We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Dream of Africa to your Saves list
Diamonds Dream of Africa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Malindi
Mechelen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We orginally booked the Sandies next door but as it is low season we were re-booked (free of charge) to the DOA.

We personnaly enjoy the quite but were afraid it would be too quite... We'll it was surely quite but we enjoyed every second of it. I would defintely recommend this hotel and certainly in low season. Still 36°C, enough sun and burning so the clouds were very welcome otherwise we would have spent each day in the pool... At many times, we felt like we were alone in the hotel, the most crowded was the weekend with 14(!) guests for dinner ;)

The staff is amazing, so friendly, helpful, always smiling. From the reception, to the bar, restaurant and pool, all great people.

Food is good, varied and the pool bar snack menu is a good alternative (chessburger & sandwiches).

Cocktails (all in) are great, getting stronger by the hour ;)

Pool is the right size, we are not beach people but the view is amazing. Lots of palm trees (which I love) and beach boys leave you alone after the first day (unless you're walking on the beach).

All in all, very quite and relaxing holiday and certainly the best hotel even though we like some entertainment. Oh and the Spa is also great, very good massages for reasonable prices (compared to Belgium)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    25
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
106
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We didn't originally book this hotel. Three times after the Foreign Office warnings about Mombassa (where we were supposed to go) we reject this place as a viable option as an alternative. When we finally had to accept it, and based on what we really wanted and had booked, we did so with some trepiadtion. One of the conditions that were insisted on, on 3 seperate emails, was that we were given a double bed. to quote "under no circumstances will we accept 2 singles pushed together".
When we arrived at Malindi Airport, we came out to find a man holding our name on a card. He informed us that he was holding it for the taxi driver, who had gone to the toilet. When our driver emerged, it was clear that he is not very good at shaking the right bits, as his khaki trousers had a few large and very noticable wet patches in an embarrasing area!
We got to the hotel to check in, and were given wristbands and towel cards (exactly the sort of thing we wanted to avoid). We were then shown to our room, which in my opinion was the worst in the hotel (see room tips). Worst of all, it had 2 single beds, which they would "put together for us later". Naturally, we rejected this room, and asked for another. To be fair, they happily obliged, but given that the place was less than half full, and clearly double bedded rooms were available, I feel that we should have been given one of these as a matter of course.
However, after a poor start, things got much better!! The staff (especially the restaurant and bar) were really friendly and helpful. The food was of great quality, and variation. Breakfast is a buffet, whilst lunch and dinner are buffet salad and dessert, chose from a menu for the soup, pasta and main courses. Drinks (especially cocktails) were really good as well.
All of the accomodation are suites, mainly junior, but a few larger. They are all well furnished and spotlessly clean. (Again, see room tips for more). The pool and beach areas were well maintained and very clean, but at full capacity there may be a fight for beds!
Not that we were interested anyway, but the website advertises activities all day and evening at "nearby Sandies Tropical Paradise" This was closed for off season, but I feel that this should be made clearer to people booking who wanted the activities for themselves or children.
It should also be pointed out that Sandies is literally 5 yards away. Diamonds Dream is adverstised as a relaxing luxury hotel, and sandies as a much more lively place. I fail to see how, when it's open, the things going on at sandies would not take away form the relaxing atmosphere of Diamonds dream.
All in all, things worked out OK, nice and relaxing after a busy safari, but I would only book this place after careful consideration of what you actually want form your break.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are suites, with either a terrace or balcony. I would suggest that the terracce is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is very nice. From the arrival, the staff was very friendly and we felt really welcomed. We decided to upgrade to a suite S3 which was really worth the additional money. The room and the separate lounge are extensive and the direct access to the restaurant, swimming pool and beach is really good when you have a little kid with you. The restaurant staff is very nice too. As the restaurant was opening a bit late for our son at lunch and dinner, they always proposed to prepare his meal in advance ... All in all, it has been a really nice and very relaxing weekend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Access to the beach for a walk was a plus for us. The wireless wifi in some areas was also welcome. The rooms were very spacious and clean - with numerous towel changes.The staff were hospitable, accomodating and professional. The only thing was a request for increase or more variety in the breakfast menu that incorporates the local cusine. I would have loved to get more healthy options - like brown bread - but overall a good value for money. Could they think about marketing themselves to the local community (East Africans) I checked out of the hotel with a sense of a lost opportunity for the front office to ask me to spread the word to my networks ....

Room Tip: The rooms opposite/near the reception does get to be slightly noisy when guests are checking in/chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Amazing experience, so beautiful and so welcoming. The hotel was so relaxing and nothing was to much trouble for anyone. The staff were attentive without being over powering. The rooms were clean and there was a lot of space. We meet some lovely people whilst we were at the hotel which added to the holiday being enjoyable. The spa was worth the money and very relaxing. We enjoyed our meals but it was nice to have the odd meal in the hotel next door. We were there over Easter and staff really pushed the boat out with BBQ and tables all dressed lovely around the pool, music playing and dancing.

We also had the meal on the beach, this was truely an experience and worth paying the little bit extra for. They made arches out of the palm trees and waitered on you all evening bring course after course, to be honest we could not eat everything. All in all what a holiday and what amazing staff.

M & J Berkshire

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A hotel with a difference.
The ambiance is great, staff extremely helpful even with stuff about Malindi. Just to mention a few –, Rachel – Reception, David – Room Steward, Moses at the bar always had a welcoming smile. Raphael (He is special the guy is fluent in German, Italian just to mention a few). He has a very warm heart, Newton & Lucas at the Restaurant and the trainee who always had options Gladys.
The Hotel has a variety of cocktails as well as food.
The rooms are great though no channels for the young ones e.g. Cartoon channel.
Two Negatives.
The Lotion supplied in the rooms have an expiry date of May 2014 :-( I think it’s not healthy to supply stuff after it has expired.
Also my room had a huge dead cockroach on the floor next to the curtain and every day I checked it was still there. Irrespective of how many days one is staying maybe a proper cleaning of the room would be nice

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Excellent hotel. Very minimal in terms of facilities however that suited us fine.

Rooms were awesome and extremely spacious. No fault with the rooms at all.

The staff were very very good with one exception (see below). We are vegetarian and the waiters all took great care in ensuring that we were always well fed. The Reservations Manager, Dixon, in particular was rude to us (this comment has also been mentioned by someone else before). We were not told about charges for all our kids when we checked in however just before we checked out, we were told that the 2nd and 3rd children would be charged for. When we explained the situation to the Reservations Manager Dixon, he was quite rude about the situation and unhelpful. This is a real shame as the rest of the staff were so so friendly.

Dixon also gave us a final invoice which included the travel agent's commission. I am sure if our travel agent found out about this he would not be too happy.

The hotel should look to invest in some fans in the public areas as it was very hot especially in the dining hall.

Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Address: Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#2 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Dream of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.