VIP getaway. Take a good camera, leave your mobile phone at home but don't miss it. A very special place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

As mentioned in previous reviews this is a truly unique place. Luxury in a private nature reserve! We loved it all. The peace, the wildlife, the location, the sea, the beaches, the food. We enjoyed our walks with our guide Rado - who has a lovely way of expressing himself (although I am not sure he spoke English). The "long" bike ride was great, as were the guided walks.

This was our honeymoon so we got a few extras and particularly enjoyed the "romantic dinner" in the Oasis - a mouse lemur danced across the trees in front of us just as we had sat down!

One niggle as for previous reviewer about the water and coffee being charged extra - bit naughty really. But this was really only a small point ...

All in all ... fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Spent 9 nights in this idyllic resort reached by 2 hour flight in very small plane (4 seats including pilot). Met by the manager Cedric at the airstrip and by Anna at the hotel who were both very helpful, knowledgeable and readily available. The 25 rosewood villas are identical facing the sea and within a stones throw of it. All are reached by a board walk from the main building and pool and have direct access to the beach. The sandy beach is superb with easy access to the sea and few rocks. Behind the villas is the oasis, a small pond and planted tress which attract birds, lemurs and snakes. The lemurs arrive daily to coincide with the serving of afternoon tea in the oasis. Just sit back, drink tea and watch them leap through the trees. For two days a large (2metre) ground boa (harmless to humans) lay asleep beneath the boardwalk into the oasis. A chameleon is an inhabitant of one of the trees and parrot birds provide the background noise. A gentle walk through the dry forest provides many interesting birds and five deserted beaches. The hotel will provide a picnic on one of the beaches. Free guided walks are provided through the forest, day and night as well as a weekly visit to the village and market. Two kingfishers frequented the rock pools on the beach and a buzzard arrived on the tree outside our villa. The very rare fish eagle was easily sighted.
The villa was nicely but not luxuriously furnished. The air con and mosquito net were adequate and the room had a kettle, tea and a fridge for the daily supply of bottled water. The bathroom had a large corner bath with shower over and seperate wc and bidet. The hamock and two deck chairs on the verandah were useful to watch the sun set and moon rise and the two beds upstairs provided additional storage space.
The meals were all a la carte, even breakfast, with two choices for each of the three course; meat or fish. Everything was excellently cooked and presented but I found the lack of choice a little boring and sometimes just requested a green salad or fresh fruit. Apparently this was not a problem but it took me several days to realsie it. The bar was well stocked. It came as a surprise that all drinks, including coffee and water with lunch and dinner, were charged as an extra.
The dining area fronts onto a lawn where wagtails, lovebirds, robins and crows provide entertainment. Beyond the lawn is the pool and beach.
The staff, all from the local villages were very well trained and delightfully helpful.
French is the usual language but most have a few words of English and if one can manage a few words of malagasy you are a great hit.
Whilst we were there the hotel was never more than half full and on the last three days only three villas were occupied.
The isloation, wildlife, beach and staff more than make up for the expense and ordinary facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Hotel Anjajavy I was really impressed by the accommodation, and the facilities at this hotel. It is so much more than just a beach destination, even though there are 7 pristine beaches to go to whilst there.

If you want a bit of a bush and beach combination this is perfect with lots of Lemurs around the hotel for day and night sightings along with some interesting birds which are endemic to Madagascar. All the normal water sports are available and my stay was just too short to try them all - would I go back - yes definitely but for a longer period to be able to enjoy everything Anjajavy has to offer my trip was too short. Sheena Knox, Johannesburg

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

As we were on the tiny AirHotel plane on our way to Anjajavy there were many comments from fellow passengers about whether this hotel was going to be worth the travel and money. I think we all knew within minutes of arriving... YES!!! IT IS!!! When we arrived we were treated to scented cool towels and driven to the hotel (15-20 min on dirt roads). Along the way we saw various birds, lemurs, etc. There is nothing else around! Just forrest and the beautiful grounds of Anjajavy. When you walk into the open air main house and see the pool and the ocean and the beautiful surroundings you know you are in for a treat. The villas are fairly large and BEAUTIFUL. They are made out of rosewood and are right on the beach. The meals are great and the staff was always available and polite and never obtrusive. You are practically guaranteed to see lemurs and safakas everyday (sometimes even hanging out on the porch of a villa) and lemur tea is the best. The pool and ocean water are refreshing. The grounds are quiet and relaxing but you can also keep yourself busy with bike rides, hikes (if the reviewer who complained about the size of the beach would have walked a little there are well-manicured hiking trails that take you to beautiful deserted beach after deserted beach (we reached 5 before we turned back). There are multiple other activities to do as well. We stayed for 7 days which I think is a nice amount of time. The only problem we really had was the day of departure there were two different flights and we were put on the early on without being asked. We wanted to stay as long as possible so we had to put up a little bit of a fuss to get changed to the later flight. Also, the boating activities (waterskiing, etc) were tough maybe due to some inexperience by the staff. Other than that, it was perfect and we would go back in a heartbeat. Sadly we are a 29 hour plan flight away so we may not get back for a while:(

Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Anjajavy L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anjajavy L'Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.