We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilima Safari Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kilima Safari Camp to your Saves list
Kilima Safari Camp
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kilima Gate, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Rajkot, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here only for one night, very near to the Amboseli National Park's gate. This place is the best, absolute silence and with clear view of Mount Kilimanjaro (on a clear day), a drinking pound where Gazelle, Elephants often come to drink water and you can watch them very closely.

Camp's are very relaxing, with good service, gentle and great staff, great food. There is also a viewing tower from where you can see the vast area of this Camp's and ever fortunate enough you might spot some animals.

This is by far the best Camp's in Amboseli National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madahotels_11, Manager at Kilima Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Adler

We are glad that you had a fantastic stay experience at Kilima Safari Camp, enjoying several aspects of the Resort especially our great accomodation, excellent food and fantastic services.

Thanks a lot for your review, and looking forward hosting you in the future.

Regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    34
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
59
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I just return from a 12 day safari in Kenya. One of the tented lodges we stayed at was Kilima Safari Camp. The place is gorgeous and the staff very friendly. Our tents were a combination of tent and hotel room. There was a sliding door which locked! (We had keys!) Inside was a real floor, real furniture, two beds, and well appointed bath including a bidet.

It is in a game preserve with lots of animals and photo ops. While not on a game drive, the swimming pool is beautiful.

There is a lot of security present -- so one feels safe from animals.

Something to consider is that electricity and hot water is only available at certain hours. This is most likely not unusual in this area. But it is necessary to "plan" when you wish to shower.

A draw back is the food. Kilima is owned by the Mada chain and, as in their other facitilies, the food left somewhat to be desired. Everything is buffet style. At breakfast and lunch there are a lot of flies and bees. A kindly waiter could be seen scooping out bees that had landed in juices. Dinner was mainly Indian/Asian and barbecue. The best was the barbecued chicken, though my daughter did not like the spices. Also the stir-fry, which had a lot of oil. The desserts were a disappointment.

One evening featured a bush dinner. It was lovely with a roaring fire, surrounded by tables with colorful table clothes and lanterns. under a clear starry sky. Every effort was made to bring special cakes to celebrating guests. However, the main fare was the same buffet set-up as at the camp.

I can't say if there are better options in this area. But apart from the food, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a safari tour with Collette. Of the 3 camps we stayed in this is my favorite as far as the room goes. It is not really a tent - it has sliding doors that are locked with a skeleton key. The room is large and very comfortable. The only drawback was I was not able to get a hot shower. Both mornings the water did not get past tepid. The night before however my husband did get hot water.

The food was okay, this was the last stop on our trip so perhaps it was because the buffet food was getting to be monotonous, but I was not impressed. I struggled to find something I wanted to eat and wound up with salad. However we had dinner in the bush and it was excellent, wish the regular food has been as good.

As other reviewers have said, location was great as it is right near the gate to the park.

The staff was very friendly and attentive.

There is a lookout in the center of the eating area which you can go up and see Kilimanjaro and the surrounding area. We did not swim, but the pool area is gorgeous..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Though I have not tried all of the accomodations at or near the Amboselli game park, from what I have observed the Kilima Safari Camp is one of the best. The so-called tents exceeded most luxury hotel rooms and the location is right at the front gate of the park. The large outdoor dining area is very nice and on a clear day offers a great view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The staff were very friendly and made you feel at home. At night attendants are there with flashlights to help you get to your room safely. The buffet was very good although there is quite a variety which means most people won't like everything, but as there is a good selection you should not leave hungry. There is a pool which no one was using when we were there as it was very cold for Kenya. My only regret is that we did not stay there longer.

Room Tip: If you desire to use the pool you may want to ask for a room near the pool as you may have quite a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a comfortable place, located very close to the entrance of the beautiful Amboseli Park, but beware it is big and operating more like a large hotel than a small camp. The main reservation we had related to the food, which really left much to be desired. On the other hand, the pool was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This camp has many great advantages. Location so close to Kimana Gate is wonderful for early morning game drives and access to the swamps full of elephant. The tents are large and contain everything that you would expect from a decent hotel in a city. And the staff are all helpful, attentive and eager to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: The c loser to the main building and pool the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The "tents" were better than some hotel rooms I have seen. Yes, there may have been a few more bugs and geckos than I'm used to, but as far as camping goes, it was very plush.

The tents are so beautifully decorated and high end. The bathrooms are gorgeous, with sliding doors and double sinks. Great shower.

The buffet meals are delicious and there is a wonderful dining experience. Wifi works quite well, especially for the location.

Nothing can beat the view from the tents, looking up at Kilimanjaro in the distance. Amazing.

Right next to Amboseli, with easy access to the gate.

Room Tip: Rooms that require a longer walk are a bit closer to Kilimanjaro with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilima Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Safari Camp

Address: Kilima Gate, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilima Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Safari Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilima Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.