We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Malindi Beach

Save Saved
You added Diamonds Malindi Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Diamonds Malindi Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Malindi
Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Small and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

At Tropical's you leave the main road and enter a bumpy sideway which brings you to the front door of the Malindi Beach Club, which at the time of booking was advertised as the hotel Diamonds Malindi Beach. The absence of the "diamonds" and the not very inviting front gate, make you expect the worst. An old stone path leads to the reception where a warm welcome awaits you. After the usual formalities, you're led to your room. Rooms ar situated in Swahili-style houses, are clean and spacious! Though very simple: white walls and furniture that looks like it can use a new coat of paint. Nevertheless, it has something! The bathroom is clean. The only negative bit here is that the warm water never got really warm.
The minibar, included, keeps your drinks cool. The TV in the room only had one channel, but who goes on vacation to watch TV? There is also a mosquito net.
Food at the Malindi Beach Club is fine. The buffet is meant for starters & dessers. To give you the feeling of choice, the "menu" gives you the opportunity to make a choice between two, sometimes three courses.
The sunbeds are situated on some kind of "beach": the sand, the palms and in front of you the ocean. You can imagine yourself at the beach without actually being on the real beach. Having beach boys staring the whole day at you of course isn't really great, but you learn to simply neglect them.
Setbacks? As it had been raining rather heavily, the room was rather damp and the dampness never really got away, not even after a few days. Service seemed a bit slow but that might be a personal feeling. As the hotel is Italian owned, especially the food is a bit too Italian oriented, but again, that might be a personal feeling. There seemed to be a problem to keep the food warm though as it usually arrived at the table in a state nearing being cold.
Conclusion: if looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy silence and rest, Malindi Beach Club surely will be to your liking. The Swahili touch is nice, but unfortunately, the only diamonds I found where on the towels, which were replaced twice a day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pancevo, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Adorable place, very nice rooms, great service...
Rooms were nice, ocean view balcony was amazing.
Food was very nice, service during the meals and in the beach bar is very friendly and smiled.
Pools are clean (there are 2, plus you can use one in Coconut that is beside).

My only dislike was ocean that was not so clean (some grass), and TOO MANY beach boys. You can not even take a quiet walk.
But then again, I can not blame hotel for that. During your time in hotel, you are safe.

Overall, I very much liked my stay there, and I believe I will be back one day.

:)

Room Tip: Ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel was quite nice but the beach wasn't great as there is so much seaweed. The food was pretty good but at times it felt a little like being at camp the way its set up. It's not very pricey and it's worth what you pay. Overall enjoyed it but wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room or you'll hear people stomping around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband-to-be and I had a pre-honeymoon at the Malindi Beach 17 Feb - 3 March and we can't wait to go back! Everything about it was absolutely perfect. I'm astonished by some of the derogatory reviews. This is not my first experience of 5 star hotels, and we're both discerning travellers, but really - I don't know what some folk expect... Anyway, the hotel is small, peaceful, well-maintained, with pretty gardens, a clean and very pleasant pool, and a delightful aspect facing the ocean. We stayed the entire two weeks here, unlike others who combined it with a safari, so we were in a good position to judge the food and entertainment. The food is not at all repetitive - it is very tempting. Like much of this part of Kenya, the Italian influence is evident, in the cuisine, and the fact most of the staff speak Italian fluently - as well as English and often French. We were one of only three English couples in that fornight but didn't feel neglected. The staff are absolutely wonderful, so friendly and attentive and genuine. Each couple has the same table for meals, which was somehow reassuring, and all tables look out towards the ocean. The hotel is scrupulously clean, and quite the nicest guest bathroom near the bar that I've ever come across. The all-inclusive is generous and high quality, but we opted for the "Ocean Treasure" dinner which is lobster etc, and were treated like royalty - it felt like our wedding (which actually took place 10 days later, complete with awesome tan!) The only trip we did was a trip on a Dow at sunset, which we'd thoroughly recommend - it was a perfect highlight. The only thing we didn't entirely enjoy was the African night, although the dancers were impressive, but we thought their main aim was to sell their handicrafts (many of which were stored in M&S carrier bags - such a giggle!) We led the charge back to the bar, although it was a wonderful opportunity for people-watching. This hotel is part of a group of 3, all next to each other - I think it's meant to be the mid-range one in terms of quality, and certainly the karaoke at the "cheap" one was indescribably funny (who knew that not all Italians sing like Pavarotti?), but we went for a drink at Dream of Africa and weren't really that impressed - it's too big and impersonal, but if that's your thing, then go for it. I agree with the reviewer that Malindi Beach is not a hotel for kids, but if you're not traveling with any, then Whoopee! - you probably won't have to tolerate other people's cos they'll all be at the hotel next door. NB we've got 6, but we take them to villas so they don't annoy other people ;-)

Room Tip: Book a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel, operated on an all inclusive basis, is excellent value for money. The public areas are beautifully decorated and create an unique afri-arab-chic atmosphere. It is the high quality, friendly service that makes this hotel special. The location is fantastic. It is one of the only hotels on Malindi beach that has a pool so close to the beach. The five course meals are fantastic. Another bonus is that you may use the facilities of the neighbouring Coconut and Tropical beach resorts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were in this hotel in October 2006 and it was perfect . Now we returned here and we were disappointed. It is not worth five stars anymore. The building is not maintained, everything need to be painted and refreshed. Before, the fence in the restaurant was cleaned every day, now it is dirty and rusty. Toilets at the restaurant are old and the crane of the sink is leaking, so you have wet feet after a visit.
But the staff is still fantastic and they do everything to please you. Also the food was good. Many of the staff from 2006 is now in the Dream of Africa and after two nights we moved over there to continue our fantastic holiday

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Indian Raj meets North Africa, is the general architectural feel of the Planhotel Malindi Beach, the only problem being, they met in the 1950’s and that is where the hotel has stayed ever since. Maintenance appears to have been carried out on a minuscule budget; repairs are superficial, temporary, and botched. No matter how many layers of ‘white-wash’ are plastered on the walls and ceiling,s will disguise the fact that this hotel is in desperate need of a major refit.
The hotel appeared to cater for a particular demographic; the retired and very elderly, so there was little atmosphere. Would not advise this hotel for anyone young and/or with children.
Our ‘Beach View’ room was large & airy with a wonderful view across the hotel pools, gardens, beach and Indian Ocean. But within the first hour after arrival we had to have the bathroom cleaned, fridge, TV, and Satellite receiver all replaced. The bedding and pillows smelt stale, as if the room had not been used in a while. All repairs/cleaning was conducted eagerly by the staff, but begrudgingly by the on-duty receptionist (Ester).
The food is best described as average with a heavy Indian influence, and a major reliance on Coriander. The food was plentiful; with 5 course meals served at both lunch & diner, unfortunately when the dining room was busy, food was often served cold. No matter, because Robert the always joyful barman kept your glassful with your favourite tipple.
The beach in front of the hotel was also a bit of disappointment, covered in tonnes of rotting seaweed, in places you could barely see the white sand. When not dodging the piles of seaweed you were being harassed every 10 metres by what the hotel referred to as the “Beach Boys”, trying to sell you and endless list of goods and services. Unfortunately their activities despite the hotels warning were being encouraged by the mass of Italian tourists, who seem to dominate this stretch of beach.
A very disappointing end to a wonderful safari holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamonds Malindi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Malindi Beach

Also Known As:
Diamonds Malindi Beach Hotel
Diamonds Malindi Beach Hotel Malindi
Diamonds Malindi Beach Kenya, Africa
Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Malindi Beach)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Malindi Beach 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Diamonds Malindi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Malindi Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.