We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richmond Hotel Akita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae
2-2-26 Nakadori | Akita shi, Akita ken, Akita 010-0001, Akita Prefecture (Akita Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Richmond Hotel Akita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with only a short walk to the railway station.

The staff were very helpful with excellent English skills. We used the hotel a as abase to explore the countryside of north Honshu.

Would recommend on the basis clean of friendly staff, clean rooms and good value for cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    124
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
32
77
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The service is fantastic. We were served primarily by Chinda-san (I hope I remembered her name correctly). She spoke good English and she always greets us whenever she sees us. Chinda-san also ensured that we know of the good places to visit and eat in Akita. The hospitality demonstrated by Chinda-san and her colleagues was warm and professional but it never bordered on being excessive. I have visited a fair number of hotels in my life now but Richmond Akita possibly has one of the best service staff that I have ever encountered.

We stayed in a double bedded room. It was spotless and nicely decorated. The management paid some attention to details and this was evident in the room. Examples are: They provided good quality toiletries, there was a spray freshener for our coats and the pillows were comfortable.

We would definitely stay in Richmond Akita again. For the price that we were paying and the service quality, this was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is one of my favorite business hotel in Japan because it's so nice in almost every detail. The hotel is quite modern, both in exterior and interior. The room is large enough and well equipped. I really like the way they decorate the room to make it look cool but not over fancy. The staff is very nice and helpful. They keep apologize to me for "not speaking good English" while I think they are already speaking it quite well. Internet-enabled computers can be found in the lobby. And the hotel is not far from the train station, though it takes a little walk to find a convenience store.

As a picky traveller myself, I only found 2 small issues during my stay. The breakfast still has some room to improve, and the room key sensor is not very responsive. But they are small problems, really. For the price there's nothing to complain, and there are countless other good things one can found in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is an excellent hotel that pay attention to small details e.g. internet kiosk in lobby (with a printer!), toiletries that are definitely better quality and a bathtub (despite a small room). It is near JR station and there is a local wet/dry market nearby (along the way to the JR station).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We loved this hotel. It was new this year. Check-in was very quick with lots of staff to help you (no English though). Check-out is through a machine in the lobby. The rooms were fairly good sized, clean and modern. There are two Internet terminals available for free usage. The breakfast was Japanese and had a very good selection. To get to this hotel, exit the west exit of the JR Akita station. Walk under the covered arcade until it ends, take a left at the next intersection and walk two blocks (it'll be on your right). Location is fantastic as it is right in downtown Akita.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

This is more than a bussiness hotel, opened January 9th, 2009. If you are used to very small rooms in Japan you will find that this one is not as small than others. The rooms have between 23 - 33 sq.meters. Comfortable rooms with full amenities, small mini mar, good TV set, free internet. Smoking and non smoking rooms available. (Ask for non smoking room) 5 minutes walking from Akita JR Station.

  • Liked — CLEAN, COMFORTABLE ROOMS
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae

Address: 2-2-26 Nakadori | Akita shi, Akita ken, Akita 010-0001, Akita Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Akita Prefecture > Akita > Akita Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.