We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good regional food and entertainment in one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alasha

Alasha
Ospanova St., 20, Almaty, Kazakhstan
+7(727) 254-07-00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,389 Restaurants in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Actually an Uzbek restaurant, but you don't have that as an option
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good regional food and entertainment in one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

As other reviewers have said, this is a good place for food and music. We went in a large group of 8 people and received great service. They had menus in both Russian and English which was very helpful and we ordered family style dishes including plov, shashliks and salads (the zaytoun salad is a good choice). The menu is very extensive so it's worth choosing carefully. All the dishes were delicious but the stand-out to me was the baked apple dessert.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    48
    21
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“WOW! A must for local specialties!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was an amazing experience! I love good food and this place did not disappoint. Suggest making reservation, if weather permits sit outside. In the evening they have entertainment performances of traditional dance, music, belly dancing. Things to order: dolma (awesome!), traditional dish made with horse meat, flat dough and potatoes (insane!), definately get the hookah, the sour apple roasted in over with honey was great finish too! Gorgeous place and atmosphere. Excellent service!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Grand finale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

On our final meal out we were taken to this traditional restaurant. It is beautifully appointed but surprisingly reasonably priced. There is a huge selection of local food to choose from, all wonderfully presented and equally tasty. The complementary floor show was excellent too and provided a great atmosphere. Service excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Uzbek Restoran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

if you in Almaty and want to eat something delicious go to Alasha.
you will enjoy not only food, but at night enjoy a good show

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, enjoyed the entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We came here in a family group ranging from 3 to 65. We were all very well looked after. Service was quick, the food tasty and fresh. This place is very well decorated, inside and out. I will be going back soon. The dancing was also first class. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alasha also viewed

 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Alasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alasha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.