We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality and a comfortable clean stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentrim Amboseli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amboseli Eco-system
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sentrim Amboseli
Save
You added Sentrim Amboseli to your Saves list
Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great hospitality and a comfortable clean stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good spacious tents with state of the art amenities. I stayed there for 2 nights with my parents and was very impressed by the friendly and very interactive staff in the resort. The people help you and ensure that you have a very comfortable stay. great view of Mt. Kilimanjaro! overall a very good experience,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    107
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
126
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

With a view of Kilimanjaro this camp is very nice. The food was very good and there was a man who would cook you a pizza to taste. The tents were comfy but not elegant as other places were. Well fitted with a kettle and many sockets. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights and were very impressed. The tents were very comfortable and spacious with a verandah at the back where one can spend time watching Kilimanjaro.

The electricity is switched off after 10:30 PM and it gets very dark, good point being you can see a lot many more stars than when you are in the city. For city dwellers the sounds of the night especially crickets and the wind in the bushes is quite unnerving, at least the first night.

Food is fairly good, very limited fares for vegetarian, and Indians with religious issues, be warned, that beef and pork is served at the same buffet table in the restaurant.

It gets chilly at night, so the swimming pool water temperature is not conducive for a swim, for sure, even in the late afternoon.

Kilimanjaro View Point is a place you can spend a few hours with ease. There is a pond nearby where animals come to drink, in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was fantastic. The room/tent was nice and big and airy, and the bathroom clean. It was wonderful waking up to the sounds of Africa, with the birds and zebra in particular. It's in a great location, right near Amboseli National Park, so it doesn't take long to get to the park for game drives. We went to the Mt Kilimanjaro lookout at the camp and there was an elephant hanging out by the pond on the other side of the fence! It was great! The food was fine, not gourmet, but tasty and generous serves. And the pizza was delicious! The pool and gardens are lovely and the staff friendly. We were very satisfied with our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived at Sentrim Amboseli to be shown to our tent which was pretty close to the lobby. As the tent flaps had been closed, it was extremely warm inside and it took us about 30 minutes to open up the window flaps to let the air through and cool things up. Unfortunately, arriving at lunch time left us with no electricty and we could not turn on the fan. The tent is spacious, and the bathroom was clean.

We found the foood to be delicious and the main chef at the buffet very courteous. However, it was very annoying when my daughter was getting hit at by the server at the pizza counter. She went by herself, and he purposely delayed her pizza (and eventually overcooked it!) as he wanted to ask her personal questions. The following day at breakfast it was like he was stalking her, and would appear at every serving station she would go to. It got so bad that she refused to get up from her table and go get pizza.

I found the lock to the tent very annoying - it was a padlock at the bottom of the tent, that would be very hard to open. When we asked the reception desk for a new lock, the girl at the front counter seemed to look at us like we were asking her a big favor, but said that she would have it ready when we returned from our safari. We returned from our safari, and when we found no new lock and went to ask her, she looked like she didn't know what we were talking about. Eventually, after about one hour, a man came to our tent and poured water into our lock (yes, water!) and it seemd to work.

Good location, but was disappointed with the front desk service, where the employees looked like they have never ever had any customer service or hospitality training.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Both the accomodation and the food was avarage. Perhaps you can find a better accomodation here. The staff was friendly but they could not make up for the weak points of the accomodation. The place has nice gardens of herbs and a dedicated viewpoint overlooking to Mt. Kilimanjaro - although the view is limited by clouds during the daytime.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with this camp. It felt grubby, and the lodges are decorated in such a way that one felt one was staying in an old persons caravan in the 1960's. Poor food, almost inedible and extremely rude restaurant staff. Would not recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentrim Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Amboseli

Address: Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli National Park lies immediately North West of Mt. Kilimanjaro, on the border with Tanzania. The park covers 392 km2 and forms part of the much larger 3,000 km2 Amboseli ecosystem. Large concentrations of wildlife occur here in the dry season, making Amboseli a popular tourist destination. LocationSentrim Amboseli, the latest in guest accommodation is located on the border of Amboseli National Park right next to Kimana gate. The entirely new 60 luxurious and comfortable deluxe tents are evenly spread out with fantastic view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, restaurant and bar lounge and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sentrim Amboseli Hotel Amboseli Eco-System
Amboseli Sentrim National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentrim Amboseli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.