We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scorpio Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Scorpio Villas to your Saves list
Scorpio Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mnarani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Malindi
Nairobi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Service was excellent, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The hotel looks great with the swimming pool running through most of the areas. Rooms were ok. I like the areas around the swimming pool where one can just relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    94
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
154
28
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Scorpio and loved every moment of our vacation. The villas are beautiful and the staff are extremely friendly and attentive. They have 4 swimming pools and a private beach which means you can rest and take a walk without being bothered by anybody. We left feeling relaxed and are definitely going to be back for more!

Room Tip: Room towards the beach are serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on full board but was disappointed. The lunch served was good but was very disappointed that the dinner served was the same as the lunch,it was a shock since trip advisor has given the hotel 41/2 star.They did not have soap in the bathroom and we were asked to use the shower gel as soap.We had to change to half board since we refused to eat the same food for lunch and dinner. The dip pool in our honeymoon suite was not very clean and nobody came to clean it on both days.Otherwise the trip to scorpio was good.In total we were a family of 5 and one child.Two rooms were booked.My wife and I were celebrating 34 years wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: It is better to choose rooms which are near to the first pool since the dinning area is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCORPIOVILLASKENYA, Manager at Scorpio Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
In almost 10 years is the first time that i have decide to answer to one review. I have take this decision because what i have read is unbelievable, i don't know if i must use you or this to name this guest, he leave at the reception a letter with a very good comment on the food service regarding our hotel . I'm discoraged because is not possible to attached in this comment the letter that i'm talking about. But i also know that the letter was delivery at the reception before that i refuse to give them another more discount on the rates, this is the result. Blackmail?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've just finished a great 5 night stay at Scorpio with 2 friends. For the price, it is an excellent place to stay. Beautiful gardens throughout the hotel with 4 swimming pools and the lighting and thatched roofs give a lovely atmosphere especially in the evenings. The bar staff are great and very attentive. The rooms are spacious and nearly all have an outside area with sofas to chill out on. The swimming pool areas are really well kept, clean, always a pool chap to give you a towel. The private beach area is great and there is a lovely beach bar, however one down side is that at the moment it's closing at 6pm or even before which is a shame.

The dinner and entertainment are a let down. The dinner is over-priced, the food is not good and unfortunately the 2 piece entertainment of keyboard and singer are truly dreadful. We stayed in for dinner one night and really regretted it. However, the breakfast is excellent with a great selection and the pancakes are especially tasty.

The bar area is lit up beautifully in the evening and is a lovely place to have a couple of pre-dinner drinks. I would suggest going out for dinner, but that is easy as it's a quick tuk tuk down the road to Old Man and the Sea or our favourite, I Love Pizza.

Overall an excellent value for money stay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, near the best pool of the four and close to the beach and reception as its in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night while at the Kenya coast for work. It was a mixed experience so I couldn't decide whether to give it 3 or 4 stars. Finally went with 4 stars because it really was a good value for the price! The hotel grounds are quite lovely with tropical plants and several pools scattered throughout. It's located right on the beach near the Vasco da Gama pillar historic landmark. Overall, a gorgeous location. Rooms are adequate, but not luxurious. They have both AC and an overhead fan. You will need the AC and mosquito net at night as there are many mosquitoes. Bathrooms need upgrading. Dining room is nice and the food is an adequate buffet with many options.

However, when we arrived to check in, the man at the reception desk was less than welcoming. He could not find our reservation and despite it being low season and half empty, he acted like it was a huge favor to find us a room. They would not accept credit cards and could not give us breakfast earlier than 8:00 a.m. We had to leave before that time and other guests were having the same issue. We finally got breakfast resolved but it was a headache and took a lot of negotiating. Additionally, there was no soap in my bathroom and I again had to negotiate with the same grumpy man at reception for a small bar of soap. (He had a cabinet full of soap!) Dinner did not start until 8:00 p.m. but at 8:10, it was still not open. I finally argued my way in and to a table. By 9:30 I was told they were closing down and asked to finish my meal. Seems strange for a place run by Italians but maybe this was due to it being to low season.

Overall, it is a nice location for a very good price. While the service was a bit lacking, I would not hesitate to stay here again for the price. However, I would take advantage of one of the other many options on the coast if looking for luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was at scorpio for honeymoon from 7th to 12th May 2013. The experience was awesome. The food was great.The Music, What a wonderful band they have, the songstress has such a wonderful voice. We were booked for the standard rooms but on arrival we were upgraded to the "Malaika" room no 46. The one room that has a swimming pool inside it. the place was so nice we actually extended for a night, and that without hassle. I and wife appreciate Anderson for his help in carrying and moving our bags, Alice, Pendo and Rono for the assistance whenever we needed anything for our stay. You guys made our stay very comfortable. Because of the hotels location, we were able to visit Vasco Da gamma pillar, Geda ruins, Hell's Kitchen, Mida creek, The Falconry, Malindi Museum and Jetty, thanks to James the security officer who pointed us in the right direction and was ever willing to find out daily how we were doing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A week in December on the seaside of warm Indian Ocean. Mmmmm... Was good. Bungalows are lovely, clean , with AC and ceiling fans.Garden and swimming pools - lovely. Wifi all over the place. Service is x-friendly, witty, helpful,smiling. - thank you guys , ! Drawbacks: just two: some problems with availability of "all inclusive" drinks at one bar in the evening. And no credit cards accepted. Otherwise - paradise. Not for those loving night life, though. Book readers, lovers, drink sippers - this is your cup of tea. Food was abundant, great mix of sefood-indian-italian-grill. Excursions? Use Geoffrey at the beach entrance for safari - a must and awesome experience,Go 2-day Tsavo East either Geoff or with Dickson, boy these guys know it all. And talk to them. Try big game fishing too (eg Lady Nana) do not hesitate to take smallboat for two instead of a big one. They get sailfish equally often :) Hotel shops: probably best offers in town, ask the seller for anything you want and they get it for you next day. Shopping was fun,too. Last but not least : would I go back there ? O yeah, any minute. And I will. For delicious lamb somosas, griled calamari and chcnce to catch a marlin .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scorpio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpio Villas

Address: Mnarani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#5 Family Hotel in Malindi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scorpio Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scorpio Villas is an attractive Small Resort where guests stay in Lamu-style, thatched cottages, furnished with hand-carved furniture including a large four poster bed. Every cottage has a large, shady terrace and the dining waiter will serve breakfast here every morning (on your request, or you may wish to dine in the restaurant). The villa accommodation is interspersed with four swimming pools around which you'll find sun beds and chairs. It is only 50 metres, along a path, to the white sands, private Beach With Umbrella & Sunbeds. Only 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Malindi. This hotel is conveniently situated and is popular with repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Scorpio Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpio Villas Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Resort Malindi
Scorpio Villas Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scorpio Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.