We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Dream of Africa to your Saves list
Diamonds Dream of Africa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a real dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

stayed there with my man and i wished we could simply live there. great beach access. nice, clean, white sand. rooms are nice and cosy. like a second home. and the service was wonderful. another nice place to stay while in malindi. very beautiful especially at night.

Room Tip: bottom rooms, i.e, on the ground floor r the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    27
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
110
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

nice hotel. stayed one night on business. enjoyed the room, they really went out of their way to make it pretty with flowers and fruit. classy furniture and well maintained. great access straight onto beach. Would have loved to have stayed longer. note: no wifi in rooms (only in lounge/restaurant). hot water was a bit of a problem for the other guests in my party, but mine was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week here. We took our 9 year old with us. He is pretty good with just a pool/ocean to swim in so if your children need a kids club maybe think twice as the hotel next door Sandies was shut so no kids club at all this time of year.
Firstly in was low season there so at the very most there was only ever 20 ish guests while we were there. However the staff could not do enough for us. A la carte for lunch and dinner and a beautiful breakfast as well. Room cleaned daily, evening turn down service. The room was huge as was the bed. Fully equipped with TV, tea/coffee, hair dyer, safe, air con, towels and toiletries. The outside veranda had 2 sun loungers and a wooden table and 4 chairs. Remembering this is a poor part of the world it's not 5 star European but it is defiantly 5 star in Kenya. There was lime scale on the taps in the bath, the bathrobe had a little hole in it but so what, it didn't impact on our stay.
The outdoor space is beautiful the pool not overly big but warm and 20 meters from the beach/Indian ocean. Pool towels provided every day. Palm trees everywhere a real paradise.
There are beach boys that others have mentioned on here but so long as your firm and polite they leave you alone but to be fair to them, a lady we met from a couple holidaying there went to the beach boys/girls huts to shop with me (so 2 women) and although it was a bit daunting they where actually lovely and we had good fun trying on all the sarongs and handbags. The guard at the stepped entrance from the resort knew where we were but to be honest there was no need to worry. They sell some lovely wooden craved
animals and all manner of other things.
We did a day Safari whilst there called the Red Elephant Safari. We returned the same day we left and saw more than some people who had done 3 days safari. Please don't think you can't safari if you don't book before you go as you can book it all over there with your first choice rep. We wish we took stuff for the locals. There is a lot of poverty there and if we go again we will take sweets, pencils, paper and toothpaste/ toiletries for the locals. When someone asks you to trade a t-shirt for a wooden animal you know they don't have much, trading happens during the low season as they will take anything they can get for their wears but not so much in the high season so we were told. We loved it there not only was it paradise it also made us very humble. TIA DOA,the Harrisons. X

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from the first of our two planned trips to this amazing hotel this year, and as always we have had a perfect holiday. From the moment you step into the reception at the hotel to the moment you leave, you can be sure of first class treatment from each and every member of staff who cannot do enough to ensure a truly memorable holiday. A special mention this year to Roxy and Giuseppe who were managing the hotel in the absence of Alan;they did an exceptional job, and were present every day to ensure the smooth running of the hotel, and took time to spend with the guests.

This hotel offers a perfect retreat for those who want to be able to relax and enjoy the wonderful location in plush grounds, and luxurious accommodation, with great food, and company, nestled on the Indian Ocean, and "away from the crowd". The hotel also has a superb spa for those who like to be pampered.

We will continue to return to this hotel again and again, and can't wait for or next trip in October this year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malindi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The resort has an amazing team of Staff who are always out and willing to listen to you, The service right from the reception, Restaurant, Rooms, Beach is absolutely amazing. The Mvua spa is one of the best, the Gym is well equipped and at the sea front, the boutique is well stocked with variety of latest items on it's shelves, the Garden is ever green and healthy.

Room Tip: The Suites especially S 2 is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This resort was absolutely amazing. The staff was the friendliest we have ever encountered, and went out of there way to make our stay very very special. They organised for us to have dinner on the beach and we saw all the preparation happen. From guys climbing the palm trees for the palm leaf gazebo to raking the beach before dinner. We were able to do a lot of excursions and prices were very affordable. I will recommend this resort to absolutely anyone.
The only negative I had is that the people walking up and down the main beach tries selling stuff over the edge and it becomes a bit irritating after a while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We drove around Malindi looking for a good spa...by luck we ended up here.I got the opportunity to spend at the mvua spa..was a lovely experience. calming serene environment and the beach volleyball was interesting. definately will use the spa again. also Samuel (pool attendant hope I got his name right...dressed white in shorts) was an interesting chap....please make the cappuccino glass bigger?!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Address: Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#2 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a resort where the enchanting power of nature blends in with the exotic style of the Indo-Arab buildings to offer you a mesmerizing charm, which in Swahili, is called "bembeleza". Sit in the Balinese chaise lounges on your room terrace and listen to the sound of the wind rustling the palm trees, enjoy the music of the waves and let your heart dance in silence: your Dream of total relaxation has finally come true. Chose to dine on the open air terrace or inside the air conditioned restaurant, overlooking the swimming pool or at the a la carte restaurant serving a selection of seafood menus on the beach. Endowed with a centre of Thalassotherapy, a beauty centre and a gym with spectacular view on the ocean, the Dream Spa is the ideal place for the restoration and the maintenance of global prosperity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Dream of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.