We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Driftwood Beach Club to your Saves list
Driftwood Beach Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Malindi
West London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We recently spent eight nights at the Driftwood and having travelled worldwide we found it to be one of the most enjoyable, relaxing stays we have ever had. The staff are a credit to the owners who, to their own credit, make sure that you are receiving the treatment you would expect. A small complex, only around 30 individual cottages, but more would spoil it. The only thing that really spoilt the stay was the amount of hawkers on the beach. A security man protects you whilst you are in the grounds but on the beach you are, at times, having to fight them off they are so persistant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    30
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
42
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st.albans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Wonderful location,tranquil setting,excellent food and and service from a very friendly,unobtusive and helpful staff. Clean comfortable bandas. A proper job!
John and Karen.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

This beach club resort is so pretty that on walking in the view took my breath away - it was literally on the beach, with shady palm tress and a cozy bar area, and a pool that I later found out was warm!
The little lodges we stayed in had everything you needed, and the service was always friendly. We had a one year old and the resort was very baby friendly, with an in house baby sitting service so I could have some time out and enjoy a massage in the beauty parlour! My husband had deep sea fishing and scuba diving arranged for him, so we were all well catered for.
I recommend The Driftwood very highly to all, we had such a relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed at the Driftwood for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. We have never relaxed so quickly on a holiday and found the quiet atmosphere a pleasant change from the usual noisy package holidays. The food and service was excellent, really good range of meals with new specials every day. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner every day at the club and all meals were delicious. Our room was lovely with great air con, having no TV in the room actually encouraged us to read and relax more which was good! The Beauty Options are relatively new and proved popular with everyone in our group, I had a facial which was especially good. If you want it, there is lots to do in the surrounding area like sea fishing and diving which the Driftwood were extremely helpful in arranging for us making everything hassle free. Malindi is also an interesting place to visit and if you want an informal view of it ask reception to arrange a tuk tuk for you, Sayed took us out a couple of times and knows all the best places to go for your souvenirs and will wait while you shop which is great. Julian, Jenny and all the staff were great hosts and can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Having stayed 5 days at the Driftwood this October, I felt I had to write a review. This is a wonderful place to relax and recharge.
There are so many things going for the Driftwood that I can't list them all here but some of the main ones I felt were:
- Very unobtrusive - being a club it lacks any of the normal package hotel type obtrusiveness you find so often around the world and especially on the Kenyan coast these days. You can really unwind.
- A wonderful atmosphere - very friendly and relaxed - it certainly lives up to its "Informality at its Best" slogan
- Great menu - we ate very well. A wide choice of dishes, especially seafood. If you like prawns, lobster and seafish, you will love the food here.
- A great place for family - our young son had a fantastic time.

All in all, I would most certainly recommend the Driftwood to anyone looking for a fun, relaxing holiday at the Kenyan coast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Give a complete "thumbs up" for this familiar, yet contemporary, Kenyan resort. The Bed and Breakfast option is great, for there are options for food to purchase throughout the day. The A/C works well, so you are comfortable at night. The pool and beach lend themselves to relaxation.
We especially appreciated the quiet atmosphere (mobile phones off, no disco music, no loud performances). This place lends itself to conversation and writing!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed at the Driftwood for one week and enjoyed every minute. We originally booked our little cottage having read strongly positive reviews here on tripadvisor, but we didn't honestly expect the place to fully live up to all we had read - however, it turned out all reviews had been completely accurate,and our wish for a long and relaxing week on the beach was 100% fulfilled!

Driftwood is run by Jenny, a very friendly british lady, who would approach us each morning at breakfast, to enquire if we had slept alright, and if we had everything we needed to make our holiday complete. Besides from Jenny, we were very impressed with every single member of staff at the Driftwood, since they were all extremely courteous and friendly, and always enquiring to make sure we weren't wanting for anything. Basically, we were made to feel right at home from the very first day!

The thing we valued the most, was simply the atmosphere at the Driftwood: it's been a very long time since either of us have relaxed as much as we did this particular week :-)

We highly recommend Driftwood Beach Club to those Malindi-visiting travellers, who are looking for a quiet and romantic get-away in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. However, if you desire a more busy/ crowded resort (loud music, lots of splashing in the pool, etc), look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Club

Address: Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#3 Family Hotel in Malindi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitable for families, couples or groups. Everyone will enjoy The Driftwood for its barefoot, relaxed, ‘family home’ style.We also host a large number of wedding ceremonies.The Kenyan coast is a lush diversity of various environments. The marine life in the parks is absolutely stunning and only getting better and better since the law was implemented to protect from over-fishing. The edges of the beach are lined with palm trees that sway gently in the wind. Further inland there are the lush tropical forests that house hundreds of species of bird life and animal life. The most famous of these is the Sokoke forest which is half an hours’ drive from The Driftwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Driftwood Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Club Hotel Malindi
Driftwood Beach Hotel
Driftwood Beach Malindi
Driftwood Beach Club Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.