We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It cost how much????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Almaty Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Almaty Hotel to your Saves list
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zheltoksan St., 181, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It cost how much????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Stayed for a week on business. I love Kazakhstan, I love the people, but this hotel was eye-wateringly, jaw-droppingly expensive. I had a sandwich and fruit juice from the bar and it came to £38! The cheapest bottle of wine was £80!

A wonderful hotel though.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    108
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
20
18
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

It's hard to review the Intercontinental because this is a straight-down-the line middle grade four star property which has countless lookalikes across the world. Averagely nice bedrooms, averagely large bathrooms, averagely pleasant staff, it would fit the Hilton/IC/Marriott/Sofitel standard model anywhere in the world.

What perhaps does make it remarkable is that it does all this in Kazakhstan, not a location noted for fine cuisine, dedicated customer service, or natural good taste in interiors. For achieving all these things, the Intercontinental deserves high praise.

This was my second visit of the year and I noticed only a slight fall in service standards: early check-in and non-smoking rooms were both 'unavailable' on arrival, although they did manage to find a non-smoking king at 2pm after declaring the hotel totally full, which it patently wasn't.

I ate once in the Belvedere Restaurant on the 10th floor, although my colleagues and I were the only diners, excellent views over the city and very well-presented and reasonably cooked 'international' cuisine with some flair and very charming service. Like most other things in this hotel, internationally expensive too since it knows almost all its customers are on business.

Breakfast buffet, as some other reviewers have suggested, is very comprehensive - European, American, Japanese and Kazakh dishes are attractively presented, but there's no freshly squeezed juice and not having even tea or coffee served to the table means you have to work a bit harder than in some five-star properties.

Make sure you negotiate a rate including the buffet, it's an expensive addition - and don't order it as room service because it may be charged separately even if you have breakfast in your rate.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet rooms with good satellite TV
  • Disliked — Smell of smoke even on 'non-smoking' floor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

The Intercontinental was formerly the Regent Ankara (also listed) and as the Regent, an excellent hotel in its own right, was nearly always full, I couldn't understand the reasoning behind bringing-in the Intercon people to manage it. But I have to say that the difference in the 18 months or so since Intercon took over, has been startling. Nothing really major, just a few dozen small, but noticable improvements in the decor, ammeneties, menus and presumably, staff training, that combine to major effect.

I'm a lazy and inexperienced reviewer, so here's my short, but important 'B' list, each item on which can be prefixed by Great: Beds, Bathroom, Breakfast, Bar and Business centre.

And the staff seem to compete, each vyeing to be the most helpful person you're likely to meet during your day.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — frequently booked up
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

Its a business trip hotel. I will probably not like to stay there for my holidays. But what I enjoy is the hospitality and that people remember you when you come back.
Rooms
Rooms are spacious, bed extremely comfortable. Bathroom always clean and in marble. They provide you with all small toilettery things you forgot to take with you (or had to abandon at London airport). Though I hate the air conditioner which makes the air in the room extremely dry. Strangely you cannot open the window, and you have to negotiate it for an hour with the reception.
Dining
Amazing breakfast: he breakfast is a buffet, and I particularly adore their omelettes. I am not an omelettes addicted, but the girl who prepare them does it with such dedication, that I am looking forward to going back there only for her creations.
Limited dinner: There is one main restaurant there (or at least only one opened every time I come) and thus I would recommend to go out for dinner. During summer time, the hotel organises dinner outside in the garden.
Spa
The spa is lovely. There is a space for sun tanning outside, if you manage to find a free minute in your schedules.
I went to the hair saloon a couple of times. Its not chic, but they do their job well at affordable prices.

My main criticism is that there is no way to get the cash out of your card and put it on your bill (something that other hotels can provide you with).

  • Liked — Omelettes
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

I stayed at the Intercontinental Almaty during 3 nights in October 2007. While the stay was rather pleasant, I found a disappointing surprise when I returned home. My stay at the hotel was pre-paid with a corporate card from my company. As usual, when I arrived at the hotel, I gave my personal credit card only to guarantee any extra consumption. However, when I returned home, I found that the price of the room was charged to my personal credit card even though my stay had already been paid before arrival at the hotel. I am still struggling with the reservation offices in Almaty but I haven't found any satisfactory response yet. As a consequence of that, I now have a US$ 1500 charge in my credit card and the hotel does not want to reimburse the money. This is an error in the reservations department of the hotel. If a hotel does not know how to make a reservation what would you expect about the rest? I wouldn't even expect this mistake in a hostel. Even less in a hotel that charges US$ 500 per night.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushanbe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I first stayed at this hotel in 2001. It was a refuge then and still is now. Staff are warm and helpful. Have been forced to stay at other hotels in Almaty when this hotel was booked out, but really the others
just can't compare. Will gladly pay the extra that it costs to stay there...its worth every cent.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

Stayed there for 3 weeks this June. I reckon Intercontinental has taken over it not longer ago as I couldn't find the hotel in the 2005 version of Lonely Planet!

Arrived into Almaty just before 6am in the morning and greeted by a very pleasant receptionist with a big warm smile.

Nice comfortable room and bathroom with a view to the surrounding mountains (see picture attached).

Excellent room keeping, have someone in to close the curtains and fill up the ice bucket every evening. Used their laundry services a few times, called house keeping to pick up and there would be someone knocking on the door within 3 minutes. Laundry always come back on time and in order.

The "members bar" on the mezzanine floor is a great place to relax after a day's work, you don't need to be a member of any sort to get in. There is also a bar next to the swimming pool!

I am still missing their breakfast, which is served in the Asian cafe but trust me it looks more like a banquet hall inside. I am not sure why it was called a "cafe". Breakfast from different nationalities were served - even Japanese rice, sea weeds and miso soup. I ate better than a king. Breakfast at the Intercontinental Almaty is something that will stick to my mind for years to come.

Make sure they know you are a Priority Club member. I received half a bottle of red wine every day and on top of that some "random gifts" e.g. fruits and chocolate.

The hotel taxi service (they are the few Mercedes S-class parked outside the main entrance) is quite reasonably priced, costed KzT 1,000 from the hotel to Furmanov Avenue (where the Soho Almaty Club is). That is nothing especially when you get a few people sharing.

Just let the local taxi drivers know that you are heading for hotel Ankara (pronounces as "Uttel Ankara" in Kazak) when returning. Intercontinental hotel may be a bit of a mouthful for them to comprehend.

  • Liked — Just about everything
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Almaty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Almaty Hotel

Address: Zheltoksan St., 181, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Almaty Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 277 well-stocked deluxe rooms and spacious suites provides a breathtaking range of guest services and plenty of space to relax. Stylish, contemporary decor complements deluxe amenities, including luxurious bedding with feather comforters and cotton-rich linens. In your room: tilt-open windows, individual climate control, electronic "Do-not-Disturb / Maid" call system, LCD TV, pay-TV, mini-bar, tea & coffee facilities, in-room safe with a recharging plug, umbrella, iron and board. Telephones with voicemail allow direct dialing both internationally and locally. Each of our rooms has a large desk and high-speed Internet access, so you're able to be productive away from the office. Spacious suites are ideal for guests who need a bit more room to spread out, each with a separate sit-down beauty vanity counter and a separate living room with comfortable sofa and LCD TV. Guests staying in Club rooms benefit from access to the Club Lounge. Marble bathrooms are supplied with weight scales, hairdryer, magnifying cosmetic mirror, bathrobes, slippers and deluxe bath amenities. A separate shower cabin is a feature in every suite. All guests staying in the hotel have a complimentary access to The Ankara Spa. GUEST ROOMS - 203 Deluxe rooms - 49 Club InterContinental rooms - 13 Junior suites - 9 Exclusive suites - 2 Presidential suites - 1 Wheel chair accessible room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Almaty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Almaty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.