We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa to your Saves list
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ouyoun El Simane, Kfardebian, Lebanon   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed there lately for the Eid vacation.

In general, definitely recommended in winter, but not in summer.

Staff: In general friendly, welcoming, and smiling
Food: Didn't try the restaurants there since I preferred to explore nearby restaurants, by breakfast is really good and well-diversified.
Rooms: require renovation. Still have the 90's look and feel. When I made the reservation, I was told that I was given the most premium and expensive rooms since they were the only ones available. However, balcony is soo small and room size is also small. I do not want to imagine the size of the other standard rooms if that was the most premium room in the hotel.
Bed: not comfortable. Instead of giving us a 1 king-sized bed, they gave us 2 queen sized bed joint together, and you can imagine what it feels like when you sleep all night just in between the 2 beds. it's a back-killer.
Cleanliness: In general acceptable i would say.
Outdoor Activities: shooting and ATV are available, but are ridiculously expensive. They should definitely re-consider pricing of outdoor activities in the summer. It just pissed me off how expensive they way.

There is no outdoor pool, only indoors which is also disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    24
    15
    17
See reviews for
38
40
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon on August 21. They surprised us with red roses and a chocolate cake upon arrival which we thought was very considerate and generous.

Good: This hotel is a great getaway for a few days, situated up in Faraya away from the stresses of modern life. The rooms are moderate in size and are warm and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is one of the most amazing that we have ever had -- Kudos to culinary team. Ther sevice level is high and the team is nice, polite and always willing to help. Price is very much acceptable

Bad: Room service kept called us in the morning to vacate the room so they could clean. We thought this to be rude. Most other 5-star hotels have a switch which you turn on when you leave the room to indicate that the room is ready to be serviced

We will definitely be visiting for long weekends from time to time

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor, though it had a slanted roof, we do recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent one night as a part of our 3rd Lebanon HOG tour . The hotel has a classic style that impressed me, we were more than 250 bikes with everything organized within minutes. Lunch was served to all of us after a long trips on the bikes. Would love to repeat again soon when I return back to Lebanon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is a very nice place. It has many characteristics of 5 star hotels rather it has some minor flaws that can be overlooked but would be better if the management introduces some changes and professional development for its staff. Staff needs leadership and good management because they are nice and wants to provide good service but needs good direction and professional guidance.
The lobby is so suffocating as there is no non smoking area.

Room Tip: Rooms which are not close to terrace and restaurants as they are so noisy and staff do not consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My friends and I booked 6 rooms last weekend and had an excellent stay

STAFF

They really impressed me. I've been staying at Mzaar Intercontinental every year since it opened and have seen a dramatic improvement this Summer. Their efforts were very much appreciated by my party.

Particular praise should be given to Amer, the front of house Manager who made our stay totally stress free and took care of every detail. The bar Manager Elie was also great and the staff in Le Refuge were so nice and accommodating.

FOOD

The Ichiban Sushi in the lobby is a welcome addition to the outlets, nice to have so many options.

The Cesar salad in Refuge was fantastic, one of the best I've had in Lebanon. One comment was that the staff did bring large wine glasses for our Red Wine, but only after we asked for them to be changed from smaller glasses more common with white wine.

ROOMS

Ignore the negative reviews about the rooms, they are fine.They fit the Alpine theme and are a welcome change from city hotels. They are clean, comfortable and feature decent furniture. What more do you need?

Room Tip: the better views are on the upper floors. some rooms are without a view so better to check
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times since 2001. the location is unbeatable and the staff are astonishing. The only downside is that the rooms in particular have not been renovated. you can see the effect of time from the door knobs to the room's interior. On the otherhand, this hotel is not only nice in winter (during the ski season) but also during summer if you are looking for some time to relax in a very confortable environment and beautiful weather (to escape from Beiruts heat). furthermore, you can get great offers during the summer since during peak time (Ski season) the rates become ridiculously expensive.

Room Tip: During the winter, get a room facing the slopes since there is all the action while in summer get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Omar N,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Lebanon and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. It's an honor for us to welcome back loyal guest like you. I am pleased you had a great experience during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best. Although our hotel is located near the airport, we want every guest to receive comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. If you get a chance make sure that you get to have room in the main hotel and not in the annex. The annex rooms can be considered those of a 3 or 4 star hotel. The rooms at the main hotel building are what you would expect out of intercontinental hotel. the lobby of the hotel in is a fantastic place to spend some time. They have their own ski slope and they are very close to the 2 main ski slopes in Faraya. There is a play area for kids as well as some arcades which with ridiculously expensive. The buffet breakfast was amazing with a very wide variety of choices.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: Ouyoun El Simane, Kfardebian, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Kfardebian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the peaks of Mount Lebanon, InterContinental Mountain Resort & Spa, Mzaar is a family-friendly getaway offering year-round recreation. Skiing, snowmobiling, climbing, hiking, biking, rafting and ATV ing join a long list of sightseeing musts such as the Fagra ruins, the Jeita Grotto, the Phoenician temple and the famed Casino du Liban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Hotel Kfardebian
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa Lebanon/Kfardebian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.