We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good services, but just on the surface” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae
2-2-26 Nakadori | Akita shi, Akita ken, Akita, Akita Prefecture 010-0001, Japan (Akita Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“very good services, but just on the surface”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Richmond is proud of their services provided, from the moment check in to check out, I am all happy with it. The room is also modern and stylish. I was having fever during my stay, I borrowed their thermometer and measure the temperature in the lobby, the staff are helpful and still carrying smile, but they didn't have intention to bring me water and ask if I am ok. I finally get a cup of water in the restaurant and took the pill. that gave me a feeling that the smile on their face is just robotic and I just didnt feel the true warm heart. Overall, it is a very professional hotel in Akita

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    111
    26
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
30
74
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent two night during a business trip. Very close to the JR station. Rooms are fine and food is good. Small gripes: 1) Get rid of the stinky shower curtain 2) plastic dishes at breakfast. Otherwise, I would go back to this hotel again when I visit Akita.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I booked this hotel online because it was very near the train station and apparently in the middle of Akita City's activity. I've been in Japanese hotels before so I was expecting tight quarters. I am soooo glad that I was wrong.
My friends and I arrived quite late in the evening but the reception staff was on their toes and very welcoming. Our rooms were ready for us and, as a nice touch, we were made to choose some bath perks--pedicure kit? bath salts? facial moisturizing masks? Delightful!
The rooms were uncharacteristically (for Japan) large for the price range. TV (no English channels though), in room wi-fi access, refrigerator, complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary water, an all-phone charger, bath tub.
A big plus was the set of shampoo and conditioner available in the rooms. These smell good and are actually very good for the hair. These are available for sale but rather bulky. I would have wanted to buy some but it was too heavy for me.
The breakfast, although the same everyday, was quite pleasant and filling. The food was mostly Japanese with only cereal as a concession to the Western diet. Miso soup was unlimited.
The staff is very helpful. When we needed help photocopying, borrowing umbrellas, getting a cab or obtaining information, they were on it. When we needed extra documentation, they were willing to provide it.
We stayed 6 days and were totally happy with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

As others have stated the RIchmond Hotel is conveniently located near the Akita train station. There are many places to eat, convenience stores, and near the station there's a department store. You can buy breakfast groceries and keep it in you refrigerator to cut cost and avoid going out every morning. There is a microwave available for use at the hotel. They do offer breakfast at the hotel but currently the breakfast buffet is Y1,100. They don't offer too much western style food. Maybe toast, coffee, juice, yogurt, sausage but plenty of Japanese food. They staff is very helpful. They will go out of their way to help you get anything or to arrange something. The room has a small refrigerator and a hot pot to boil water for coffee/tea. You can always ask at the front desk for anything you may need such as toiletries, bath salt, shower cap, etc. Only negative for foreign visitors might be the lack of foreign TV channels. Only Japanese channels. Hopefully you're there to visit and not spend too much time in the room watching TV...

Room Tip: I would ask for a double room. Japanese single rooms are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I've stayed in another hotel in Akita, but wasn't very excited about it, so decided to try this one. This will now always be my go-to hotel for Akita! I stayed for one week with my daughter, in a Comfort Twin room that was a corner room. It was very spacious for a Japanese hotel. We had two comfortable beds, plus a couch, table, and easy chair, a mini-fridge, and a very long desk-table that ran the length of one side of the room. With free wifi, this could easily accommodate both of us working on our computers, and there was plenty of space for the luggage. There was a nice breakfast (mostly Japanese options but with some western food too, and good coffee). A coin-operated laundry room was much appreciated. An easy two-block walk from the station, with many restaurants, shopping centers, convenience stores, and tea houses in the neighborhood. My daughter speaks Japanese, but there did always seem to be someone at the desk with some English skills.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We checked-in to this hotel for 1 night on the 10 December 2013. The room decor is nice and hotel staff were very friendly. The most important thing is that the hotel reception is able to converse in English.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back in Apr, and after debating which hotel to book initially, I think I have picked the right choice !

The hotel is only 5min walk from station. Like all other Richmond hotels in Japan (I have stayed in a few), this one is clean, modern, well managed and very good deal for the price I pay (I book direct from hotel website). The room is big enough to fit my luggage, and still have room to walk around. Full amenities in the bathroom. There is even a multiple-purpose mobile charger to charge up your phone with.

I would recommend getting the breakfast package, as there isn't many restaurants around the station, not to mention ones that open in the morning for breakfast .... and speaks English ;-) and the breakfast is very good with the price u pay.

I would definitely come back here if I come to Akita next time. No wonder the Richmond Hotel group gets the hotel management excellence awards year on year. Well deserved!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae

Address: 2-2-26 Nakadori | Akita shi, Akita ken, Akita, Akita Prefecture 010-0001, Japan
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Akita Prefecture > Akita > Akita Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.