We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Driftwood Beach Club to your Saves list
Driftwood Beach Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Malindi
Diani Beach, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Driftwood is just a great place to relax on the beach, have excellent food and have a drink at the bar with the residents of Malindi. It definitely has something of the old colonial flair and has a great beach location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    30
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
42
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed two weeks here and would recc to anyone going to this area. Views are unbelievable staff are great and cleanliness of grounds were immaculate. Loved open air restaurant and food. Only thing to improve in would be road getting to resort. But that is not just this properties.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have just spent yet another couple of amazing weeks at the Driftwood with my cousin from Australia and we are still both suffering from the most terrible withdrawal symptoms. The Driftwood remains one of the very best hotels in Malindi, managed by the incomparable Roger Sylvester and his excellent team. From waking up to a magnificent sunrise to dining in the open restaurant, both overlooking the Indian Ocean is a daily treat. For over twenty years now I just have to keep coming back as nowhere else really compares!!!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are obviously the best although the grounds are so beautiful and every banda is li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm writing about the restaurant here, but I can only find the resort in Trip Advisor. The whole place is very pleasant and ideally located on the beach. The whole thing is very much in the vein of the Peponi on Lamu -- high quality decor, well trained staff, very good bar and selection of drinks, and a good selection of items on the menu. Given that we were in Malindi, our group all went for seafood. It really was excellent, I chose fresh crab claws cooked in ginger -- the serving was huge, the crab was fresh and absolutely delicious. My friends were equally complimentary about their seafood, and we knew some of the guests there who told us they'd had a great stay. I certainly would recommend the restaurant, and also the whole resort if it's all as good as the bits I saw.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Came to join a group of about twenty celebrating 70th birthday party. Driftwood put on amazing dinner for the group with disco & great food. Stay was amazing & Roger the owner/manager was amazing host as always. Would not hesitate to recommend Driftwood Club as amazing good value accommodation

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a recent two night stay whilst carrying out an exploration scout in the Tana River region.
The overall experience was fantastic. Our multinational team ( six persons) was met and welcomed by the Owner / Manager Roger Sylvester.
Our beachside cottages were air-conditioned, clean and extremely comfortable. Beds were enclosed in extremely well performing mosquito netting and I escaped with zero bites during my two day/ night stay.
The cottages are a stone’s throw from the sea across a strip of pure white ( clean) sand. The view is idyllic nestling on the Indian Ocean as it does, sunrise is amazing.
The bar and lounge area was very welcoming with an excellent music selection, in the background. Wi-Fi enabled all who wished to keep in touch with the outside world. Beers were icy cold and the Dawa cocktail as good as I have ever had.
Evening meals were a treat, with fish obviously on offer. The chef special evening meal is to be recommended and left us all full and satisfied.
A full breakfast was as good as I have had in any 5 star restaurant.
Roger has a lovely charm and looks after all his customers in a very personable manner.
I look forward to returning to the area later this year when we commence operations and I will be sure to bring my wife with me ( and stay for as long as I can wangle it!)

Room Tip: Only know about cottage 28. All was tranquil at night and there was excellent security patrolling al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here several time,s but the llast two years I went to a other hotel ,but this year I went back to Driftwood a wonderful hotel with very good food.
The atmospher is very relaxing no entertainment and lots of drunken people .
For me it wil only be Driftwood and nothing else thanks for the lovely day,s.
Its the old colanial style and the rooms are banda,s ore some villa,s.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Club

Address: Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#3 Family Hotel in Malindi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitable for families, couples or groups. Everyone will enjoy The Driftwood for its barefoot, relaxed, ‘family home’ style.We also host a large number of wedding ceremonies.The Kenyan coast is a lush diversity of various environments. The marine life in the parks is absolutely stunning and only getting better and better since the law was implemented to protect from over-fishing. The edges of the beach are lined with palm trees that sway gently in the wind. Further inland there are the lush tropical forests that house hundreds of species of bird life and animal life. The most famous of these is the Sokoke forest which is half an hours’ drive from The Driftwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Driftwood Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Club Hotel Malindi
Driftwood Beach Hotel
Driftwood Beach Malindi
Driftwood Beach Club Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.