We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice and were very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazzhol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kazzhol to your Saves list
Kazzhol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gogolya St., 127/1, Almaty 50000, Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Stayed twice and were very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

After staying at Kazzhol twice, in July and August, and having read many reviews, my thoughts are that people should adjust their expectations according to their destination. Almaty is not New York or London, or even Phoenix or Pittsburgh. We were very happy with Kazzhol, especially on our return visit, when after 2 weeks traveling in Kazakhstan we were so looking forward to a quite, clean, comfortable experience, complete with hot water, pleasant and accomodating staff, good food, and comfortable beds. On the plus side, the best points for Kazzhol are: it's clean; the restaurante offers an excellent selection of good safe-to-eat food, especially for breakfast; there are several other decent eateries within walking distance; the staff are very friendly, helpful, and competent; many languages are spoken amongst the various staff, so even though they may need to track down the right person, they will find someone who can understand you; the decor is pleasant; and there is a good excercise room and pool. On the negative side: the hotel is a bit expensive for what you get; internet access was intermitent and often slow; hot water was intermitent during our 1st stay (but, I think that hot & cold water are city utilities, and the city was repairing water lines while we were there, so perhaps this is not a hotel problem). And yes, we were happier during our second visit than during the first, even though the experiences were similar - perspective is everything! Things that we accepted as part of the locale, as neither positive or negative: the rooms were small, and the bathrooms smaller; some rooms had baths with handheld showers and other rooms had shower stalls; handicapped persons might have problems betting around the hotel; some rooms had balconies or patios, but not furniture in those spaces; we had trouble making sure that our room had 2 seperate beds, and both times we had to re-arrange the furniture to put space between the twin beds; and the mattresses were softer than we liked, but well within "acceptable".

Room Tip: If you have specific needs, correspond with the staff via email. Each exchange may take a day if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    67
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
6
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed in Kazzhol Hotel last December.Actually it looks like an official government building
more then a hotel.The corridors reminds like you in polica station so narrow,even 2 people can not walk at same time.Wireless password changes everyday and you need to take it from reception if you forget to get it,they complain too much just to send a bellboy to your room.The funniest part was the bellboy,he asked me in Russian if i need a girl :))I said thanks,no need..
So i would not prefer this hotel again,but u know sometimes u have no other chance..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great location. A bit expensive for what you get but that is Almaty. Great food and restaurant. Excellent breakfast. Great indoor pool and sauna. Beds are too soft but ok. Bathrooms could be better. Water gets everywhere. Seems like a well run hotel. Receptionists were very helpful and staff was very friendly. Great location ... in the middle of everything. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Ok, it IS clean but the service is old-style Russian prefunctory. I was not comfortable staying here. It's realy not a western standard.

PROS:
- Good location (although somewhat hard to find down an alley)
- Very clean
- Fast, free internet

CONS:
- It needs a major remodel - carpets in the room are done in an awful green low-matte, furniture kinda old & yucky too.
- Bathroom smelled OK, but the tile and sliding door for the shower was outdated. Inside the shower, you would see places where the tile grout is coming apart and looking moldy.
- Laundry prices are steep, like any other big hotel.
- The lobby bar is WAY too small & not well ventillated.
- Breakfast buffet was very large, but quality of food was just average.

If you are looking for creature comforts and a fun, relaxing place to stay, continue looking. If you are on a budget and don't mind average surroundings, you found your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, well run, good spacious room - no complaints! Very satisfied with my stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed in on four separate one-night stops in May/June 2012. An efficient hotel, with good rooms and good food. The first floor (same floor as reception) is noisy and should be avoided. The higher you go the better it seems. They still allow smoking in the main restuarant. However, copious hot water, good showers, very comfortable bed (they even offer a range of pillow types), and a TV in each room. Will use again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed there in spring 2011.

Likes: excellent location; very helpful and friendly staff; clean and cosy rooms; very good food at reasonable prices; relatively low price for Almaty; nice beds; good room service. Surprisingly for a hotel of this price, everything in the room worked well, including the shower, flushing, lights, cable TV and free Internet.

Dislikes: can't think of any for this price.

Room Tip: Smokers ask for rooms with balconies. Otherwise it takes a lot of time for the smoke to leave the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kazzhol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazzhol

Address: Gogolya St., 127/1, Almaty 50000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kazzhol 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kazzhol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazzhol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.