We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Almaty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rahat Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rahat Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Rahat Palace Hotel
Akademika Satpayeva Ave., 29/6, Almaty 050040 , Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay in Almaty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I made several stays at this hotel in 2009 and 2010. The staff was quite helpful, including arranging a breakfast snack for me at 4 AM (hours before the dining room opens). The rooms are among the cleanest I have stayed at anywhere.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    45
    18
    1
See reviews for
1
4
12
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

The name Hyatt promises more then the hotel actually delivers. It probably was completely state of the art when it was built, but now it just feels worn and tired.

The rooms are pretty small, with furniture looking like its at least 20 years old. The downstairs bar is nice, and the staff mostly friendly and helpful, but the place needs a big makeover to justify the Hyatt Regency label.

However, as long as there is hardly a better alternative in Almaty (strangely enough), they will probably continue to use as it is.

If you stay there, you should watch out for the cost of the business centre internet, its about $1 per minute..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Food is good, especially if the outdoor bar is open and the bbq is on. Pool and leisure facilities good, rooms good size but because they all open into an atrium there can be some noise from downstairs. I was on floor 5 and it was OK but would have preferred higher, and definitley not lower.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I've stayed at the Hyatt Regency numerous times over the last 15 years. When it first opened (as a Marco Polo), it was expensive, but the only game in town. Sadly, the management has done nothing to update the hotel and its rooms over all these years. As a result, the rooms now feel a bit tired lacking wifi or flat screen tvs. The HVAC system in my room was a mess and left the room overheated and dry despite best efforts. Wired internet access costs nearly $40/day and washing a shirt will run you $20+ - simply ludicrous prices.

The service is reasonably good, but nothing special at this price point. Indeed, we weren't disappointed at all when the Hyatt 'lost' our reservation, which just so happened to be during a major oil/gas conference, and we were forced to try other accommodation in the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Happy to recommend this hotel, very friendly and efficient staff. Had a problem with the door lock and they apologised and ended up with free cake, wine and fruit.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

The Hyatt is truly a five star hotel. You get what you pay for, and at teh Hyatt you do pay for what you get. It’s about 1-1/2 miles from the city center and 30 – 45 minutes from the airport depending on traffic (which can be very heavy but orderly). The hotel is located in its own park. Almaty is laid out on a grand Soviet-era scale and the city is not very walkable. You need a car, a driver or a taxi to get most places from the hotel unless you use the somewhat broken down buses that operate frequently and cover the city.

The rooms are large and comfortable, with a desk and a king sized bed, CRT television and well appointed bathrooms. They are spotlessly clean and well maintained, as are the public areas and grounds. There’s a good choice of international TV stations. There‘s an Internet cable (standard RJ-45) in every room and they supposedly have hotel-wide WiFi, but the only place where the signal is strong enough is in the lobby. Internet service is one of the most expensive of any place I’ve been in the world – $42 for 24 hours. The restaurant is moderately expensive for a big city hotel in a Western city and Almaty isn't quite that, so it feels very expensive -- $15 & up for a snack at the bar; $20 & up for a light meal in the coffee shop and a whole lot more for a full meal in the excellent steak house. (Prices as of 4/2010.) The hotel food is very good to excellent, but was disappointing to find few Kazakh or Russian specialties

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, and if the person you approach doesn’t have enough command of English, someone else will step in. The level of service at the desk is fully equal to the best hotels in Europe or the Far East. The concierge desk will arrange a hotel car for in-city trips for 1,000 Tenge (about $6.70 as of April 2010). The concierge can also get excellent theater tickets for prices that are incredibly low by Western standards -- $6 for third row center seats at the Almaty opera house, for example. There are two ATMs and a bank in the lobby and the exchange rates were reasonable. There's a good travel agent as well.

The hotel staff tells you not to go walking on your own on the streets, but I had zero concern apart from the fact that walking on streets clogged with noisy traffic wasn’t very pleasant. (FWIW, I’m an over-65 male.) Cars stop for you at marked crosswalks, a lot more reliably than they do in my home town of Boston.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights while on a business trip to Almaty. The room was OK, very basic. I was quite surprised not to find a safe in the room although the hotel is a 5star hotel. Also a lack of a proper blow dryer was a disadvantage. There was one in the bathroom but it was that sort of thing that you sometimes find in cheap hotels and I call it "hoover". It may be a minor thing but I expected more from a 5star hotel. I had to go to a very important party so I asked the reception if I could borrow a good blowdryer but was unsuccessful. Thankfully the hairdresser solved my problem and she was very good indeed. The beauty salon was very good indeed and I strongly recommend manicure and pedicure. The only drawback was that the beauty salon is separate from the hotel, so you have to pay them separately.

The pool was very good, very large and the gym was great!!

Breakfast was OK. We ate at the Grill restaurant. The food (mainly steaks) was very good, but if you want a glass of wine to go with it you could be shocked by the price of it, for a bottle of basic Claret would cost you around £40!!

The same can be said about the Bar where the service and the food were fine but you'd better stick to beer!!!!

I did not think of the area around the hotel much, there was absolutely nothing to do and nowhere to go around the hotel. Luckily I was there with my husband who is a regular visitor to Almaty and he had some ideas where to go in the evenings. Needless to say that he preferred the other hotel in Almaty "Intercontinental".

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rahat Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahat Palace Hotel

Address: Akademika Satpayeva Ave., 29/6, Almaty 050040 , Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rahat Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rahat Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.