We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream in Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Dream of Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamonds Dream of Africa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Malindi
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A dream in Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

In the first place we booked the hotel Malindi Beach because we wanted to see the staff again. When we arrived we find out that Mozes, Timothy, Josephat, Mary and many others moved to the Dream of Africa. Thanks to Madam Daniela, the resort manager who made it possible to move in to this wonderful hotel. The rooms are nice, service is perfect and the staff great ! Food is very good .There are a lot of specials evening; barbecue, African evening etc... Massage at the spa was great. We can not find one single negative thing to tell about the Dream of Africa.
We will come back again and again and again...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    25
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
105
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Having just returned from the most fantastic holiday I feel the need to share the experience. My husband and I have been returning to this hotel for many years, and just when you think it could not get any better, the magic goes on and on. From the moment we arrived the management Bruno and Daniela, and their wonderful staff welcomed us back into the fold, and we immediately felt like we were "home from home". The service and attention to detail are second to none, and nothing is too much trouble. Compliments to Lawrance and all the kitchen staff for producing quality a la carte food. They especially made my birthday a day I will never forget, and was the best ever. A big thank you to Timothy and Dola and staff for going that extra mile. We have already booked again for next year, as Malindi is a pearl of the Indian ocean, and we would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting that "something special".

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We booked Dream of Africa as it was just about the smallest hotel we could find offered by our tour operator on the Kenyan coast and seemed to fit our requirements - beach, good food and service, high standard of accommodation and peace and tranquility. We would endorse all the positive comments made by other reviewers - in particular the excellent service and friendliness of the staff (especially Moses for his conversation and Vincent for looking after us so well by the pool), the high quality of the food and the size and standard of the rooms (although the bed was a little hard for us personally).

We can also relate to some of the criticisms: lack of evening dress code – no shorts and t shirts, but did see jeans and flip flops; smoking allowed by the pool even though there is a big notice saying no smoking is permitted (no one smoked in the restaurant, although not sure whether that was because they enforced the rule or no one tried); poor quality wine in the all-inclusive package - although the white did grow on us!; limited excursions - we wanted to visit the marine park but were unable to as the rep could find no one else who wanted to go and minimum was 4 people. Didn't really have a problem with flies or upset stomachs.

This is by far the best all-inclusive hotel we have stayed in and if we were looking for a beach hotel in the Mombasa area, it is one we would have definitely returned to - if not for one thing: the noise from the hotel next door. The hotel's website describes it as "quietly situated" - and it would be if it were not for the blaring music from the beach bar at Tropical Village, which made it quite impossible to enjoy sitting on the beach for a good part of the day. We found this very disappointing. If you don't mind loud music then this should not put you off going - but if you are looking for peace and tranquility then I would look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The staff at the dream of africa couldnt do enough for you. during our recent stay we wanted to arrange a special night for our friends 60th birthday. They organised a table in our courtyard with a special meal and Timothy and mahindi served us for the night . All the staff were friendly from edward on the beach who had our six sunbeds waiting for us every day of our 2 week staff to timothy the head man. the rooms were lovely and clean and very spacious. hotel was right on the beach and had some lovely touches like cold towels, fruit platters and sorbets on the beach. At 7pm you got a cocktail in your room. The only downside was the beach boys who would not let you walk alone on the beautiful beach. We organised a safari with Abdul from Tundatours who I contacted before I went on holiday and he found us at the front of the hotel with books about his safaris. We then booked a date at Tsavo East for one night at the Aruba Lodge and Abdul brought the driver and Landrover to show us before we went. He was very reliable and we found out that all other operators used mini buses which did not look the part on safari. He was the best choice by far. The men went deep sea fishing and organised this with "Free Willy" on the beach. We would recommend him if interested in fishing loads cheaper than Kuoni trips.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelsall
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Having previously visited Kenya on Safari, we were thoroughly looking forward to our holiday on the Kenyan coast. We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, and the fact that this was a small hotel, which we hoped would offer a more personal service.
Travelling with Kuoni, we flew into Mombasa via Nairobi, and then transferred to Malindi by private transfer. The journey took approximately two and a half hours, through the mayhem of Mombasa with beggars knocking the windows of our minibus whilst we were in traffic, and the extreme poverty of the villages.
On arriving at the hotel we were welcomed with refreshing cocktails and cold eucalyptus towels, whilst we filled in registration cards. We were then escorted to our rooms – huge suites, spotlessly clean with tasteful African décor. The rooms are well equipped and have a fridge stocked with soft drinks – Tusker beer can be added on signing a request form at reception.
The bar area of the hotel offers a choice of huge comfortable sofas and chairs both inside and out, according to the weather. As we had our fair share of sun and rain we spent time in both. The restaurant is an extension of this area, and we were allocated our own table for the duration of our stay. On a Friday evening, tables are located around the pool area instead, with a live duet and bbq.
The pool is very clean, although looking a little dated. Loungers and mattresses were attended to by Edward, who ensured they were positioned, wherever we chose, every morning with clean beach towels. The only issue was that there were only 2 parasols between everyone staying there – not ideal in the extreme heat when you are seeking some protection from the sun.
The pool bar and pool bar area resemble more like what I would expect to find at a 3 star hotel. Shabby furniture, no cushions on the chairs and a serving hatch for a bar.
The private beach has plenty of loungers, also attended to by Edward, and is beautifully kept. The only issue being the beach boys who constantly hassle anyone trying to walk onto the main beach. Quite entertaining initially, but they are a real problem, ruining what is a beautiful beach.
During our stay, the ‘Dream Spa’ had a few special offers available, so we took advantage and treated ourselves to a couple of massages, which were wonderfully relaxing and very reasonably priced. This allowed us to also use the Spa pool and Jacuzzi area, which you would normally pay extra for.
‘Tropical Beach Hotel’ is located next door and those staying at ‘Dream of Africa’ can use all their facilities, although they couldn’t use ours. Being recently refurbished, it has an amazing bar area, grounds and dining area, but that’s where it ended. The pool and theatre were tatty and resembled Butlins! We had one drink in the theatre one evening and left pretty sharp. Awful drinks served in squeezy plastic cups!!
On holiday, we always try to get out and about, seeing as much of what a country has to offer as possible, but not here. We were advised only to leave the hotel with a guard and when we booked a day trip to Tsavo East, we had an armed police escort. But our trip to Tsavo East, in just one day, was fantastic. Definitely recommended! We saw so much in such a short time, including lions and cheetah, along with numerous elephants, buffalo and giraffe. Lunch at Voi Lodge was superb, good choice and quality - in fact I would consider staying there in future, very impressive.

All in all we had a lovely holiday, but there are a few negatives that are worth pointing out:
- Lack of dress code on an evening – several men wore shorts and t shirts, despite it stating that they should wear long trousers.
- Guests were allowed to smoke in the restaurant on an evening.
- Poor quality wine included in ‘All Inclusive’ package. Both the red and white wines were of Italian origin and very acidic.
- The ‘Crazy Paved ‘ floor throughout the hotel is varnished and dangerously slippery when it rains.
- Take plenty of medication with you for an upset stomach. Almost everyone we spoke to suffered in some way, but no one could pin point the cause.
- Limited excursions and venturing out of the hotel boundaries not advisable.

On a positive note:
- The staff are the friendliest and most attentive I have ever come across. Wonderful people!! Especially Vincent, Mutama, Denaice, Moses, Charles, Dolla and Timothy.
- The food was superb and different every lunchtime and evening in the main restaurant. The pool bar also offered a snack menu, which was very tasty indeed. Chips were lovely!
- The rooms are huge with very comfortable beds and pillows.
- Breakfast can be served in your room or on your balcony. When we ordered coffee from reception it arrived within minutes.

I wouldn’t return to the Kenyan coast, but have no regrets about visiting the area. If you are looking to visit the area it’s probably one of the best hotels available.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

On the plus side, the rooms are very spacious, no problems with the air con or water temperature when we stayed either. Food was plentiful and well presented and the staff were lovely, though it gets a bit trying when the fifth or sixth person asks if everything is all right with your meal, but I suppose its better that way than not caring! It is not an attactive looking hotel and has a very concrete, cheap feel about it; should have been alterted to this on the basis that brochures always show a night time shot of the hotel, with soft lights. None of the rooms have a sea view and either face a garden, or in our case, the back of the next door hotel. So, while each has a nice patio, you don't really want to relax on it. We travelled from Mombasa airport to Malindi (Malindi has an airport, but flights into and out of it have been cut back). It was a two hour transfer which would have been okay had it been a really special hotel at the end of it; in hindsight I would have chosen a nice hotel in Mombasa, as the beaches are pretty much alike.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

What a great place. Very relaxing, and very different. The hotel managers accommodated us whenever they could, and the staff is outstanding. The wait staff manager Dolla is cool, Mary the receptionist was SUPER nice, the little Thai masseuse Aoh is great, and the tour leader Alia was outstanding. A very nice woman indeed. (this woman needs a raise)
Though, the Italian guests kept whining like little girls about everything from minor scrapes and headaches, and because noone there spoke Italian. They never thought it would be a good idea to maybe learn a little about the native languages before their trip to Africa. They appear to lack the basic skills to fend for themselves. (very much like 12 year old girls) These Italians don't seem like a very hearty, durable, or robust group of people to me. Not what I expected at all lol. Sorry, had to say it. Though, the manager Bruno, seems like a solid, knock out kinda guy. I bet he could survive a nuclear holocaust. All in all, I loved my time there. Was a very unique experience, and I will never forget it. Ever. :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Address: Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Dream of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.