We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Dream of Africa to your Saves list
Diamonds Dream of Africa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dream for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent the last week of our honeymoon here and despite a few issues on arrival soon settled into our Junior Suit. The staff in the main areas are fantastic and nothing seems too much trouble for them inlcuding our request to move our private romantic meal down onto the beach rather than have it on our terrace, Timothy went above and beyond by finding out our fav dishes to make sure we had a these. The spa is fantastic and would recommend spending time over there to everyone. Despite being in a secure area you never felt anything but relaxed and well cared for. Would love to come back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    27
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
110
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from our 7 night stay at Dream of Africa, and wow what a wonderful place.

On arrival in Mombasa it was a 2hour bumpy ride towards Malindi...bumpy, scary and fun all in the same. We were welcomed with a refreshing towel and cocktail andwere taken to one of their 32 junior suites to get settled and relax. When you walk to their bar, restaurant area you look in front of you and there it was, the big,blue ocean in front of us.. this is really a wonderful place to be.

The service at the hotel is very good, the staff is friendly and some of them will go out of their way to help you. There is a couple of people I would like to mention and it is Ernest that works at the bar with is friendly smile always wanting to give you a Tuskar beer, Asante to you Ernest. Constance our waiter... wow this girl has the biggest smile and is always there with our two bottles of water ready for lunch or dinner, Asante Sana to you.

There is a ouple of things you need to keep in mind when going to Malindi in Kenya:
1. Take shillings or USD with you, because if you wantto go on excursions they prefer cash
2. Greet them in their own language Swahili, the appreciate it so much and you pick it up easily
3. Go on the snorkelling excursion this is truly amazing

There is a lot of beach boys at the ocean at the front of the hotel, they do bother you a bit yes, this was the only bad thing about Malindi beach that I can say. Because if you do not want to buy anything thay do not stop asking you and it came down to the point that we did not go to the beach because we did not want to be hassled. Luckely there is a manmade beach at the hotel just in front of the main beach, so it still felt like being on the main beach. The poeple from the hotel also said that because we visitthem in their low season (april -july) the beach boys seems worse and the reason for this was because all the hotels are closed for low season and it was only dreams that was open with a few guests and now this is the only place the beach boys can come. During high season it does not feel as bad, because they can focus on much more guests.

But looking back at our holiday, this was one of the best holidays that we had.

Hakunamata.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We have just returned from Dream of Africa and have had the best time imaginable. The staff are friendly and very accommodating to our needs. We are vegetarians and the staff did all possible to make sure we were well catered for an a very interesting combo of meals was made available to us throughout our stay. The chef Phestus is great at taking on a challenge and preparing a new dish and serving it you with his own touch so kudos to him. Great service from Ndola, Paul, Richard, Constance, Vincent, Moses and Timothy who were always at hand to meet our every needs. The staff are great with children (our kids are 3 & 6 years). No children's club available at the hotel and the one at the sister hotel next door was disappointing.

The one thing that should be avoided at all costs is using the hotel transfer from Malindi airport as they charged us almost 3 times what a normal taxi would have cost. If transfer required then one should either ask the hotel prior to arriving to arrange for normal taxi to be at the airport as this will cost about Ksh 1300 (as compared to Ksh 4300 for transfer provided by Intrasafari the 'official' hotel transfer agent. Note that when booking is done with hotel reservations directly and transfer requested the reservations department does not point out that a cheaper option of transfer is available.

The Gym needs much updating as the machines do not work and the spa needs more ambiance and perhaps a touch of privacy. I would rather use the spa at Kilili next door then Dream of Africa purely for this reason.

Generally speaking a great hotel to go to and we are sure to go there again and again. March is a very quiet time to travel so we had the hotel to ourselves bar the 5 other rooms that were occupied so it was great for our family as the kids did not have to worry about being quiet and mindful of other residents all the time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

A well-situated hotel directly on the beach with excellent service and very friendly and professional staff. The kitchen was top-class. Wonderful suites and very quite surrounding. The room cleaning could be improved (but was OK) and the gym need some update of the equipment. Very good security level 24/7.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Dream of Africa is a beautiful hotel – small, intimate and relaxed, in a great setting on the beach, with large, well appointed guest rooms and offering extremely high standards of service and food. We’ve just returned from our second visit, having previously stayed in November 2009 and are already thinking about when we can return again in the future!

The most outstanding feature is the staff who are all extremely friendly, very attentive and really seemed to care that you are having a good holiday. Special mention for Timothy, Dolla, Moses, Ernest, Edward and Barrack – we could mention everyone, but the list would be too long. It was good to find on our return visit that nearly all the same staff were still there – it was like being back amongst friends.

The all inclusive package is great, house wines and local beers and spirits are all good. The food is excellent, the best we’ve had at a “beach hotel” anywhere. Fantastic fresh fish. Apart from an African buffet one night and one BBQ (both very good), all other dinners and lunches were waiter service. As an additional extra, for a special occasion we recommend having the Lobster meal one night, with a special candlelit table set up for you on the beach – very romantic.

There are some lovely touches which set this place apart. As well as coming round the pool/beach to regularly check if you would like any drinks, mid morning they bring you sorbet/ice cream on the beach (heavenly in very humid 30 degrees) and afternoons they come round with freshly prepared fruit. Around 7pm when people are dressing for dinner they come round to the rooms with cocktails.

Evenings are quiet, but for anyone wanting it there is more going on entertainment-wise at the much larger sister hotel next door, but it was lovely and peaceful at DoA which is what we look for in a holiday – totally relaxing. If you’re looking for a small, sophisticated hotel with a quiet relaxed atmosphere, offering excellent food, friendly attentive service – then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, impeccable service from the whole team - Timothy was a star, made sure we were taken care of and comfortable at all times.

Food was excellent!

Would have been nice if the pool area was designated a no-smoking zone.

Beach boys were slightly annoying, they would stand at the border and were relentless in shouting 'madam, madam' for a very very long time. The security didn't seem to want to ask them to leave either.

Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable but could do with some updating for an 'SLH' hotel, especially when you compare it to somewhere like Lion in the Sun (if you're looking for somewhere a bit more hip/sexy to stay and don't mind that there's no beach, I would check this one out)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A good hotel with an excellent team of people Moses and Edward total stars. The food is world class and the services outstanding at every level. The rooms are a tad basic for this level and the bathrooms although large need an update. Also their is no airconditionong in the bathrooms so they turn into saunas very quickly.
The grounds and pool are fantasic and boarder onto the beach and this too us was a major disapointment. the indian ocean streached out in front of you golden sands. However as soon as you steped of the private hotel grounds onto the beach a feeding frenzy of 'Beach Boys' engulfed you several at a time wanting too sell you trips, name plates, carvings or just hard luck stories. Noramally not a problem to us as we usually politely decline or if interested buy. These 'Beach Boys' are persistant and a few got very intimidating because we would not buy from them. The hotel as permanant 24 hour security patrolling the boarder with the beach but not been able to walk on the beach without tension really was a neagative for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Address: Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#2 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a resort where the enchanting power of nature blends in with the exotic style of the Indo-Arab buildings to offer you a mesmerizing charm, which in Swahili, is called "bembeleza". Sit in the Balinese chaise lounges on your room terrace and listen to the sound of the wind rustling the palm trees, enjoy the music of the waves and let your heart dance in silence: your Dream of total relaxation has finally come true. Chose to dine on the open air terrace or inside the air conditioned restaurant, overlooking the swimming pool or at the a la carte restaurant serving a selection of seafood menus on the beach. Endowed with a centre of Thalassotherapy, a beauty centre and a gym with spectacular view on the ocean, the Dream Spa is the ideal place for the restoration and the maintenance of global prosperity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Dream of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.