We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give Breakfast a miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kazakhstan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kazakhstan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kazakhstan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dostyk ave. 52, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 hotels in Almaty
Forbes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Give Breakfast a miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel about ten times and have never had a good breakfast, pleanty of food but most of it is inedible
I know hotels in Kazakhstan are expensive and although this hotel was great "once upon a time", it is no longer so and expensive, not good value for money.
The carpet in the rooms is worn and tatty
Guns
and Rosespub is good expat hangout
Staff should work with machines instead of people

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    37
    24
    10
See reviews for
1
6
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

basically this hotel was the first address during soviet time in Almaty. In the last years they renovated the whole hotel. I guess all rooms are renovated by now. The rooms are not very big, actually quite small, but the quality is not bad. You even can open the windows, even they are small. From the higher floors you have a nice view over the city. A lot of good restaurants around the hotel within walking distance. Also the pub in the hotel is a very trendy and nice place to hang out on weekends. Breakfast buffet is ok. English might be a bit a problem there. They all speak russian and of course kazakh.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hotel Kazakhstan is a bit dated in its decor, but having said that, it is a grand hotel to stay in. The lobby is adorned with an excellent chandelier with brown pannelling and marble floors throughout. My room was huge and comfortable, well stocked with all amenities - including a gas mask! The restaurant was good and also the "Guns and Roses" pub. The staff were quite rude. However, I really enjoyed my stay in this quirky hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at Kazakhstan Hotel in Feb. 2012.
* Room: I asked for a renovated room, on the 23th floor, well furnished with a large and comfortable bed. The room was very clean and quiet... The free wifi in my room was stable and fast, but connection but me reactivate sometimes.
* Bathroom: Fully renovated, but old fashion furnitures. The water was always hot (when it was -16 outside :)
* Breakfast: Poor, in my opinion.
* Staff at the reception: Need to be more trained, especially for international Guests, but very polite.
* Hotel's Location: Excellent, in the center of Almaty and close from the airport.
* Price: A little bit expansive in my opinion, but Almaty is an expansive city...
* Extra services (pool, fitness...): POOR. Nothing for the moment.
* Restaurant: I was in the 'Noodles'. It was very nice, clean and trendy. Staff is very friendly. Sushis are delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Kazakhstan in Almaty with a colleague in the last week of January 2012. Ours was a business trip and the hotel fees were paid on our behalf, so I cannot comment on its value for money.

Our rooms on the 12th floor were well furnished with comfortable beds. The water for the shower (no bath) was not always hot , the windows could have been cleaner, and the wireless connection was not completely reliable, but otherwise the rooms were good. Good views to the mountains would have been had, except that the visibility was poor pretty much throughout our stay. (Air quality in Almaty is not good – perhaps that was the reason our rooms were equipped with gas masks?)

The hotel lobby is impressive and it was good to eat breakfast on a balcony overlooking the lobby area. Breakfast itself was unexceptional – the usual standard breakfast buffet. The “hot food” choice varied from day to day, although it was never hot.

The staff at the hotel were most helpful and even the security staff were friendly. (One has to pass through a metal detector and open one’s bags before being admitted to the lobby area.)

The hotel has several bars and restaurants attached. We tried the Guns ‘n’ Roses pub, Noodles, and Bar Fly, but not the Cosmopolitan Bar nor the poker casino at the back of the hotel.

Bar Fly on the 26th floor had a pleasant ambience and would have been worth the high price of our drinks if the view had been good.

Noodles was good – we ate there several times – an international menu with plenty of vegetarian options and large, good quality pizzas.

The Guns ‘n’ Roses pub has been reviewed elsewhere on Tripadvisor. We ate there twice and it has a limited vegetarian menu, but was generally fine. We also listened to the live music on a Saturday night. On that occasion we were charged for entry (which included our first drink). The music was loud (the sound proofing seems to be very good in the hotel generally) and we witnessed rather too much vodka binge drinking by Russian-speaking twenty-somethings.

We were told that the Kazakhstan was a showpiece Soviet hotel built in the 1970s for Communist Party bigwigs and foreign dignitaries. It’s been refitted since then, of course, but still retains some of its original grandeur. It’s clearly a national icon since it has appeared on a Kazakhstan banknote: see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:KazakhstanPNew-5000Tenge-2006-donatedTA_b.jpg

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be angled so that most rooms have good views (apart from atmospheric visibility p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel exterior & lobby were beautiful. The rooms were small but comfortable. Small tv with 1 English speaking channel - Euronews - but good to be immersed in Russian / Kazakh culture. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Clean hotel with some really cool Soviet Era touches from the 1970's, The front desk staff was fairly nice however seemed a tad distant and not too interested in us. While some people like the location, for me it was a bit far from the more pedestrian friendly area of Gogal Street. A gym would be a nice addition.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kazakhstan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazakhstan Hotel

Address: Dostyk ave. 52, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kazakhstan Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star 26-storey hotel "Kazakhstan" is located in a picturesque location of Almaty. From the windows of the hotel magnificent view of snow-capped peaks of Trans-Ili Alatau is opening. Ecologically clean area, where the hotel is located, the heart of business and administrative center of Almaty is connected by transportation routes to any point of the city. In five-minute walk from the hotel are office buildings, schools, banks, restaurants, museums, parks, theaters and monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Kazakhstan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazakhstan Hotel Almaty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazakhstan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.