We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room with separate entrance and big terrace was fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Malindi Beach

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Malindi Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diamonds Malindi Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Malindi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The room with separate entrance and big terrace was fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed there in 2012. The room was so tastefully decorated and the terrace was big and comfortable. The room - full of light!!! Stylish, traditional and beautiful. It had a separate entrance and the Sea view! You could live on that terrace- it was so beautiful! Food in the hotel was quite good. Normally never go for all inclusive but this hotel provided great service and quite good food. We were very isolated from their bigger neighbour branch ( lower level hotel) and it felt quite specious area with excellent service. We went to see a show at the neighbour branch and it felt completely different atmosphere- much less luxurious with difference clientele.
The beach though was full of locals. But security was working hard not to harass the guests.
In overall, this hotel was very nice to spend 4-5 days.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view room with separate entrance. Best view and great terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Perhaps the biggest indicator of how things have changed at this great location, is the fact that after being co-joined with its nearest neighbour, one now has to pay a deposit of 24$ for the towels one uses on the beach, because of the type of clientele one is now expected to mingle with. The neighbouring hotel now caters for Eastern Europeans whose culinary interests are about as bland as Russian skin in March. The neighbouring hotel on the other side attracts the sort of clientele who find dressing up in green and red wigs to crush balloons against each other's bodies urged on by some excessively amplified italian 'animator' whose microphone control is about as subtle as a drunk projectile puking in the wee hours....that somehow the guests find such noise and idiocy more attractive than the buttery full moon rising over the Indian Ocean tells you all you need to know about the sort of company one is now forced to keep by association when one now goes to 'Coconut' as the new mongrel hotel is now known. The interest in Africa and the Africans from hotels on both flanks of the Ex- Diamonds Malindi Beach Hotel is practically nil and charming Kenyans reduced to serving crate loads of cheap liquor to people who are merely escaping the greyness of their drab homes rather than coming to Africa for any interaction other than with drinks glasses. The rooms are as ever fantastic, the service (despite seeing the same salad combination for eight days on end) friendly, charming and helpful. But one has the feeling that despite being 'deluxe' the executive management would prefer the margins of 'one size fits all' and are engineering the demise of a real jewel of a hotel, a fantastic example of Kenyan beach style and carvings.

This is a real pity and a massive failure of vision, marketing and knowledge of one's existing market, no USP has been identified, and the core market seems to have been judged as superfluous. As a repeat guest I have been alienated from the present incarnation of this place and hope that the numerous complaints heard from other repeat guests do not go unheeded. One doesn't hold one's breath.

Room Tip: Any sea view room especially room 21 is fantastic....only slightly uncomfortable when the prat in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I'm not a favourite of the all-inclusive formula. This hotel however offers a fantastic combination of nice (not luxurious) rooms, very good food (combinition Italian-African) and an extremely friendly staff. I'll go back for sure !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgique
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located next to 3 other hotels from same chain. Diamonds malindi is a very authentic and relaxing hotel with only 23 rooms, thus we are max. 46 people. We were only 20 in the hotel so we were ver familiar with each other.
Rooms are clean, the cleaning staff comes twice a day to do the bed and prepare the room for the night. You have a bad set for shower, etc.
About breakfast: there is a buffet, a simple one with local fruits, biscuits, local bread. You also have the choice between fresh cooked eggs and pancakes.
Lunch: you will get a menu where you can choose between 2 soups, 2 type of pasta/rice, 2 main dishes with fish or meat, and a salad bar and dessert bar.
Dinner: same as lunch.
The best with this hotel is that if you need to stay relax, you stay in diamonds, if you need entertainement, you go to coconut or tropical (2 next doors hotels) and then you have the spa at dreams of africa. So you can have dinner in different hotels and take part of the hotels entertainment.
About safari: we chose a 1 day safari, we left the hotel at 4 am and we came back at 5 pm! It was a fabulous experience and we saw a lot of animals except the lion, which is difficult to see because they are only 250 in 13000 square km. So thomas cook will try to sell you 2 days safari at 250-320 usd whereas we pay 115€ and we saw everything (we chose excursions with alex from the hotel). to summarize, great hotel and great staff as they personalize your meal if requested, make you feel special if you go to them. They seem cold at the beginning, but are very funny and friendly! Thank you diamonds malindi staff, thank you kenya for this unforgetable holidays

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Having promised ourselves never to book an all inclusive hotel again, we were a bit apprehensive. This hotel is the best all inclusive we´ve ever stayed in. It is not a modern hotel but old style. It is clean and has fantastic staff who pamper you. Food is great with some buffets but mainly table d´hôte. It is a quiet hotel which was great for us, but as there are four hotels in a row owned by the same company, you can use the sports facilities & SPA at the other hotels so no annoying animation team unless you want to. It is a fair drive from Mombasa airport but well worth it when you arrive. Malindi Beach hotel is supposed to be the next best of the four hotels & Dream of Africa the best, but we found Malindi Beach much more charming. We travelled with our two teenage daughters and they agree too. We like to go to different places but will do our best to come back to Malindi Beach again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

At Tropical's you leave the main road and enter a bumpy sideway which brings you to the front door of the Malindi Beach Club, which at the time of booking was advertised as the hotel Diamonds Malindi Beach. The absence of the "diamonds" and the not very inviting front gate, make you expect the worst. An old stone path leads to the reception where a warm welcome awaits you. After the usual formalities, you're led to your room. Rooms ar situated in Swahili-style houses, are clean and spacious! Though very simple: white walls and furniture that looks like it can use a new coat of paint. Nevertheless, it has something! The bathroom is clean. The only negative bit here is that the warm water never got really warm.
The minibar, included, keeps your drinks cool. The TV in the room only had one channel, but who goes on vacation to watch TV? There is also a mosquito net.
Food at the Malindi Beach Club is fine. The buffet is meant for starters & dessers. To give you the feeling of choice, the "menu" gives you the opportunity to make a choice between two, sometimes three courses.
The sunbeds are situated on some kind of "beach": the sand, the palms and in front of you the ocean. You can imagine yourself at the beach without actually being on the real beach. Having beach boys staring the whole day at you of course isn't really great, but you learn to simply neglect them.
Setbacks? As it had been raining rather heavily, the room was rather damp and the dampness never really got away, not even after a few days. Service seemed a bit slow but that might be a personal feeling. As the hotel is Italian owned, especially the food is a bit too Italian oriented, but again, that might be a personal feeling. There seemed to be a problem to keep the food warm though as it usually arrived at the table in a state nearing being cold.
Conclusion: if looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy silence and rest, Malindi Beach Club surely will be to your liking. The Swahili touch is nice, but unfortunately, the only diamonds I found where on the towels, which were replaced twice a day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollviken, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Adorable place, very nice rooms, great service...
Rooms were nice, ocean view balcony was amazing.
Food was very nice, service during the meals and in the beach bar is very friendly and smiled.
Pools are clean (there are 2, plus you can use one in Coconut that is beside).

My only dislike was ocean that was not so clean (some grass), and TOO MANY beach boys. You can not even take a quiet walk.
But then again, I can not blame hotel for that. During your time in hotel, you are safe.

Overall, I very much liked my stay there, and I believe I will be back one day.

:)

Room Tip: Ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamonds Malindi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Malindi Beach

Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Malindi Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Diamonds Malindi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Malindi Beach Hotel Malindi
Diamonds Malindi Beach Kenya, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Malindi Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.