We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Malindi Beach

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Malindi Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diamonds Malindi Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Malindi
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were in this hotel in October 2006 and it was perfect . Now we returned here and we were disappointed. It is not worth five stars anymore. The building is not maintained, everything need to be painted and refreshed. Before, the fence in the restaurant was cleaned every day, now it is dirty and rusty. Toilets at the restaurant are old and the crane of the sink is leaking, so you have wet feet after a visit.
But the staff is still fantastic and they do everything to please you. Also the food was good. Many of the staff from 2006 is now in the Dream of Africa and after two nights we moved over there to continue our fantastic holiday

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Indian Raj meets North Africa, is the general architectural feel of the Planhotel Malindi Beach, the only problem being, they met in the 1950’s and that is where the hotel has stayed ever since. Maintenance appears to have been carried out on a minuscule budget; repairs are superficial, temporary, and botched. No matter how many layers of ‘white-wash’ are plastered on the walls and ceiling,s will disguise the fact that this hotel is in desperate need of a major refit.
The hotel appeared to cater for a particular demographic; the retired and very elderly, so there was little atmosphere. Would not advise this hotel for anyone young and/or with children.
Our ‘Beach View’ room was large & airy with a wonderful view across the hotel pools, gardens, beach and Indian Ocean. But within the first hour after arrival we had to have the bathroom cleaned, fridge, TV, and Satellite receiver all replaced. The bedding and pillows smelt stale, as if the room had not been used in a while. All repairs/cleaning was conducted eagerly by the staff, but begrudgingly by the on-duty receptionist (Ester).
The food is best described as average with a heavy Indian influence, and a major reliance on Coriander. The food was plentiful; with 5 course meals served at both lunch & diner, unfortunately when the dining room was busy, food was often served cold. No matter, because Robert the always joyful barman kept your glassful with your favourite tipple.
The beach in front of the hotel was also a bit of disappointment, covered in tonnes of rotting seaweed, in places you could barely see the white sand. When not dodging the piles of seaweed you were being harassed every 10 metres by what the hotel referred to as the “Beach Boys”, trying to sell you and endless list of goods and services. Unfortunately their activities despite the hotels warning were being encouraged by the mass of Italian tourists, who seem to dominate this stretch of beach.
A very disappointing end to a wonderful safari holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Excellent staff! The food here is great. It is an all-inclusive resort. At the Malindi Beach Resort this it done al-la-carte. So no long queues for some buffet. The pasta's are really great.
Only 20 rooms, so a relaxed, familiair atmosphere. A few of the rooms have sea views, and are not very much more expensive.
If needed you can go to neigboring resorts for diner etc. But that is not recommended. These are really crowded places, with loud italians.

A two day safari to Tsavo is a great break. The local golf course is nice to play.

The only annoying thing are the beachboys, and the ignorant tourists that are to scared to go out of the resort (Malindi is a great place to visit) and pay a beachboy 20 EUR for a trip in a Tuk Tuk, because the beachboy tells them that it is to dangerous to go on the street and stop a tuktuk yourselves!! :Let me tell you all, getting out of your resort in Malindi is no problem!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

three day safari and week at Malindi Beach, perfect combination

Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malindi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Me & my coworkers stay there for business, & we love it. African Night buffet is to DIE for. I could eat that food every day from here on out. The place is nice & quiet, the staff is helpful, and the managers go way out of their way to help you out if you need it. The internet works, the safes work, the doors & locks work, the air conditioning works, & the washrooms are nice. The little refridgerator in your room is stocked with all sorts of soda. The best is the coke in glass bottles, made from the original formula. Can't get enough of it. (it's not served like that in my hometown) All food is inclusive, as are the well drinks. The wine is superbe. On a clear night, you can sit in the dining area, and gaze into the Indian ocean while the moon beams its single stripe across the sea, and let the sound of the waves hypnotize you. I do it often, & will sorely miss it when I return home. In fact, I'm dreaming of the gazelle stew, samosas, and chapati bread right now as I write this. Overall this is a nice, quiet hotel to relax in, and I love doing just that. Relaxing, and doing a whole lot of nothing. Which is exactly what I plan on doing, my next trip there. I can't wait :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Pathetic expierence, instaed of a holiday we actually had a night mare. we have never had such an experience in our life. It was THE WORST. to all you people out there there thinking of a hoilday trust me the PLAN hotels should the you last option its that bad.

We had a very terrieble holiday. honestly its not worth going there.
Like my husband puts it. " If you are very happy in life and are very stress free travel with Kenya Airways and stay at Plan Hotel to experience the streess"

The cashier there doesn't know the difference between a debit card and a credit card, how do you like that!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

In January 2007 we stayed at Malindi Beach and wrote a very favourable Review on Trip Advisor. We intended to return in January 2008 but were cancelled because of the political situation. It was with some trepidation we returned in January this year but we need not have worried - this is still a heavenly, small, exclusive hotel. We spent 14 wonderful days being pampered by the lovely hotel staff, with a 2 day break in the middle for a flight to the Masaii Mara and a 1-night stay at the Masai Mara Safari Camp which is a 5-star hotel/camp with added safari. The hotel is much as we remembered except that the bathrooms have been upgraded. Whilst we were there garden extensions were being carried out as the owner of Plan Hotel had purchased the private house next door which had a wonderful garden full of mature tropical plants and by the next time we go the gardens will have doubled in size and the beach area in the front also doubling. We spoke to the owner during our visit and he assured us that it was his intention to keep the colonial atmosphere of Malindi Beach.
You will note "the next time we go" as assuredly we will be going again next January. I am already counting the weeks.
Anyone looking for peace and quiet in a small, exclusive, setting, right on the beach, with no "entertainment" other then a couple of evenings of lovely background music provided by a couple of local entertainers, with an extensive a la carte menu (5 course lunches and 5 course dinners) and having coffee under an African evening sky then we would recommend Malindi Beach..

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Malindi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Malindi Beach

Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Malindi Beach 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Diamonds Malindi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Malindi Beach Hotel Malindi
Diamonds Malindi Beach Kenya, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Malindi Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.