We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge, beautiful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tawi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboseli Eco-system
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tawi Lodge
Save
You added Tawi Lodge to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Bush Street | P.O. Box 1206, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lodge, beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Tawi for 2 nights in November 2012 and it was amazing. The lodge is beautifully built and very tastefully decorated. Each room is located in a banda style building with a large bedroom and huge bathroom with a seperate bath and big rainshower. From each room you have a clear, undisturbed view of Mt Kili. The water hole in front of the main dining area and swimming pool is frequently visited by elephants. The staff are friendly and very helpfull, we had a baby and a 2 year old boy with us, which was no problem at all. The staff where very accomodating when we had special requests and kept an eye out on the kids when necessary. They even posted one of the guards outside our room in the evening so that we could enjoy our dinner and would be alerted when one of the kids woke up.

For Nairobians, the place is run by Ron, the former chef of Brew Bistro, so you can imagine that the food was excellent. From the lodge it is a 10-15 minute drive to the gate of the park, through the private conservancy of the lodge. This really is one of the best lodges in Kenya.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mudjimba, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well we were totally in awe of this property. It is soooo much better in real life than the photos give it credit for. Just loved it and the views over Kilimanjaro with the elephants and other wildlife drinking from the wateringhole. We were swimming in the pool and watching the elephants only metres away. George our driver was outstanding, what a great trekker, he made our visit even that much more special, A big thankyou George and WELL DONE!

Room Tip: Ask to have George as your driver!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed there in August 2012--it is absolutely charming. The cottages are so wonderful with enclosed showers and bathroom--you just have one step down to the tiled services with two sinks and lots of space.... The bed area is great although the bed is a bit hard if you are not used to that type of feeling. Still I loved it--it has electric lights where you sleep, bath, and in the main lodge where you dine or hang out. (some lodges do not)

Ron, the manager is charming and interested in pleasing the guests. George (Ambe) our guide and driver was probably the best guide we've ever had. He goes the distance and then some. He anticipates your needs, is a great spotter--always gets a great position quickly where the animals are so you can get the best photos. He shows an amazing attention to detail -- so unusual in this day and age. I can't say enough about him.

Then only thing that could use improvement is the food, although both lunches we had--the grilled NIle Perch the first day and the spinach ravioli the second day was great--the dinners were not that good. The chef needs a bit more excellent meals that are fresh and not too salty or spicy. We needed to say "No salt" to most of the food throughout Africa--where the custom of using A LOT of salt is prevalent.

The BBQ was ok, but if there are vegetarians at the lodge--it is probably not a great idea to make the pasta with eat--the more vegetarian side dishes everyone can eat--the better. The same with soup--if you are making a tomato soup--why not use vegetable broth base instead of meat so everyone can have the same soup? It's silly to have to make a second soup for a few people...just a bit of home economics and common sense. I asked for more lettuce at the BBQ--many of the sides were empty bowls--and it took fifteen minutes to get some more. I think food should be a bit more plentiful on a buffet and sit down dinners should have a few choices in case someone does not care for the menu.

The staff is excellent--they make sure you get what you need and have wonderful personalities.

We had a great time --if they step up to increase variety and amount of food on their buffets and add some more meals with fresh, healthy non-salty choices for dinner--this place would be the number one choice in Amboseli! And I think it will happen, because they really care about the guests!

The grounds are lovely and the pool with lounges, is next to a fence where the other side is a watering hole so you get to see many animals up close as they drink--giraffes, zebras..etc....

And from your hut, by the pool, or eating in the dining area you get a wonderful view of Mt. Kilimanjaro--nice!

This camp is small, personal and wonderful!

Don't miss the opportunity to experience this place.....and Amboseli, before going on to the Mara.

Room Tip: All of the huts seem lovely......there aren't many, and they are in a row so I'm sure it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Located just outside the park. Fantastic place. You will enjoy a kilimanjaro view from your luxury lodge in tastefull African style. Giraffes, elephants and zebras will be seen from the lodge as well. Service is very good and friendly. Food is good. Three out of four in our family is vegetarian, this was not a problem at all. All four of us have eaten very well. We were there with two kids age 5 and 7.
Ron is an excellent host. He and his excellent staff will make you feel special and vey welcome.

Park Amboseli is great, and an unforgettable experience.
Family de Krosse
The Netherlands

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tawi lodge has a great location (outside park on a private concession, you actually don't want to stay in the park since traffic can get too busy) and very helpful staff. Each cottage has amazing views of Kilimanjaro which is a nice touch to already fascinating game drives. The lodge offers high level of comforts, very good guides with open vehicles that make your game drives very different experience from most of the other park visitors and you will soon notice that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

First of all a very nice resort. Exellent staff, wounderfoul cabins. Very butifull sorundings, with the best view to mt. Kilimanjaro. A place to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I visited the Lodge in September on a two-day trip to Amboseli. This was a luxurious, well-run lodge with, as other readers having described, the elephants and other animals present directly in front of the lodge at a watering hole. Rooms were gorgeous, the guide knowledgeable. Dominique, the Swiss manager of the lodge, was very responsive to my emails in advance of my stay. I would strongly recommend a stay here if traveling to Amboseli, which I would recommend (in addition to the Masai Mara).

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tawi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawi Lodge

Address: Bush Street | P.O. Box 1206, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tawi Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Tawi Hotel Amboseli National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tawi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.