We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To eat and to buy something Indian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Govinda's

Govinda's
Abylay Hana Ave., 39, Almaty 50004, Kazakhstan
7-727-2713235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,391 Restaurants in Almaty
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Description: The only Hari Krishna place in town, been open for years. Their phone number is +7 (727) 271 32 35
Restaurant details
Description: The only Hari Krishna place in town, been open for years. Their phone number is +7 (727) 271 32 35
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“To eat and to buy something Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Though they serve not fully original Indian food, but close to this. Menu is rather interesting, meals - delicious, and they offer some Indian goods to buy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was so hard to find. There are not many numbers on the streets (nor street signs) in Almaty. If you walk north on Abylai Khan st, go past the park on the left, cross the Mametova cross st and to your left the buildings turn to apartments. The restaurant is there, set back from the road, up a little path, and not well lit at night. We walked past twice, and missed it despite looking carefully.
The set meal is the best option- 850-1800 tenge depending on how many dishes you want, and it came out in 5 mins. The lovely waitress advised that if we ordered ala carte it would be 30 mins. True- the samosas took about that long, but were worth the wait.
The staff were friendly, and it was reasonably priced, very good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“if you miss India - Go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

it's a bit tough to find, and you might get distracted by yammy Georgian restaurant that is right across the street, but really, if you miss or crave good Indian food - go to Govindas! food and service is great.
just mind: it is all vegetarian.
and make sure to ask for their lassie - so goooooood!
haven't been there in a while, but Im sure it has not changed much, as it has proved itself to be a very good place for over 10 years already

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LED
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Lovely Vegetarian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I ate at Govinda's only once, after walking around Almaty in search of it for a good hour. The food was worth the hike. I had half a set meal, which was served just five minutes after I ordered, and tasted very nice indeed. The tastes of the small curry dishes on my plate were, perhaps, a tad too 'shy' and mild to qualify as properly 'Indian', but, leaving aside tags and labels, the food was delicious, as was the organic caffeine-free coffee I had after.
I though Govinda's was small, cosy and unassuming, with attentive service and yummy veggie food. I would certainly eat there again - and more than once - if I were to come back to Almaty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

It's a vegetarian restaurant. The service is always excellent, people are attentive, it is clean. What can I say about the food? It is awesome! It's my favorite place to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Govinda's also viewed

Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Govinda's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Govinda's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.