We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris

Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris
| Samburu, Samburu National Reserve, Kenya
+25420-2048602
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the semi arid North of Kenya, in a land of endless rugged beauty and untamed wilderness, Elephant Watch Safaris has established its camp on the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in Samburu National Reserve. Oria Douglas-Hamilton, together with her husband, Iain, have been associated with elephants for more than 40 years, and have been pioneers in studying the intricate lives of elephants and their intelligent social behaviour. They have brought their scientific studies to the attention of the world, highlighting a well-organised family structure, with a conscious level of emmotions, pain, speech, and protection. Elephants form an integral part of the socio economic livelihood of the Samburu people who share the land with the elephants.
Trenton, Canada
1 review
“Trip of a lifetime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The camp was lovely and the staff there were exceptional. Inviting, Friendly and informative.
The food was delicious and nicely presented. There were only 6 of us at the camp and we were treated like royalty. The wildlife that we saw was phenomenal. It included lions, zebra, giraffes, elephants, leopard tortoise, secretary birds, giraffes, crocodiles, elands, oryx, gazelles, etc.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Social Media Officer at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for your positive review on our Trip Advisor page.

We are happy that you had a wonderful time at Elephant Watch Camp.
We also appreciate feedback from all our guests.
Welcome again to Elephant Watch.

Regards,
Eleanor,
Social Media Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can't describe this experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is probably as close as you can get to "heaven on earth." We were the only ones in the camp and they went out of their way to entertain us. All of the Samburu people working at the camp were exceptional and something we do not see in our Western culture is their humility, kindness and caring for others. Serenoy is a joy to know along with all his warriors. We came to watch the wildlife but came away with more.
Dave and Pam Hymer

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dave and Pam,

Thank you for great review.
We are happy that you had a wonderful time in Samburu and were entertained by Serenoy and the other staff too. The Samburu are kind and hospitable people.

Feel welcome come again and recommend us to your friends and family. To that effect we are having a 20% discount to further this.

Best Wishes
Eleanor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Kichawi"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

A lifetime dream made real! First off, Oria Hamilton-Douglas has created a camp of beauty and wonder. Her Samburu guides in native dress are special, not only for their knowledge and cheerfulness, but also for a devotion to the elephants, indeed the entire Samburu ecosystem. Samburu can be a busy place filled at times with minibuses, but they were rarely a problem as the guides always seemed to know where they would not be. Encounters with elephants that the guides know on a first name basis were initmate and grand. But what made Elephant Watch camp so exceptional were Oria and Ian. As founders of Save the Elephants, they are truly treasures and to be entertained and educated by their stories of Africa over dinner truly made the "lifetime" trip even more memorable that one could hope for.

PS: For you vegetarians and vegans out there - Oria has produce flown in fresh from her farm and the preparaion was without equal - vegan nirvana!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Seakayaker01913,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate feedback from all our guests.

We are also delighted that as a vegan we were able to satisfy your palate with our organically grown food and you had a great trip altogether.

We thank you for visiting Elephant Watch and hope you can come again.

Best wishes,
Elephant Watch Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elephant Watch Camp in Samburu Nature Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This is quite the most magical place I've been too. The staff, namely Samburu warriors are just wonderful and the trackers/guides were phenomenal. Nothing was too much trouble for all of them. The sadness was the drought which was affecting all domestic animals and now the wildlife is struggling. The predators are having a field day. There is hope up in the swamp area which is still retaining some water. The actual camp is the brainchild of Oria Douglas-Hamilton, completely eco-friendly and naturally decorated. The actual tents are fixed structures and incredibly comfortable and Eli the chef is a past master with his skills. I couldn't recommend this more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Ianey64,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
We are glad you appreciate our camp and our eco-friendly philosophy and that you had a great experience with the animals, guides and Samburu warriors.

Thank you for staying at Elephant Watch Camp and feel free to come again

Best Wishes,
Elephant Watch Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing and intimate. Come to know elephant individuals and their families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Elephant Watch is an unrivaled experience. You are the guest of the Douglas-Hamiltons: world experts on elephants who continue their life's work nearby at Save the Elephants Foundation. In your jeep there is an ID book of the individual Elephant families so your safari is NOT "Oh look, an elephant!". Instead your guides help you to recognize individuals and families that they know well. Plenty of other wildlife as well, some (like Lions and Giraffes) also individually known.

Speaking of the guides, they are ALL amazing. Intelligent, educated, funny, caring and beautiful souls. The highest standard of guiding and the best customer service I have experienced anywhere; very personal.

The camp is serene and gorgeously appointed while maintaining the highest ecological standards. The food is delicious and tailored to your tastes. I could go anywhere in Africa and I am going back to Elephant Watch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, Marketing Team at Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
SaraJFisk,

Thank you for your review. we appreciate your feedback.

We are happy that you appreciate our customer service, ecological standards we adopt to run our camp and enjoyed the service from our guides.

We anticipate you coming back to visit Elephant Watch camp and relive your first experience.

Best Wishes,

Elephant Watch Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris also viewed

Samburu National Reserve, Samburu District
 

Been to Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Watch Camp & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.