We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding setting and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Save Saved
You added Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Spring Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding setting and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to Africa. Our first stay was at the Samburu Intrepids and it couldn't have been a better introduction. The staff was outstanding, the accommodations were comfortable, and the food delicious and plentiful.
I would highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Good Morning,
Thank you for taking time to review your Guest feedback on Samburu Intrepids. So glad you loved it.
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
96
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanyuki, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The rooms are done up very well and set in lovely forest by the river. I found it really comfortable and everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. If you are driving in and unsure where you are going... just keep going! Its right at the top end of the river and seems like forever, but you aren't lost don't worry! I would definitely go stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Guest,
We excited you came, you saw and you enjoyed. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards,
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this camp! Were there in mid-October and the staff was great! In particular, our guide, James from Naked Wilderness was fantastic!!! We saw the Speical Five and so much more. Great Trip! And the coffee in the room prior to early morning game drives was terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting Samburu Intrepids and taking time to post feedback on your review. truly appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit.
Good Day.
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

from the moment we arrived courteous, efficient assistence from all personel in the camp (room service, bar, dining room, game drives, game walks). exquisite location. hands on relationship with surrounding nature (beware of the monkeys)! lovely swimming pool. highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello,
We are so glad you came and had a Blast. We look forward to hosting you again
Good Day.
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

More of a chain style safari centre - but nicely done

The tents are more akin to log cabins, with private balconies with views over the river, great for chilling out on

The central area is very nice, and the food was great through out our stay.

The drives were excellent, with great elephant viewing and numerous leopard spotting. The only downside is the large number of other vehicles around - there was more of a family feel (as opposed to couples) to the hotel than other places we've stayed

Room Tip: Stay further away from the central lodge to avoid the families / children and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Guest,
So glad you came and thanks for kindly posting your experiences on the TripAdvisor. We all look forward to hosting you again soon
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Samburu was our first major safari stop on our trip. Upon arrival we were greeted with tropical juice and a nice moist towel to clean off the dust which was a nice way to start things. We were pleased with our accomodation because our luxury tent had all of the amenities that a good hotel room would have. There was a separate shower, toilet, two sinks and a comfortable bed.. If I was to nitpick it would be the quality of the water in the sink which sometimes bordered on grey. We were careful to use bottled water for brushing teeth so there were no issues. Also sometimes the hot water in the shower was not always hot, but what the heck, we were in the middle of Samburu National Reserve. The service from all of the staff was attentive and we did not have any issues throughout our stay. We were woken each morning with hot coffee and cookies which was always a nice way to start the day. The buffet breakfast offered many choices and the quality of the food was good. Lunch and dinners too were varied and the beer was always cold. Tilas, the Samburu warrior put on evening talks about the area, wildlife etc and these were always informative. It was interesting to see a Samburu warrior in his traditional regalia doing a Power Point presentation. I would suggest a walking tour with Tilas because he is full of information about the local flora and fauna. Our guides David, Antonio and Patrick were knowledgeable and were patient with us tourists wanting them to stop at any wildlife that moved. We saw all of the Big 5 (except the poor Rhino) and as well the Samburu Special 5. You will have to go to Samburu to find what I am referring to by the Special 5. We would highly recommend Samburu Intrepids to future travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Guest,
Glad you had a nice time. It is true Tilas is a GEM. We look forward to seeing you again in the near Future.
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I can only highly recommend Samburu intrepids. OK, we were lucky with the animals we managed to get a look at (cheetah & leopard to mention two of the most sought after) but this is also thanks to the safari guide provided by the lodge. The service was attentive and courteous without being over-bearing and the food was excellent! The accommodation was very comfortable with clean and modern bathroom facilities. Last but not least (for us) was how child friendly they were with the 9 year-old in our family being tought how to make Samburu bracelets and how to shoot a bow & arrow. No hesitations in recommending this destination and camp!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello,
So glad you had a nice time in Samburu. It was our pleasure to be of service.
The Samburu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.