We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn ANA Sendai

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn ANA Sendai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn ANA Sendai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4-1 Shintera Wakabayashi Ku, Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture 984-0051, Japan (Sendai Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #20 of 97 hotels in Sendai
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

This was the 2nd Holiday Inn we stayed at and it was quite nice. It was around the corner from a coin laundry, 7/11s and the train station with the Yodobashi camera store. Our room was quite nice, we got vouchers for dinner and breakfast because of priority club and breakfast was ok, for Y1200 each for a buffet. Our room had wireless internet, was a decent size with a comfy bed. we ate once at the restaurant downstairs for breakfast but not for dinner and we spent most of our time out and about. The staff were very polite and spoke english and greeted us when we came in and out of the lobby.

  • Liked — standardised Holiday Inn
  • Disliked — the buffet was a bit average
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    90
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
24
45
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

This hotel was close to the station and was a short walk to the shops and restaurants. Staff were great, rooms spotless and quite large (especially the bathroom) for Japanese standard.

  • Liked — Clean, clean, clean
  • Disliked — On the wrong side of railway line but only a short walk to the main area
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

The hotel was clean and well located within a 10 min walk of the train station which provides good access to the metro and the bus system, as well as to the major shopping areas in downtown Sendai.

The rooms are small based on US standards, but large compared to most in Japan/Europe. The beds were overly firm for our taste (certainly firmer than the pillow top mattresses now common in many US hotels). Our room was quiet. The bathroom included a tub with shower (with a clothes line which we used), good sized vanity with single sink, heated toilet seat with bidet, and was stocked with standard toiletries.

The front desk staff was pleasant, but often no one present spoke English, which surprised us for an American chain. The breakfast is largely Japanese, although a couple of Western items are present, but these vary from acceptable to marginal. We had dinner at the restaurant on the night we arrived; it was acceptable but not impressive.

The hotel staff made a great recommendation regarding a restaurant for a tempura dinner, but gave us incorrect information about forwarding our luggage to Tokyo (takes three days, not two days as we were told).

The price was reasonable for the level of service, so we might stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2004

Stayed 2 nights during my visit to Sendai. Booked on the internet. It's nicer than the typical Holiday Inn in the States. Rooms are not huge but I spent my day sightseeing and just needed a place to sleep mostly. The room was very clean, typical for Japanese standards. I was given a coupon for breakfast and it was good. The hotel is located on the east side of the JR station but most of the sightseeing spots are to the west. It is within walking distance from the hotel to the JR station and from there you can get around. I lived in Japan for 4 years so I was used to walking everywhere and using the public transportation. Sendai offers a deal on a special bus that stops on certain sightseeing spots. Search the web for more deals. On a side note, I think 1 full day is enough for seeing Sendai unless there are certain places that you must visit. Two days if you want a leisurely pace. The Tanabata festival in Sendai is one of the bigger ones and is a good time to visit if you like the crowded festive atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn ANA Sendai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn ANA Sendai

Address: 1-4-1 Shintera Wakabayashi Ku, Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture 984-0051, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Sendai > Sendai Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sendai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn ANA Sendai 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sendai opened on 20th, July 2001 with the hotel is located just 6 minutes walk from Sendai Station. Sendai is 1 hour 40 minutes on the Tohoku Shinkansen from Tokyo Station and 70 minutes by air from Osaka. The hotel is ideally situated for business and pleasure stays. There are many of Sendai's major cultural and historical venues in close proximity to the hotel; such as Aoba Castle, Miyagi Museum, Sendai Stadium and Rinnoji Temple.Sendai is also famous for its seasonal events; such as the Aoba-Matsuri Festival showcasing impressive warriors and priests marching in the springtime. In the summer the 'Tanabata Festival' will give guests the opportunity to feast their eyes on the colorful streamers waving under the summer skies. Autumn brings the annual Jazz Festival with Winter displaying fascinating illuminated trees at the 'Pageant of Starlight'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn ANA Sendai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ana Sendai Hotel Sendai
Holiday Inn Sendai
Sendai Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn ANA Sendai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.