We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Almaty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Almaty to your Saves list
Rixos Almaty
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seifullina Ave., 506, Almaty 050012, Kazakhstan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Almaty
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

One of the most impressive foyers and ground floor atrium I have ever seen. Lovely, leafy indoor garden which provides perfect backdrop for meetings. Comfortable, big room, with nice "freebies" in the bathroom and glorious views towards the Tian Sien mountains and the ski resort of Shymbaluk. Very friendly helpful service and a lovely breakfast, but rather sad, empty restaurant the night before, where I was the only person there. Superb underground pool and spa.
My only complaint was that there were too many "single" ladies sitting around in the late evening looking for company. They weren't offensive, didn't pressure you, and were indeed very pretty, but I'm not sure a hotel of this standing should allow quite so many of them in looking for opportunities however pleasant they appeared. Would certainly go back upon a future visit to Almaty.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better, and ask for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim C, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read about satisfied guests and at the same time we are very thankful to get your honest opinion about some points where we still can become better. We will definitely bear in mind your constructive comments and would like to say thank you for sharing it with us. And, do hope it was not your last stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Ibrahim Celik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    88
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
7
12
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I always stay at this hotel. Ideal place. The hotel is big but it is not a problem. The restaurant is excellent. Breakfast very rich and tasty. Location about 20 minutes from the airport, off-peak hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim C, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you took the time to write a review about your latest stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Rixos Almaty Hotel for your trip to Almaty.
It would be a pleasure for us to be your host again when travel brings you back to our city.


Kind Regards,
Ibrahim Celik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I come in Almaty since the past 5 years, and my company always put me in a famous chain but not very central, indeed.

This time they put me in Rixos Almaty, and I will come back there for sure. the location is just amazing, you can reach everything walking distance, coffe place like coffe delia is less then 10 min, Marrone rosso the same. if you want to have a great steak just around the corner you ll find a great restaurant called Line brew, highly reccomended. And many other hot spot are around.

The spa is great, huge pool, indoor, and great facilities to work out. Also balinese terapist are terrific!

Only one complaint room service, very slow... but for the rest i love it!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim C, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, on behalf of the Team of Rixos Almaty I would like to thank you very much indeed for your choice of our hotel as an accommodation for your lodging in Almaty.

We greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and its various outlets. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding room service is well noted. The hotel is actively working to improve it and your feedback has proved to be invaluable

Looking forward to your next visit to Rixos Almaty.

Kind Regards,
Ibrahim Celik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great hotel for business, good service, fast check in, reliable.
Stayed here a few times and always had a great room, nice linen and clean.
Bars, restaurants are close and good recommendations from reception, definately worth asking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim C, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, on behalf of the team of Rixos Almaty I would like to thank you very much indeed for your continued loyalty. And, thank for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and the overall service received.

Moreover, we are happy to hear your praise regarding comfort of the room and service provided by our staff as we feel these are all crucial aspects of complete guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to seeing you soon at Rixos Almaty,


Kind Regards,
Ibrahim Celik,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My first visit to Kazakhstan was in large part spent in this hotel, 4 nights. The property's hardware looks rather stunning and the airy and green lobby bar area is comfy. The room, and I was assigned one on the 6th floor, had gorgeous views of the Tien Shan mountains with good-sized room and functional equipment. The supplied toiletries left much to be desired, and the turn-down service provided the evening chocolates only on my last night, hmm...
Breakfast was a relaxing affair in the airy Brasserie but the selections on the weekend seemed sparing compared to the weekdays'. Did not check out the famous spa unfortunately. The very expensive airport limousine service was not even private - there were two of us sharing the Merc, hmm... And the final service let-down was their lame attempt to extricate more money by demanding a half day's supplement for early check-in because "the hotel was not informed of my early arrival" - well my airport limousine service was pre-arranged with flight arrival details and all, hmm... Would I go back again? Not unless it was on the expense account!

Room Tip: The highest floor is the 7th, the views are better the higher you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim C, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to apologize for our late reply to your review. We take all feedback very seriously and for that, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to know that the accommodation and room that was allocated on one of our highest floor were to your liking. And, we do appreciate your taking the time to advise us of the inconveniences, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

We are sorry to read that the limo service you ordered did not meet your expectations and we understand that this has a huge impact for the stay of our guests. There is no excuse for not delivering what is promised, and particularly not giving our deepest regrets for not properly arranged airport pick up and the inconvenience it may have caused. However, we could not overlook conditions like these, and all necessary measurements have been made to prevent this from happening again.

Please, rest assured that our Housekeeping Department was informed on the aspect you mentioned to be improved as well.

Again, we give our appreciations for your constructive feedback of our hotel. We do hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves.

Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

hotel belongs to the chain of Rixos hotel, the service is and breakfast is OK, only one morning there was no hot water - this should not happen in the hotel of this quality. And the thing I missed in nearly all hotels - there is no clock on the televison set or in the room. Evening dinners were good with professional service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim C, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us. And, thank you for your remarks regarding the clock on TV, I will definitely discuss it with our Chief Technician.

I am sorry to read that you encountered problems with the hot water in your room. Please rest assured that your comments have been communicated with our Chief Technician respectively in order to avoid such kind of cases in the future.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back at Rixos Almaty.

Kind regards,

Ibrahim Celik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

excellent hotel with all services at international top standards and also with pronounced kazakhi flavour. I had a lunch and 2 buffet breakfast all really very very good also with local food if wanted. the location is somehow non really in the best of downtown and it is directy on a very crowded street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibrahim C, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write about us here on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased to read that your stay was up to your liking.

With regards to our location, let me point out that we are located perfectly for ease of access to Opera and Ballet House, Republic Square. Only a 10-15 minute walk away are our famous places such as Panfilov Park, Wooden Church, Instrumental Museum and Oriental Green Bazaar. It is perfect both for business and leisure travelers.

Looking forward to host you again at Rixos Almaty.

Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Almaty

Address: Seifullina Ave., 506, Almaty 050012, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Almaty
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
#2 Spa Hotel in Almaty
#6 Best Value Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Almaty, half a mile from Nikolai Cathedral. Rixos Almaty Hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi internet and a spa with swimming pool. All rooms at Rixos Almaty feature air conditioning, a desk and a balcony with impressive views. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at Rixos Almaty. The restaurant serves international buffets as well as offering varied dining menus. The Lobby Bar & Lounge is open 24 hours a day, and guests can also dine at Wine Bar that has great selections of wines. The 23680 ft² spa also includes a gym, sauna, Turkish bath, indoor gardens and 7 massage rooms. Rixos Hotel is one mile from Almaty Opera House and 3 miles by cable car from Koktobe Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Rixos Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Almaty Hotel Almaty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Almaty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.