We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Africa's Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Dream of Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamonds Dream of Africa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Malindi
Hull, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Africa's Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My husband John and I have been going to Malindi now every year for the last eight years and have always stayed in a Planhotel resort. We got married there in 2001 and it holds very special and fond memories for us. Our wedding day was made so special and it was just such a fun and relaxed day.

In each of the hotels we have stayed in, our experience has got better and better year on year. For the last three years we have stayed at Dream of Africa and this really is a fantastic hotel. Bruno and Daniela who manage the hotels are excellent hosts. All of the staff are fantastic and cannot do enough to please.

The food and rooms are second to none.

I don't think of this as just going on holiday now, it is more like returning to visit an extended family. As soon as you return you are instantly remembered and are immediately relaxed, which is just what is needed after having to wait a whole year to come back.

What especially made my holiday last year extra special was the addition of the Thelasso spa which was the most recent addition.

We will be returning to Malindi again in October, and I am now counting down the days.

Margaret & John Bunby

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    25
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
104
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

i stayed with my partner at Dream of Africa the last 4 nights of our Kenya Holiday, after we visited Nairobi, Masai Mara and Diani Beach.

The Hotel is member of the Small Luxury Hotel chain, but for me it seems that they dont know what it mean to be part of this.

The rooms are for Kenyan standards very luxurious and have modern designed furniture, flat screen tv, nice bathroom with separate shower and toilet and a big terrace or balcony (most rooms are with terrace because 90% of the rooms are on ground floor).

The food is horrible for a luxury hotel, without any taste, lack of presentation and low quality (they dont have good quality meat and told us that they cannot get it).
The breakfast buffet, the antipasti buffet and dessert buffet are full of fleas.
Raw Fish, mayonaise and raw meat is presented on uncooled plates and stand for hours in humid 30C degress on the buffet.

The big negative points is that the hotel manager (a swiss guy and his woman) dont know how to handle a real 5 star hotel and that they dont take care about the details.

No one take care of the proper dress policy to wear long trousers for dinner time, also the Hotel Manager came around in shorts at dinner time, so no one have to wonder that some of the guest done so too.

The pool area had the charme of a 2 star Hotel, with 2 old sunchairs, no umbrella, no towels on the sunbeds, no plants around, just the bare pool.
Thats the ambience im looking for when i book a Small Luxury Hotel !!!

At the time we stay at the Dream of Africa most of the Hotel clients where rebooked guest from a closed 3 star hotel of the same Hotel owner and they where lucky anyway to get a cheap stay in a 5 star hotel which they never could afford otherwise, so they dont do many negative comments for what they paid for.

We enjoyed Kenya and the people very much and had a very nice stay at a 3 star Hotel in Diani Beach for a 1/3 off the Price of Dream of Africa and also 4 nights in a Safari Lodge which was a real 5 Star Hotel and showed us Kenyan hospitality as its best, but dont go to Dream of Africa, it is waste of your money, you dont get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

the wonderful service everyone has mentioned made this holiday for us, the staff are the most attentive we have ever met, except for the higher management, who were rude and belittling when presented with our problem. However suffolk sunflower and albt are right in what they say, the two weeks that we were there everybody got 'kenya express' two people had to pay a fortune for a doctor due to being so ill, we all blamed this on the amazing amount of flys that you could not get rid of - we ended up eating with one hand only, so we could use the other to keep the flys off our food, within two days we gave up on puddings/fruit as these were never covered properly and the flys put us off. We were also 1 of the victims of the 'waitress badge scam'!  I would rate this hotel as a 3-4 star at the most, if not for the amazing staff (well mostly)!!! it would be lower than that, hot water was a luxury we had to wait for untill we got back home, the toilet leaked so did the aircon, our room had a patio door as its only entrance/exit which was very insecure as you could open/close it wether it was locked or not, we got moved but the other room door was not much better.We were sold this holiday as a diving holiday as we could use all the amenities of the sister hotel next door including the padi dive school, but the resort was closed and undergoing very noisey refurbishment which we should of been advised of before booking. If you want a diving holiday do not go here even if  the other resort is open - go to the maldives if you dont want to experience dissapointment.Yes the kuoni rep came to resort every day, he was helpful and friendly, but he walked round the resort most days and still didnt think to mention to kuoni about the next door resort which was a main selling point for us - a large surprising boo for kuoni.  The marine park next door which we were charged £28 each for to go snorkelling really is not worth the money, conservation area my eye!! even the captain who took us on the boat was touching all the shells himself bringing them out of the water then throwing them back in from the boat, he was saying nothing to others from our boat  who were happily standing on the coral reef - 'conservation marine park'??? - that was the biggest joke for the whole holiday!
All whinging aside we did enjoy our two weeks of relaxation inbetween the chainsaws and hammering but would advise to avoid june as it was rather rainy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks at the start of July 2009. We had a great time. The hotel really is lovely. There are only 30ish rooms and they are all Junior suites except for i think two executive suites. We were in a junior suite which was fantastic. It had a nice bed, sofas, fridge, large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and large veranda.

The staff are extremely obliging and go out of their way to look after you - as with all of these places tipping seems to increase the speed of service of your next drink. The pool/beach area is really well maintained.

I found that i unwound completely within a day.

The food was of an excellent standard for an all-inclusive. Certainly the best we have ever had in an all inclusive restaurant. The included drinks were also fine.

The beach boys can be intimidating at first but they can't get up onto the private raised beach which is where most people stay. When you do go to the beach just ignore the beach boys and they will leave you alone. If you try to be polite they will keep hassling you - you need to be firm. Once you get used to it, it's really fine. We had a lot of nice walks along the beach and even the occasional jog.

The main thing you will be considering is a Safari. We did 3 days 2 nights in the Royal Mara in Masai Mara. We booked with Abdul from Tunda Tours. We couldn't recommend him enough. Not only is he the cheapest around, but he is extremely personable and entirely trustworthy. He called the staff at our camp every day to make sure we were having a good trip. Don't be alarmed by the fact the hotel won't always let him in - they have fallen out because all of their guests book safari's with Abdul instead of them. When you decide on what you want email Abdul and get a quote. It's easiest and cheapest to pay cash to avoid bank charges. If we were going again (I should say when) we would bring sterling to pay for the safari.

Book it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely 1 week stay at Dream Of Africa.

We found the staff to be very kind and always willing to help. We came with our 13 month old son and were made to feel most welcome. All the guests were very sweet and patient with our little boy especially the Italian ones so I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to those with very young children. There are no kids clubs etc though – not that kind of hotel – and NO babysitting for under 3s (despite what the website/tour operators say)

We were provided with a full size wooden cot (take your own bedding) which is better than the usual travel cot provided in European hotels (even 5* ones!).

The hotel did provide a high chair but the opening mechanism proved to be somewhat dangerous for younger babies (trapped fingers) so I would suggest bringing a booster seat or just using your pushchair.

The room was lovely and a good size with modern furnishings and a flat screen TV with a few DSTV channels and KBC (local channel). The mini bar was always full with sodas and beer on request. Cocktails are brought to the room every evening before dinner which I thought was a nice touch.

The bathroom was again a good size with Jacuzzi bath (old and needs replacing), double shower cubicle and separate toilet. The grouting in the bathroom is beginning to look a bit grotty and needs replacing/steam cleaning to bring it back to standard. Complimentary toiletries were ok but nothing to write home about!

We were mostly impressed with the food, which is geared up for the (mainly) Italian guests. Breakfast is a buffet style with cooked a la carte choices. Lunch and dinner are both a la carte with a salad buffet to begin with and a delicious dessert buffet to end.

There is a large swimming pool and pool bar and a fully attended private beach. The beach is plagued by beach boys who were quite annoying but this is unavoidable. If you do not want them to bother you don’t engage them at all and stay off the public beach!

If you care about that sort of thing, the Kenyan Prime Minister has recently stayed at this hotel for a few days so it must be good ;)

All in all we had a lovely week at this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to friends and family, however, I would not rate it as 5*, more like a good 4* hotel thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We got an excellent deal to stay for a week at Dream Of Africa and have just returned from a lovely stay there - we had been to Governors Camp in the Mara during a previous trip to Kenya and this week was purely for some rest and relaxation (though we did manage a day's deep sea fishing to avoid vegetating completely!). The staff rightly receive the plaudits that they do but I was also impressed by the standard of the rooms (not that you spend too much time in them) and indeed the food. I don't understand the mixed reviews for the food here but can only assume that the dissenting voices do not like seafood and it does tend to dominate the menus - and rightly so being on the coast. Our room (number 1) was ideally placed close to the spa and was in a single story villa which was probably a bonus. Our views were perfectly pleasant although I can't speak for those nearer the road end of the resort or on the first floor.

My wife and I have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the most luxurious hotels in the World over the last few years, including various Chedi, Taj, Banyan Tree and Sila Evason resorts. Of course Dream of Africa is not of that standard (or cost!) - nor does it claim to be - but for value for money, impeccable service and a wonderfully relaxing time, it comes highly and heartily recommended. The better the deal you can get to stay here, the broader your smile will be - Jambo!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malindi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I agree 100% with Sunflower Suffolk.
This hotel is not 5 star by any standard, 3.5 maybe. This entire hotel requires some TLC & like Sunflower we found the food below average. Possibly the worst thing with the food is that it is left uncovered and is a haven for the flies. “Kenya express” was the topic most days “who’s turn next”.

As for the staff beware of one or two cons. Like one waitress “my name badge is broken and I can’t afford a new one”. You part with 200 Shillings (£2) next day sure the badge is on show. Fine, till the lady pulls the stunt again on the next batch of holiday makers. We were made aware of this and she did try it on with us. But she came second and was duly reported to the head waiter. One other, don’t get fooled by “come and meet my family” to cut a long story short that will cost you 3500 Shillings (£35) to get back to the hotel.

Like Sunflower our room also looked over the hotel next door, nice view I think not, a very tatty hotel which we were unfortunate to see each morning.

The First Choice rep I will not pass comment, she was totally unprofessional that is all I will say about her.

Very good stuff.
We booked our safari with First Choice & toured Tsavo East and Tsavo West, three days, two nights. We were very fortunate to see the “Big Five”. This was made possible by our guide Fahmi. This guide is at the top of his game he was very informative and new exactly what he was doing. I would go far as saying he made our dreams come true.
I assume that First Choice use the same company for safari trips, Pollmans is the company we went with. If you lucky enough to get Fahmi as your guide well you are in for a treat. Like he says the animals are wild and no one can wave a wand and get them to appear.

However, we were very disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Address: Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Dream of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.