We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular breakfast and massage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kazahstan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kazahstan to your Saves list
Kazahstan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dostyk Ave., 52/2, Almaty 50051, Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Almaty
Gdynia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“spectacular breakfast and massage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The place really tells you the recent history of Kazakstan well! Massive building, grandeur lobby, but already lifts and corridors remeber the soviet times. I had to change the room (apartment paid by my hosts) because the first one had the safe which deprogramed itself and started making loud noises:). The second one (12th florr) was much better. It missed the propaganda book entitled "Dynamic Kazachstan' :) Obviously meant for more sceptical tourists...It does function like a regular brothel as it is part of its history. "Commandirovka" in Soviet era had a double meaning: "being delegated to do business" and delegated to another women. Disgusting but if you are not interested the staff will not bother you. Most of service (reception, security, waiters, waitresses seem to be under twenty and only few speak some English. Breakfasts are like massive dinners with 2 kinds of soups, salads, meats but even as a fruitarian I was very happy for 10 days which I cannot say about dinners there (meat, meat, sometimes fish no fresh vegetables).
The best thing there is in this wierd place is Thai Spa on the 7th floor. I had to make sure it is not part of the erotic relaxation business. I called them first and talked in Russian. I got the most professional massage in this part of the world. About 50 euro for an hour of really healthy action on your whole body! I guess the reception will help you if you only speak English.

Room Tip: 12th floor 1213 apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    46
    26
    14
See reviews for
1
9
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

For what you pay a night you would expect at the very least for the TV to work and a functional bathroom. The hose on the shower head leaked so bad 50% of the water was lost before it left the shower head. Our TV didn't work and when we called for service a maid showed up to tell us the service was down in the block. Later that evening the TV repair man showed up and "tuned" the TV and fixed it in 30 mins. The room service was ok. No matter what the sides are on the menu, we always got mashed potatoes. Our mini bar was incomplete and they were trying to hit us up for the fees of the missing items that were never there to begin with. If you are staying in Almaty for an extended period, I highly recommend looking for apartments that you can rent by the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kırgızistan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although Kazakhstan is growing and developing, Hotel Kazakhstan's poor room standard is the same. They renovated most of the rooms but its really hard to get the comfort out of it. The bathrooms have really small sink. You can't even wash your face or shave without splashing water on the ground.The shower cabins are 15cm higher than the floor level. The carpets are dirty, lighting in the room is disturbing.
The breakfast is the old so called 'Improved' Soviet style.
BUT, unfortunately as it is one of the cheapest hotels in Almaty (120-250$), it is usually 70% full.

Room Tip: There is NO good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pathetic hotel
Horrendous rooms
Absolutely no sense of hospitality (but then that is synonymous with all establishments in Kazakhstan)
Rude reception staff.. English is like a language of the aliens.

..and I did not even spend the night after checking in. It felt like a brothel inspite of its grandeur exterior and lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Past it's glory days, Stayed here many times, the last in October 2012 for about $330 per night. That time was my worst experience, grubby rooms, poor service, very overpriced for what you got. On my floor, there was broken furniture and rolled up carpet at the end of the hallway. I asked for safe in my room but there was none, got another room which had plenty of space but filthy with broken furniture. Breakfast was unimpressive with most items stale

Very deceiving, lobby is really good so I think they keep up the façade and wonder why you don't love the place.

Shaslick next door in Guns 'n roses was good as was the music with somebody called Johnny
I moved out to the Dostyk Hotel which was light years better for about the same price. Could easily access Guns 'n Roses from the Dostyk, about a two minute walk.. Good location and good views of the mountains if you are lucky. Staff at reception think the rooms are of the same standard as the foyer......the last time I stayed there is the last time I will ever stay there

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a review for a room for $200 per day. September 2013.
1. Dirty carpets.
2. Dirt behind night stands: small hills of dust, some papers left by the previous clients.
3. Broken locks in the bathroom. We told to the manager to fix it; no reaction for 5 days.
4. THEY REQUIRE YOU TO PAY IN ADVANCE.
5. They have thrown away containers for my lenses. They did not provided any substitute.
6. They do not provide what they state in the contract, e.g., coffee maker.
7. Poor knowledge of English.
8. Rude personnel.
9. Very old torn bath robes.
10. Takes a while to have the water from the hot tap to become actually hot.
11. Bad food for breakfast: sausage that has dry edges, not fresh cucumbers, instant coffee (ONLY INSTANT).

To sum up, avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location, two good close restaurants on the property and a good view from upper level rooms. Small cramped rooms, deteriorating infrastructure and a generally shabby appearance once you're out of the lobby. The state of the hotel provides a powerful incentive to get out and explore the surroundings. There appears to be some renovation going on so request a recently updated room if possible. Guns N Roses pub on site was fantastic for food, drinks and outdoor seating. Noodles is close and has good selections and atmosphere. Centrally located for walking tours and restaurants close by.
Don't expect many amenities in the rooms. Small TV, limited power ports, small soap bar, lack of a hair dryer and a constantly running toilet. They did provide two gas masks in our room though...

Room Tip: Higher rooms appear to be under renovation. Request one if possible. Stay away from rooms located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kazahstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazahstan

Address: Dostyk Ave., 52/2, Almaty 50051, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kazahstan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star 26-storey hotel "Kazakhstan" is located in a picturesque location of Almaty. From the windows of the hotel magnificent view of snow-capped peaks of Trans-Ili Alatau is opening. Ecologically clean area, where the hotel is located, the heart of business and administrative center of Almaty is connected by transportation routes to any point of the city. In five-minute walk from the hotel are office buildings, schools, banks, restaurants, museums, parks, theaters and monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kazahstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazakhstan Hotel Almaty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazahstan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.