We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pukka Safari & Pukka Hotel - Idyllic Holiday in January” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Malindi Beach

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Malindi Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com Asiatravel.com
Diamonds Malindi Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Malindi
Portsmouth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pukka Safari & Pukka Hotel - Idyllic Holiday in January”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

We booked a 4-day safari through Travel Agent from Tsavo East to West, you can book when you arrive through Kuoni Rep, (better choice & good advice), Masai Mara is probably the best Safari at that time of year, followed by 7 days back at the Malindi Beach Hotel. The entire 2 weeks were very tranquil & hot. Excellent food & wine, Wycliffe and his team are superb. Hotel is highly recommended. Lovely Jubbly all round.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

I can't believe that anyone could recommend this hotel. The rooms were run down and filthy. I asked for the room to be cleaned on several occasions but it would appear that the staff at this particular hotel do not know how to clean a room or a bathroom, at one stage I suggested the use of bleach or indeed any other kind of cleaning agent and our room boy appeared at the door with a bottle of half used perfume, obviously left by some previous guest, and suggested we spray it in the bathroom!
Yes the food appeared to be of a high standard, however, it became a bit of a joke between guests the number of times one half of a couple was left sitting alone at the dining table whilst the other ran very speedily to the bathroom. Most of our fellow guests had dodgy tummies of some description, some quite severe.
We have stayed in a number of hotels in Africa and this was definately the worst. Please take heed!

  • Liked — Leaving it to go home
  • Disliked — The poor standards of cleanliness and the holes in the raggy towels
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

After a week on a safari, spending two weeks by the beach at this fantastic hotel was truly the way to complete our honeymoon. This hotel is small and initimate, and the standard of service is out of this world. It is an all-inclusive hotel, but without any of the more tacky bits that that can entail. It is lovely.

We arrived at about 10pm and were met with drinks in reception and some sandwices in our room. The grounds were lovely and the rooms also are really nice. Some of the other reviews on here have criticised the rooms, but I think they are entirely in keeping with the rest of the place.

The restaurant and bar are great. It is not a buffet, but instead each meal was a 5-course a la carte affair. However, each course is relatively light which means that you don't eat too much at all. A typical meal is a choice of salads, a soup like consomme, a pasta dish, a meat or fish dish and then a pudding. The service is incredibly friendly, and everything is brought to your table (ie, you don't need to go the bar for drinks etc). Each evening a cocktail is also brought to your room which is kind of lovely.

All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Even the laundry is all part of the all inclusive package which was great after the dust and dirt of the safari.

The beach is lovely for a walk. There are some beach boys around, but they generally just leave you alone if you are not interested. To be fair to them, there seemed to be enough tourists (normally Italians) who were interested in what they were selling/offering. It seems the authorities have clamped down to stop the hassling so that is welcome.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough. It would seem to be impossible to have a bad time there and everyone we spoke to at the hotel thought equally well of it. Go if you get the chance! The great news for us is that we can go back time and time again for our anniversaries....

  • Liked — The food and service
  • Disliked — It was all perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — The garden view rooms are probably the best as they are very very quiet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin county
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

We booked our safari trip through Kuoni: fantastic 8 day safari in Tanzania (with a lot of travelling) and 5 days to recover/kick back at the Malindi Beach Hotel. The trip up from Mombasa along that potholed highway was not exactly fun, but the hotel made up for it.

Fantastic meals and service.!! (especial thanks to Moses and Timothy who helped make our stay really memorable). You can pretty much eat all the food here without fear of an upset tummy!!Room was great , and clean and the hot showers worked (unlike some of the SOPA lodge hotels). Oh, and an added plus under the all inclusive plan all your laundry is done for free.

My wife and I brought our 10 year old son with us. He gots lots of attention from the staff and had great fun in the pool & sea and digging in the sand. The facilities here are not geared toward kids, but no matter, you can pop next door to participate in the activities there.

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel!!

PS I can recommend the snorkeling triop at the marine reserve (bring an underwater camera!), but the croc farm is so-so , and they have increased their prices to a touristy $10 per head!

  • Liked — clean, good food, great service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster,UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed at the Malindi Beach Hotel for 8 nights in mid April following a stopover in Nairobi and an 8 day safari. If one thing stands out about this hotel it is the standard of service... it is first class! The guest rooms are in need of refurbishment but more than adequate for a beach holiday. We were particularly impressed by the warm towels, cocktails, fruit and sandwiches that were offered on our arrival at 10pm, following a tiring journey from the Masai Mara via Nairobi and Mombasa.

During our stay there were a maximum of 16 guests and at one point there were only 6 of us in residence! All meals are "silver service" and the standard of the food is magnificent with a choice offered at all courses. The chefs specialise in local seafood and occasional european specialities. A special touch, as one reviewer has already mentioned, is the delivery of pre dinner cocktails to your room each evening. The option to use the facilities of the adjoining hotels was particularly welcome as the Malindi Beach Hotel is quite small and with few guests a kind of claustraphobia can set in! The personal attention you receive from the staff is unbelievable.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing break, in a beautiful setting with personal attention and first class service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, England
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2006

We were a little concerned when the tour representive at Mombasa airport said that he felt a "security man" would be advisable for our transfer to Malindi as it was now dark. The 2 hour transfer journey was also very tedious and tiring, particulary as we had left the Masai Mara in the morning, driven to Nairobi to pick up large suitcases and flown to Mombasa (direct flights to Malindi are not very frequent).
Arriving at the Coconut village, there was no "wow factor" in the reception area which is large and featureless (apart from a c1930 Chevrolet tourer). The walk to the accommodation again did not excite us as the porter chose to go along the back of the buildings. Opening the room revealed a pleasant living area with large bathroom and shower.
Things began to brighten up when we went to the bar/restaurant area for sandwiches (it was now 10:15 pm) - it was not curly edges but personal plates with individually wrapped sandwiches and fruit.
The next morning the "wow factor" hit us, our room was 20 paces from the pool and there was a sandy beach with coconut palms and ample sun beds leading down to the Indian Ocean. From there on things got better, the place was spotless, the service was excellent and the food seemed to get better - particulary the fish (barracuda, red snapper, parrot fish and grouper).
After our mediocre initial impressions we decided that we could easily spend the following few days chilling out after our safari and this really was the wonderful place that we had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

When we arrived at the hotel we were very disappointed. The first impression wasn't very inviting. The rooms were definitely NOT first class standard. The previous week we had been on safari and stayed in the Serena Hotels which were of first class standard so were expecting the rooms here to be of equal standard.

The thing that makes this hotel though is the fantastic food each day, friendly staff, exclusiveness and relaxed feel. You can also get your clothes cleaned free of charge and there is a small minibar which is free of charge. Also each evening while getting ready around 7ish the waiter comes round and knocks on your door and gives you a cocktail and some nibbles. This I think is what makes it a first class resort and you forget the rooms are not that the great.

I liked the fact that we could use the facilities in Coconut Beach and Tropical Beach but they couldn't come into our grounds. We didn't use the facilities in Tropical Beach just went for a walk round. I had a massage in Coconut Beach and it was fantastic. You could hear the waves splashing on the beach. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamonds Malindi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Malindi Beach

Also Known As:
Diamonds Malindi Beach Hotel
Diamonds Malindi Beach Hotel Malindi
Diamonds Malindi Beach Kenya, Africa
Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Malindi Beach 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Diamonds Malindi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Malindi Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.