We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Man and the Sea

Old Man and the Sea
Mama Ngina Rd, Old Town, Malindi, Kenya
31106
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
East Midlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This has to be one of the two or three best restaurants in Malindi. The seafood is superb, nothing pretentious just simply and beautifully cooked. We went here two nights, both times there were only a couple of other people in the restaurant besides ourselves. Of course then the service was great. The food is considered to be on the expensive side by Malindi standards, but all I know is we can't afford to eat lobster at home in England - not ever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    59
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Enjoyed our dinner. Good location, good decor. However, my first choice on the menu wasn't available. Very quiet for a Sunday night.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A sea food paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although the service was slow, the food was ecelent, só i recomend strongly this smalll restaurante.
The staff very kind and professional.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great sea food and service. a lot of other restaurants on the same street but nonetheless the attention to patrons and to the food was absolute. pleasant surprise awaits you in this little hidden gem of a restsurant

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sea food heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A little quaint unpretentious restaurant in Malindi. We have been 3 times and every time the meal has been quite extraordinary. A real must to experience it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Man and the Sea also viewed

Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 
Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 

Been to Old Man and the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Man and the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.