We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that, definitely not worth the small luxury hotel rating/title.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Dream of Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamonds Dream of Africa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Malindi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not all that, definitely not worth the small luxury hotel rating/title.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Considering that it is part of the Small Luxury hotels of the world, the hotel is a huge disappointment overall. Personally my basic benchmark for a small luxury hotel is things like homemade jam, freshly squeezed juice, a good afternoon tea time, a world class spa, customised cuisine using local ingredients which are available in plenty- like coconut, pumpkins etc rather than pasta every day.

Rooms are spacious and well-appointed but beware none of them are sea facing so if you are particular about this keep it in mind. However they lack a bit of privacy as most of them have a glass sliding door as the main entrance. If not careful, you can see hotel staff and gardeners passing close to your room. At least having one way view/tinted glasses should have been thought of. Or a doorbell to alert one that someone is approaching your room.

The bathroom is well equipped and spacious. All bath tubs have these water jets which makes it like a Jacuzzi. We tried once to use it but it took over 60minutes to fill the bath and then when we switched on the jets there was all sort of dirt and algae that came out. It obviously hadn’t been cleaned or used in a long time. The quality of toiletries is quite mediocre and not what you’d expect from a luxury boutique hotel. The shampoo and shower gel smelt quite crude and didn’t have ginger and aloe as claimed.

Breakfast- choice of items is very limited. For example the basic cereal, no homemade muesli, fruit was just 3-4 types not always of premium quality or maturity. I’d expect dried fruits, and other interesting things that make the hotel unique such as coconut water, fresh squeezed (watermelon) juice etc.


Lunch and dinner menus were not all that and the same kind of food- nothing interesting or unique. I could have paid almost 50% less next door (Sandies tropical) and gotten the same kind of food. They did try to cater for vegetarians but could have been much more creative. Dessert choice was not at all up to expectations. They would have these extremely tiny pieces of pastry everyday laid out on individual dishes that were unappealing and not tasty.

Service: although the waiters were friendly and did try to see to all our requests,especially the ‘butlers’ it felt like it required a lot of energy from our end. For example usually at breakfast the first thing one would be expect would be to be asked if we want tea or coffee and what we’d like for breakfast considering eggs had to be ordered. Tea would be brought to the table without tea spoons, we would have to look for a waiter to place our order for eggs!

Tea time- for hot water one was to use the hot water tap in the water dispenser. I found this very tacky an unhotel like. Although tea and coffee were available all day, at least at 4 pm or afternoon tea time they could have made a bit of an effort.

Pool- the pool was quite dirty and during our stay we never saw it being chlorinated or cleaned thoroughly. The pool attendant would start cleaning it at 9am when guests want to use the pool. The water outlets were also not working so water wasn’t in circulation.

Mvua Spa: a complete rip off! I did a scrub and body wrap while other member did a massage. None of us found it to be amazing. I did not even get a real wrap or what in my view is a body wrap. The spa lacks privacy and can get very hot in the rooms. The thalasso pool should have been free at least for a 30 minute session or something considering we are paying a premium to stay at Diamonds and not the sister hotel next door. The pool is good but also needed cleaning and not all the jets were working.

Overall, I have previously stayed at Sandies coconut and also visited tropical and expected Diamonds to be much more special and luxurious but it didn't feel so. It certainly doesn't justify the higher price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    25
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
104
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Targu-Mures, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were in many places in the world, but this was the best of the best holidays, a real `Dream of Africa`.The food was excellent, the pool and the beach too! The personnel was very nice, warm, kind like Timothy, Vincent, Raphael, Josephat, Hosea, Richard, Stanley, Moses, Constance, Kambi... all of them. We will remember them always and we will sure return in a few years. Thank you for everything!!!
David, Andrea, Mircea Purcar from Romania

Room Tip: The room T007
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really had a good time here there place is cool and friendly my kid did not want to go back home they loved the pool and the view of the ocean I must go back there and spend more time with the kids .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at Diamonds Dream of Africa- DOA for 5x days all inclusive in Sept 2012.
The rooms are clean, spacious, staff are attentive and offer excellent service. Although sometimes it was hard to find a staff member in the area of the hotel, we were patient enough "Hakuna Matata"- No worries (local saying) and had to personally look for staff to attend to us. Overall good service and large variety of food main course a-la-carte, the starter and dessert buffet style. Bed mattress on the hard side. Sofa couch fantastic

The hotel is more exclusive than Sandies Tropical hotel which is next door (same owner). You are able to walk to that side and participate in their daily activities for free (volleyball, beach walks, aqua aerobics, archery, pool table, table tennis, pool). The beach boys all crowd Tropical hotel. The beach boys do not hassel you on beach at DOA.

MVUA SPA- make sure you state if you want a male or female therapist.

Intrasafaris operator based in the DOA hotel which took care of our tours recommend *safari blu (full day snorkeling/ seafood lunch/ boat ride), half day Gede ruins tour, visiting the local children to hand out biscuits. Very rewarding to hand out gifts to the kids take pencils/ stationery along.

Fantastic hotel and value!

Room Tip: Garden room with patio was pleasant. All rooms have A/C, mosquito nets, flat screen TV, Spacious. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It is a remarkable hotel with very clean and tidy rooms with an african touch, very friendly and ready for service employees and an available GM who is always walking around and ready to listen to you. We were surprised to that when he came to meet us upon the arrival and it did not change through out the whole stay. Hotel employees are always at your services independent if you are on the beach or at a fitness room. The food is very good and we really enjoyed it as the cuisine is inspired by the best Mediterranean tradition with an african touch. All fresh and when the choice was not in line with your mood, they made an service to your personal order. Some guests were very difficult during our stay but even though we did not see any of frustration of the personnel.

So i would like to thank again hotel personnel and the manager for making our stay very enjoyable and we returned back home with a nice souvenir of the successful holiday .

The only negative point is about the beach boys but this is nothing to do with the hotel. You just need to ignore them because all they try to sell you is and will be far behind your expectations. Do not spoil your holidays.

Room Tip: All room are at the same high level. I prefer personally ground floor as you have than an access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Having never heard about this Hotel I really had no expectations. Just hoped for the best considering the website does the Hotel no justice!!! Rooms are all garden facing but spacious and private. Bathrooms are modern and very big. Staff were simply outstanding. And we had a super wonderful holiday even with the unseasonal rain.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isola del Gran Sasso d'Italia, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

after staying in several of the finest hotels along coastal Kenya I have been most disappointed by this establishment. Customer service reps were rude and failed to explain details that hampered my stay. When I asked to speak to a manager, I was misdirected to several confused employees. Needless to say i will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Address: Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Dream of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.