We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good service, nice gym” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Almaty Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Almaty Hotel to your Saves list
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zheltoksan St., 181, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Almaty
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, good service, nice gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a good quality hotel for a travelling business person with well appointed rooms, good service, good restaurants, and a good gym and sauna facility. I was pleasantly surprised iven it was my first time to Kazakhstan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to submit the review of your recent stay at InterContinental Almaty Hotel and for recommending us.
I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be glad to provide you with the great service again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    115
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
22
20
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After staying 2 days in Rixos moved to Intercontinental. with a very high expectations and they were really true.
Here also lobby was amazing. from the hotel and amazing view of business square. the rooms are elgant and very neat and clean

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay at InterContinental Almaty Hotel and for recommending us.
I was delighted to know that we have fulfilled your expectations.
We will be glad to provide you with the great service again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit to Almaty. The hotel allowed us to check in early and offered a late check out as well. Breakfast was fantastic! Views from our room of the mountains and the lovely tennis courts ( which we will use next trip) were also great. Very comfortable bed and beautiful surroundings. Everything you would expect from the intercontinental.

The staff went out of the way to help on several occasions . We needed translation help in purchasing a rug and they were more than happy to help over the phone.

The hotel is a bit out of the way but the city is easy to walk and navigate with the help of the staff and hotel taxis. If you don't want to pay the extra fair for the hotel cab they are more than happy to order you a city cab which is less expensive.

We enjoyed our time in Almaty and would not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Also we would like to thank you for rating our service as high quality and recommending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vaud
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Inter_continental keeps improving, but there are still areas to be improved. But overall, good hotel for business meetings (lobby very good for that). Wi fi has been upgraded recently and it is almost good (before was too slow). could still improve service at the lobby level,, a little too slow.
les nuits sont tres calme

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for the time you have taken to write your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We highly appreciate your comments which are very important for us in further improvement of our performance.

Looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Sincerely yours,
Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've stayed in at least three other hotels in Almaty over the six years I've been visiting Almaty and I'd rate this as the best so far. Overall, good level of friendly service (and they can be very grumpy in Kazakhstan, believe me). When my ordered taxi did not arrive, Doorman walked with me to the street (hotel is set back from the road) and found me an "un-official" ride. That's not usual for these parts. Inside of hotel and room were decorated in an international style. Complimentary bottled water in the room. Breakfast was good. Location good for all key business destinations in the city. There was a Spa, but I didn't try it. I tried the Turkish restaurant and Bar in the hotel and it was good, but prices, as usual, are painful. One thing they could do is arrange a way for taxis to be paid for by the hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure you specify non-smoking when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was very happy to read the review of your stay in InterContinental Almaty hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us here on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been twice to this hotel. The staff are efficient and polite, though not particularly warm. Stayed twice in Club rooms, which were satisfactory but certainly not what you would expect in other hotels for the price you are paying. I find them particularly noisy, there is a big gap between the door and the floor and if you get noisy people along the corridors they will bother you.
The beds are great, the desk is of reasonable size to work. The internet connect is quite slow though. It is a great touch that you can send an item a day for laundry, and the quality of the service is fantastic.
The Club Lounge is nice and the staff helpful, though the meeting room seems more of an after-thought.
The spa is certainly worth visiting.

Room Tip: Do request a room with a view to the magnificent mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor with regards to your stay with us.
All your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Your feedback is very important for us in our further improvement.
We are looking forward in welcoming you back at the InterContinental hotel during your next visits to Almaty, Kazakhstan.

Sincerely yours,
Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

As expected, this is a good intercontinental hotel. Large room with all the expected services, a lot of restaurants and bars. Good fitness and spa. A large and nice lobby. All the staff smiles and are nice. Of course not very charming hotel but no one hoes to intercontinental hotels for a charming hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your delightful review and for recommending us here om Tripadvisor.
We are so happy to see you touched on all the points we pride ourselves on.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Almaty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Almaty Hotel

Address: Zheltoksan St., 181, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Almaty Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 277 well-stocked deluxe rooms and spacious suites provides a breathtaking range of guest services and plenty of space to relax. Stylish, contemporary decor complements deluxe amenities, including luxurious bedding with feather comforters and cotton-rich linens. In your room: tilt-open windows, individual climate control, electronic "Do-not-Disturb / Maid" call system, LCD TV, pay-TV, mini-bar, tea & coffee facilities, in-room safe with a recharging plug, umbrella, iron and board. Telephones with voicemail allow direct dialing both internationally and locally. Each of our rooms has a large desk and high-speed Internet access, so you're able to be productive away from the office. Spacious suites are ideal for guests who need a bit more room to spread out, each with a separate sit-down beauty vanity counter and a separate living room with comfortable sofa and LCD TV. Guests staying in Club rooms benefit from access to the Club Lounge. Marble bathrooms are supplied with weight scales, hairdryer, magnifying cosmetic mirror, bathrobes, slippers and deluxe bath amenities. A separate shower cabin is a feature in every suite. All guests staying in the hotel have a complimentary access to The Ankara Spa. GUEST ROOMS - 203 Deluxe rooms - 49 Club InterContinental rooms - 13 Junior suites - 9 Exclusive suites - 2 Presidential suites - 1 Wheel chair accessible room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Almaty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Almaty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.