We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise doesn't quite cover it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anjajavy L'Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anjajavy L'Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Anjajavy
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Paradise doesn't quite cover it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived by light aircraft, a very pleasant flight with stunning views of the Madagascar landscape. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel special and this theme continued throughout our stay. We were met by Aina, a lovely girl who couldn't do enough for us and who's English puts us to shame. After a short 20 - 30 minute trip by 4X4 we arrived in possibly one of the most beautiful places on earth. We were truly stunned by the surroundings and the cleanliness of the main hotel foyer and after receiving a refreshing mango juice drink we were shown to our villa. Being honeymooners we were almost the last villa, number 2 which is approx a five minute walk from the main building, we were told this was because they believe honeymooners should have more intimacy which we liked. The villa was right on the beach with our own wooden steps down to the beach. The villa has two floors with a twin bedroom upstairs, fully air conditioned (welcome in the 35 degree heat!) and it was absolutely spotlessly clean and tidy. There is a mini bar containing various soft and hard drinks and two free 1.5 litre bottles of water per day, one per person. The bathroom was spacious with a nice tub and powerful shower.
The views of the ocean and the slight breeze make you feel immediately relaxed.
there are several activities to choose from and you can book these with a guide or do them yourself it is entirely up to you what you do or not. Some of the activities state that a guide is mandatory but mountain biking, water sports and most walks can be done on your own. I fully recommend the night walk and cave visit, these are a must. We tended to do the walks early in the morning as by mid day the best place to be is under an umbrella by the pool as it is very hot. The infinity pool is excellent and very clean. As part of our honeymoon package we had a boat trip around the mangroves with cocktails and we also had free massages (unfortunately we didn't get to use these as we were too excited with walks and lemurs).
The food is excellent and if there is nothing on the menu that fits with your taste we found that the staff were more than helpful and provided alternative options.
I unfortunately fell ill on the third day, no fault of the hotel I have to add. I made the mistake of eating undercooked zebu steak in Tana (Don't do this!!!). Cedric the manager who is a really nice friendly, helpful guy sent a doctor to my villa who supplied we with various pills that cleared me up in less than two days :). Cedric is passionate about Anjajavy and has many projects under his belt and he helps out the local schools and villages, I highly commend his commitment.
The sifaka lemurs are around every day and you can get very close to them without disturbing them. The hotel operates a strict no touch or feed policy for all of the animals that I fully agree with. This is a very special place that has the perfect formula for being close to nature without disturbing it. You will see some amazing creatures around especially on the walks and Radu the guide is amazing at finding them and pointing them out, he is extremely knowledgeable and he gets very excited every time he sees well anything really. He really makes the walks special and interesting.
All of the staff were excellent always smiling and they won't let you do anything yourself.
The bar is well stocked with everything you could want and I highly recommend the hotel vanilla rum of which I had quite a few and also the local THB beer is very refreshing. There is an extensive wine list also.
I really don't have any complaints whatsoever which is rare in any location, if we had one complaint its that we had to leave eventually. We were both very sad to leave and we hope to return one day (tomorrow if we win the lottery).
Please just go here you won't regret it.
Just one more note - As we were honeymooners we got to choose and plant a tree from the hotels own nursery which we really though was special. We chose a baobab, what other choice would there be in Madagascar. Its a good excuse to return to check on growth ;) (as if you would need an excuse)

Room Tip: Villas 1 - 5 were very private and right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
117
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Yes it lived up to the hype. Perfect setting with a perfect staff. The wildlife seems to enjoy staying here as much we did. Really find it difficult to find anything wrong. The place was a great finale to a great trip to Madagascar

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A wonderful hotel in an idyllic location. The staff could not have been more helpful, led by the excellent and attentive Cedric. Having arrived with stomach trouble, probably caused by a combination of Madagascar food/water and malarone side effects, I found the resident doctor very helpful. The food was superb, especially the memorable meal they set up on the beach despite a 70% chance of rain forecast. And the sifakas were a delight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were there the last week of October 2012. This was the last stop of our 3 week adventure in Madagascar, and the perfect end to our trip. The setting is peaceful, isolated and gorgeous! There is plentry of wildlife, but the walks are quite easy. (And the lemurs show up for tea in the garden every eve!) the food was great, with a good variety and they did a great job accommodating my vegetarian diet. The staff is attentive (but not overly so), sincerely friendly and thoughtful. On top of it all, it's a luxury resort that has deep roots in the community and makes a huge effort to help the environment. The only downside is prices are as high as in Europe - we paid more for a cocktail at Anjajavy than we do in our hometown of San Francisco, so be prepared. Though children are welcome, the setting is very romantic and seems more appropriate for couples. We enjoyed every relaxing moment there and hated to leave. I recommend a week there if you can afford the time/money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Simply one of the best hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in. The staff were attentive without being fawning. The food was excellent and the wildlife was fantastic. We have stayed in a number of hotels around the world and this is one of the best if not the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had always wanted to honeymoon in Madagascar, and luckily my husband was also keen on the idea. We really did our homework as we wanted to stay somewhere luxurious, but not pretentious, and experience the country and wildlife, but not at the expense of the local people or wildlife. We searched for 'eco resorts' and found Anjajavy. We are so glad we did. Getting there from London wasn't particularly quick or easy, with Air France flights to the capital via Paris only every few days, and then internal flights to Anjajavy also only on selected days, but it was absolutely worth it. With the help of Derek from Rainbow Tours in Islington, we left London a couple of days after our wedding and spent almost two glorious weeks having the time of our life. From the moment the little aircraft arrived on the sandy landing strip, we knew we'd landed in paradise. We were greeted with cold drinks and, after a short drive through the Madagascan rainforest, arrived at Anjajavy. We sipped on delicious juice cocktails while our bags were taken to our very own gorgeous beachside villa leading straight onto the beach. The villa was immaculate and comfortable, with an extraordinary attention to detail. The restaurant was superb, with every single meal an event to look forward to. As foodies, we were delighted! The beaches were pristine, with a variety to choose from, so more often than not we were able to enjoy a whole beach to ourselves - very important on a romantic holiday. In fact, there's even a beach you can book for a private picnic, like no picnic you'll ever have had before: A private waiter, incredible food, hammocks, a hot shower, a wonderful beach tent complete with comfy cushions, drinks on tap and deckchairs. Absolutely incredible. The local walks are amazing too. Because Anjajavy is situated on the border of a national park, you're surrounded by gorgeous, unspoilt scenery and animals. Having breakfast while watching lemurs leaping around you is surreal and amazing. There's even a landscaped garden that offers you afternoon tea, while watching these incredible animals from the comfort of your chair, with a cuppa in hand. All terribly civilised! What else is there to say? The snorkelling is wonderful, the pool is perfectly positioned, the staff are, without fail, wonderful, the day trips on offer are a must. I could go on and on. Leaving was heartbreaking, and we have resolved to go back at some point. Although it's not a budget holiday, I can't tell you how pleased we are that we went for it. Nowhere else would have compared. Words, and even pictures, can't give a true sense of this heavenly place. If you can, do it! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All the villas are sea-facing, but we requested one that had a walkway directly onto the beach - abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A friend and I have been there in 2005 - I enjoyed every minute!
The reception and all the staff were lovely back then. Helpful with everyhting!! I enjoyed the food, the sun, the bungalows, the animals (all of them)....my best experience were the leguans, the CHAMÄLEON, the Sifakas...and the birds...
I could not tell one single bad thing about the resort.

It was only a one week stay and a real long trip...but it was worth it!

I really enjoyed the sports in the morning - or in the evenings....and five o'clock tea in the garden was a MUST!!! ;-)

We always had breakfast on the lovely terrace....fruit, croissants....fresh and always wonderful.
Lunch and Dinner were delicious - you had a choice of three menues...as far as I remember....and we enjoyed everything!

The bungalows were made "with love" - every day some "magicians" put a lovely scent in the room while doing the room ;-) Thank you!!!

Also the trip to the little island I enjoyed very much - was something special to me!!!!

Thank you for having us!!!!

If I would go again - I would go rather go with my partner than with a friend - it is a real romantic spot!!!!

Thumbs up with *****

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Anjajavy L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anjajavy L'Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.