We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patio Dogo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Patio Dogo to your Saves list
Hotel Patio Dogo
20-12 Yuno-machi, Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture 790-0842, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsuyama
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location right next to Dogo Onsen. Clean, comfortable average size room, attentive and courteous staff with some English. Of note, there is coin laundry just several blocks away (hotel staff gave us a map with directions).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
27
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel had an air of grime and dinginess about it. The window curtains looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years, the hallways smelled liked cigarette smoke, and the pillows on the beds felt like they were stuffed with cement. The worst part was that there is a restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel underneath which emanated such strong cooking odors in the rooms in the hotel, that I could not sleep at night. After trying for several hours to sleep, we called the front desk to request a move to another room on a higher floor hopefully further from the strong cooking smell. They only had one other room available two floors above our original room, which was only slightly better. We also requested normal pillows, but they only had two old pillows to give us which were only slightly less rock solid. I would definitely recommend staying elsewhere in Matsuyama. The Japanese restaurant on the ground floor was very good, however.

Room Tip: I do not believe any of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed here in Late August. The Location was fantastic, right across from the Dogo Onsen and an easy walk from the Dogo Onsen tram stop.
I also highly recommend going to Matsuyama Castle. It's the best castle i've visited in Japan. Unlike Osaka Castle, the interior is still in it's original state with interesting displays. The view from the top is also amazing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel is reasonably priced and decently nice. The location makes it excellent. It is right next to the Dogo Onsen, and therefore it is right on the Roman Train line. That's the little train that goes around Matsuyama, so it's easy to hop on to visit Matsuyama Castle, the temples, etc. The staff was helpful and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle wa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Right next door to a huge old onsen (spa), to which the Hotel gave us passes. Good experience! We liked the hotel front desk people, who even managed to find some oil for the wheels on my husband's luggage.My husband was really charmed by Matsuyama and these bright young fellows in the employ of the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

We chose this hotel partly because of the previous favourable reviews, partly for its location and also because it seemed good value. We booked directly with the hotel, using the links from their website. You may need to click a few 'buttons' if the Japanese version appears to find the English language version which, strangely, is different from the Japanese one. The value element comes in if you wish to stay not at major holidays or festival times and, possibly, not for Saturday nights. A month before your stay, you will find a link on the website to a discount page with a black out date calendar. Print this off (it's in 2 languages on different sides of the page) and you'll get a 10% discount off the rack rate - seemingly, rather unusual in Japan - when you present it at check in. It worked for us!

We drove to the hotel so had to work out how to reach the entrance and lobby as the front is on the pedestrian way outside the Dogo onsen building itself. Actually, this wasn't difficult and while we were checking in and taking our bags to our room, one of the members of staff parked our rental car in the hotel's own parking structure. The overnight parking rate was 700 yen which was very reasonably compared to other parking charges near the Onsen building. Having parked the car, we then used the trams to get to other parts of the city, and there's a good value day pass if you expect to ride the tram 3 times or more. However, of course, the main immediate attraction just a minutes' stroll away is the fascinating, authentic Dogo Onsen itself. The hotel gives you a sheet in English on what to expect at the onsen and encourages you to take your yukata, towels and toiletries that they provide to use during your onsen visit.

Our room, which looked directly over the unusual roof of Dogo Onsen, was quite small but well laid out. There's no storage other than a coat rack, however, and anybody with a large bag would struggle to find anyway to lay it down to open it other than on a bed. The bathroom is very clean and efficient, but also very compact.

Our problem came when we went to bed and tried to sleep. The aircon was very inefficient, despite being on max cold for several hours. It wasn't a hot day, only warm - after all, it was mid October - yet it didn't cope at all. This necessitated us opening the window wide to get some cooler air into the room. Because of the way the drapes draw and the window swivels, this lets in a lot of light and any noise. Despite it being midweek there were some merry Japanese holiday makers strolling around in their yukatas after the baths and the microbrew izakaya closed, wandering back to their accommodation. If you get a room facing the side of the hotel rather than the front (which, in fact, most rooms do) you won't have the noise issues.

We found the hotel staff to be very pleasant and helpful, even though they spoke little English. They made a great effort to ensure we understood them and they kept apologising. We elected to have breakfast in the hotel. There's a small breakfast corner facing the pedestrian street which serves a set Japanese breakfast on a tray - not what most non-Japanese would wish for breakfast, but we enjoyed it!

While the hotel is very well located for the Dogo Onsen and a number of stores, restaurants and cafes in the Dogo arcade and around, for a larger choice of restaurants, you would probably wish to take the very frequent and simple to use tram to the commercial centre of Matsuyama. The department stores and fashion stores are located in this area, as is Matsuyama-jo, the castle. The castle is quite interesting to visit the restored interiors and there are good views of the mountains and the Inland Sea from the top level.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, British Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

It is hard to imagine a better location for a hotel in Matsuyama. Right at the end of the streetcar line and across the road from the Dogo Onsen. Rooms are small (think European) but pleasantly laid out. An unfortunate bit of smell from the restaurant vents which are on the lower (front) portion of the hotel; but this is only an issue during meal times.

Staff were pleasant and helpful (albeit with limited english) and Matsuyama was a charming city. There is a surprising amount of night life just off the main street dwontown (easy to get to since you are right on the streetcar line).

If you walk towards the shrine but skirt the base of the hill on which it stands you will find our favourite little park in Japan. It is a small garden with a stream that runs through it. There are three little teahouses available for use by the stream and a small foot onsen (somewhat like the much larger one in the square). All for free. Buy a sushi platter and a bit of libation in the supermarket and enjoy a romantic lunch in your own private corner of Japan!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Patio Dogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Dogo

Address: 20-12 Yuno-machi, Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture 790-0842, Japan
Location: Japan > Shikoku > Ehime Prefecture > Matsuyama
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Matsuyama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Patio Dogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Dogo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patio Dogo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.