We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park to stroll through” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panfilov Park

Panfilov Park
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 106 attractions in Almaty
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice park to stroll through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went with my family on an Almaty trip in August. WWII Memorial and Zenkhov Cathedral are the two highlights. There was plenty of shade and open space to relax and rest midway through an Almaty walking tour. You can grab a quick bite to eat, get a drink and play some games and let the kids run around. Generally a nice place to visit and worth a stop for both the rest and the sights while in Almaty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The forest in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful park with marvelous trees and an Orthodox Church that deserve all the superlatives.
I liked the folks songs performed by some local entertainers
I disliked the communist statue of the general that gives the park's name

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice park and memorial. Stop by When in Almaty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The park is very nice and well kept, just by Zenkhov Cathedral. WW2 memorial is worth a visit. As there is not that much see in this this city, why missing it?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Panfilov Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A nice park and the monument is typical of the communist monuments all over Eastern Europe. It's a nice place to relax but there aren't enough places to sit down and during the summer it is crowded with newly weds having their photos taken. Actually it's annoying as you cannot move. I counted 12 couples on my last visit all standing in front of the monuments - and getting angry when I wanted to take photos. I have even seen police hassle tourists so be careful. The church is nice but outside there are the usual tacky things for kids. My advice would be to go during the week or in the winter.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice park, a great (though controversal) WW2 memorial (not as good as Brest in Belarus or Kiev), a nice orthodox church, pleasent enough though have seen bigger and better parks.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panfilov Park also viewed

 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Panfilov Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panfilov Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panfilov Park to your Saves list