We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rahat Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rahat Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Rahat Palace Hotel
Akademika Satpayeva Ave., 29/6, Almaty 050040 , Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
Astana, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bravo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

As a place to stay on a city break, excellent. The spa facilities are great although the jaccuzzi wasn't working (and the day we left they were doing up the pool and jaccuzzi so not sure if they'd have informed us about that before i booked).
Breakfast was excellent. The rooms were very good as was the bathroom in the room. Will probably stay here again if I visit Almaty again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    45
    18
    1
See reviews for
1
4
12
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Bad service on reception, Internet doesn't work, too cold in rooms - heating system doesn't work!!!
Located not so far from center of city, not so good for winter time.
Breakfast is poor, but no expensive.
TV set in room from 1990 years.
All night you can hear voices from neighbor rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the first hotel where I stayed in almaty. Room was good enough but not that much new. Restaurant service was excellent. I ordered very early continental breakfast in rastauran and it was ready at 5 AM ... Generally hotel was clean and tidy...

Room Tip: just ask corer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business, and definitely would not come back, if I can choose (my client paid for it). The rooms were old-fashioned, wifi was inexistent and cable internet was amazingly expensive. The only thing I liked was breakfast, that had a great variety and quality was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The amazing views, great breakfast spread and no fuss good quality service have seen us stay here 4 times now. Have stayed at Hyatt elsewhere and, while Rahat Palace shows its age in spots, the lack of glitz is more than compensated by the warm service and simple but very comfortable rooms. I just wish I could fit more in at breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than level 4 if you want to see the stunning mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed maybe 4 times there under Hyatt name and visited it lately with my wife already as Rahat Palace. We stayed for two nights in the suite. I have to say that room was a little bit fatigued, TV old and obsolete CRT machine. In any case everything was clean, etc. but without this usual 5 star touch you expect paying such sums for the hotel.

Breakfast was ok, nice omelette and fresh juices. Local Kazakhstanian cuts are available too.

I remember also they have pricey but very tasty steaks and decent gym. Nice business place in Almaty.

Room Tip: It probably does not make sense paying for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel use to belong to the Hyatt group and it shows very much inside. The service of the staff is ok and quite impressed with the level of English, However I was blown away with the prices for drinks, mini bar and snacks, one of the most expensive in the 48 countries I have visited. The hotels sales and marketing have a long way to go and need to adapt and understand this area of business. Even almost 1 euro for a photocopy of 1 page when you consider you spend 3800 dollars for a few nights. So apart from that, the only other problem was the amount of door staff looking like the KGB and looking very suspicious at all times, this felt uncomfortable. It was adequate and I suggest you take food and drink with you or visit the supermarket a 5-10 minute walk way and much cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rahat Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahat Palace Hotel

Address: Akademika Satpayeva Ave., 29/6, Almaty 050040 , Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rahat Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rahat Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.