We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“great position and value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Mina Street, Jounieh, Lebanon   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 hotels in Jounieh
larnaca
1 review
“great position and value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

That just about sums it up. Like Lebanon in general the staff were great. Jounieh itself has an absolutely awful area with some hotels called Mammeltein. Avoid that at all costs. This hotel is in the middle of a very attractive area and right on the sea front. The breakfast was mediocre and the service slow. The rooms were tired and in need of a complete re-vamp, but clean.

Room Tip: Go for a low floor. The rooms on the 6th floor upwards are hovels. Try not to be on the side with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was there for 2 night
location and beach is great its near from every thing in Jounieh
Pool is OK
the breakfast is OK
good park for cars
service not good
the build is very old
the room not clean
its near from jounieh Teleferik

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

- The room was at the WORST location in the hotel (almost last floor - Room 75)
- The AC was barely doing any cooling in the room
- The room had issues with the bathroom ... VERY SERIOUS electric shock was on the hot water tap ... This reflects either bad or no maintenance to your facilities ... obviously water heater had issues
- Again my replacement room 77 had a non-efficient AC
- Electricity cut offs happens ALMOST every hour which needs an AC restart ...
- AC remote control was in very bad condition
- House Keeping cleaned the room and took away one set of towels leaving another used set ... We were two persons...i expected TWO CLEAN sets to be there not a missing set and a used set !!
- We called to order new towels and NO ONE attended to our complain except when we went down and explicitly asked reception to provide towels!!
- Breakfast on the first day was VERY LATE ... Waiter was running around serving other guests without even a word with us ... Then he served omlette eggs WITHOUT asking even HOW we want them...
- Parking is VERY NOISY with generators running all the time ... NOISE POLLUTION ...
- At checkout we had to pay in CASH although i made my reservation through credit card !!

Room Tip: Avoid by all chances
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

There is nothing bad i can say about this place has a/c and mini fridge, the view was amazing i had the mountain view with partial sea, everything is walking distance from bars, grocery stores, liqour stores, restaurants, and night clubs in kaslik. the night life in jounieh has a party all night attitude on weekends!!!! and the reception girls were very sweet and informative especially Sigrid thanks alot for making me feel welcome and at home!!!! i would most definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: get a room with mountain or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed in a Family Suite. Good space - 1 bedroom, 1 living room and 1 bathroom. Small mini fridge. Long tall counter to put your staff. Box TV. Settee convertible to a sofa bed in living room. We are small family of 3 adults and 2 young kids.

We checked in about 5/6pm, just a few days before christmas. The hotel did notel looked like it hardly had any other guests (no one at breakfasts).

Furnishing dated, carpet and curtains stale/musty and dusty. Bedroom faces back street (but not on main street) away from beach, but the ONLY window in the bedroom was shut tight with shutters that cannot be opened and hidden behind dusty curtains (so when you first checked the room, you didn’t think the windows wouldn’t open). By bedtime, the room was so unbearably stuffy and will not get better so we asked for it to be opened but they said "oh, tomorrow storm coming and when you leave the room, rain may come in so better it was kept shut". When we asked again, they said they will try tomorrow, when their maintenance team gets there. It was bad. We had allergies and bedroom had zero ventilation plus the terrible dust. We coughed all night, no sleep, no rest. it was frustrating and i almost moved out in the middle of the night. Next morning, manager Antoinette apologized profusely and after a couple of hours of probing, the maintenance guy (whom we suspect lives in the same building so could have opened the windows the previously night) opened the shutters with tools. All was done without aggravation as manager was obliging and apologetic.

The second night we slept so well with windows opened and fresh air ventilated the room, we could hear the crashing of the waves on the rocks even though we are 3 levels up. When the sheets and towels were changed, we could tell the previous set of sheets were not fresh or had been left in the room months before it had been occupied. We could have been the first ones in the season to use the dusty room. The bed spreads (not changed) looked dusty and uncleaned. Baby crib mattress also didn’t look too clean. Big patches of the tile floor (where we had to put our luggage) was very sticky – indicated previous spills were not cleaned.

In the bedroom, there were also closets with hangers to put away clothing. 1 vanity table with mirror. One of the bedside table has a lamp but with broken glass shade.
Bathroom looked clean but very old and can use new grout work. Above bathtub there is a window which helps with ventilation. Hot water gets very hot but shame shower spray was very weak. Shower curtain rod broken but fixed in a Lebanese way?

Receptionist Miralle was very sweet and helpful, spoke good English, from the time she answered my call when we made phone booking through booking.com till we left. She noted the baby crib we and the dvd player we requested on booking. As it turned out, we did not need the dvd player as there were kids channel on the TV. The Ethiopian ladies staff were friendly to the kids, but spoke limited English.

Power in the whole hotel went out a few times but came back within a couple mins. So, we stayed in pitch dark for a few mins but it was nice to listen to the waves.

We had the corner unit with a fantastic view of the coast. Hotel sits almost on top of the waters so from the generous sized balcony, we sat by the plastic outdoor furniture and had great views and sea breeze – watch fishermen fishing, gorgeous sunsets, etc. I believe all the units had nice views of the ocean but the suites have corner balconies. Floor to ceiling glass door separates the balcony and living room.

Breakfast was Arabic/Lebanese style : per person 1 fried scrambled egg, and to share: haloumi cheese, soft cheese in olive oil, small plate of olives, coffee/tea and Arabic bread with jam. It was enough to tied us through most part of morning and to get us going.

The “Solarium” listed in their website is not a sauna – it is name of the pub they have. The pub which offers “Karaoke” is closed during winter. Outdoor pool, like many hotels, closed during winter. “Rooftop Terrace” is not on roof but the outdoor pool deck and shares another big deck that could be used for functions like wedding, events etc. it’s a nice area for the kids to run around. No chairs to sit on Nice to walk along the short water breaker/small dock. Parking underground and free. You cannot swim in the ocean from the hotel as there is no beach and it was rocky. There are designated beach areas in town you can get to swim if you are there in summer.

Location is great. Most hotels (even the major ones) are NOT on the waters. They are either across the highway or one street across from the beach front. This hotel besides being right on the waters, it is walking distance to “souk”, banks, the tourist areas, less than 1 block to the huge supermarket “Fehad” where the locals shopped and you can get everything. We didn’t bring our laptop so can’t tell about the wireless internet.

If you are driving, ask your landmark is “Jounieh Municipality council building”. It is across from the hotel. Better if you can say that in Arabic.

The closed shutters destroyed my one night’s sleep and nearly ruin our stay in Jounieh but management team was understanding and acted to repair the issues.

Receptionist Miralle offered tips on what to do in town, directions and her friendliness made us feel welcomed and made up for what we lost. Sounds like it’s a family owned business and they are willing to try hard to accommodate their guests.

The hotel can use some sprucing – some repairs, a big spring cleaning. But as with many places, a complete overhaul or “refurbishment” comes a price tag. Still, I believe with some maintenance (cleaning!!) and a little more updates, this place beats the bigger establishment in town for its location and price. For what we paid (USD$100 per night), this is good value. You get what you pay for. So, don’t expect 5 star when you check in here.
Bookin.com does not charge you when you confirm booking. You pay when you check out. Credit card accepted but there is an extra fee.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better views, Family Suites more space and nicer corner balconies. Make sure your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The hotel is located in a perfect place, close to telefrique, mountain view is awesome, very organized, breakfast service is not good, very slow in getting your orders for meals done, staff are not welcoming the guest well, parking is great, rooms are clean, not excellent but to some extent a good place to stay in.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a perfect place, close to telefrique, mountain view is awesome, very organiz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This is my family's second visit to Lebanon within 6 months, and we chose to stay in Jounieh again because we like being near the sea and the attractions (eg Jeita Grotto). Holiday Suites has an excellent location and good service. It is good value for money, though the hotel does not have much facilities (pool was closed during the period of our stay) nor fancy decorations. But the good location and service makes all the difference !

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: New Mina Street, Jounieh, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Jounieh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jounieh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort in Lebanon is on the water front of the Mediterranean Sea Coast in the Bay of Jounieh. Located next to the banking & business centers, near shopping malls, theaters & arcades. Holiday Suites is your Home away from Home, the ideal place for Business and Leisure travelers. We are adjacent to the public garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Suites Hotel And Beach Resort
Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Jounieh
Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort Lebanon/Jounieh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Suites Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.