We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Club Med” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Kabira Beach

Save Saved
You added Club Med Kabira Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Kabira Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0543, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in Ishigaki
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend at Club Med”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We live in Tokyo and take frequent trips down to Okinawa. This time we spent three days on Ishigaki staying at Club Med. To be honest, we stayed there for a lack of better / more convenient accomodation. The whole Club Med concept has never really been our thing, but we thought to give it a try anyway.

Resort:
There is really nothing to complain about. Club Med is located at a nice (but not fantastic) stretch of beach. The grounds are well maintained, fit nicely into the scenery, and the resort offers a nice pool area, as well as, a good range of sports facilities. We stayed in a standard room which was clean with a cozy/friendly atmosphere and a nice view of the ocean and resort (it was the 'Diber' building complex). Parking facilities are sufficient and free of charge.

Food/Drinks:
Club Med is all inclusive and, during main dining times, meals come in form of a huge buffet which is nice and gives you a lot of variety. If you love gorging, then this is the place for you. The Bar which is located between the pool area and the dining hall/spa complex boasts a good variety of drinks. However, we felt that non-alcoholic cocktails were not good and tasted as if they were stretched with water/too much ice.

Atmosphere:
Likes - in general, the resort comes across as very relaxed with a 'beach' atmosphere. You feel millions of miles away from overcrowded Tokyo and it is almost as if you are not in Japan.
Dislikes - the whole 'GO' staff concept did not appeal to us. Sitting around the same table, sharing breakfast/dinner etc with local staff and other guests is not our idea of a relaxing / private weekend. However, there is an option to get a private table (or at least semi-private) if desired. We also felt that the whole set-up and atmosphere was overly 'cheery' and organized to a point that my better half actually felt annoyed and called it 'fake.' Still, it needs to be mentioned, that you always have the choice not to participate in the 'mood' or any kind of activities and do your own thing. Nobody will mind. However, we will probably not stay at a Club Med again. However, we do believe that if you have children, this is a great place for a care-free family holiday.

Location:
Club Med is nicely located close to Kabira Bay in lush/beautiful surroundings. Since we had a rental, we didn't spend a lot of time at the Club but explored the island instead. If have a choice, we advise you to get a car and do the same. Spending your time exclusively at the resort would be a waste. For excellent beaches/swimming/snorkeling, drive to Yonekura Beach or, even better, Sunset Beach where we spent 5 hours alone on the beach wihthout encountering anyone else; fantastic. If you want to check out neighboring islands, take the 10 minutes ferry down to Taketomi Island which boasts a beautiful Ryukyu style village and is best explored by rental bicycle.

Overall, if you want to take a family vacation or simply love interacting/getting to know other people for a couple of days, Club Med is the place for you. Based on our preferences, we will pick a different hotel/resort next time around.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    73
    25
    11
    22
See reviews for
158
55
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

This was by far the best vacation I have taken with my 4 year old twins. The staff were enthusiastic, kind, sincere and helpful. The island is bucolic, the water breathtaking. The hotel was laid back yet details are not overlooked - rooms are very clean and all have views of the sea - the grounds are lovely, the food choices endless and quite good. The activities for the children were well thought out, led by happy counselors. Really, a superb vacation. I also had a few massages -the manager of the spa was persistent in offering more spa services than I wanted, but this can be overlooked for the over all fabulous time my family and I had here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

The beach and location are specatular. Great location. Hotel is old and if you have small kids spreadout. Check your location from the center carefully otherwise long walks. I had a small nightmare trying to switch rooms because we were in the farthest building and my daughter was crying half way to the pool and as a single mum I couldn't leave her alone there so back and forth was too much. I called right away for a room switched but in trying to make any kind of a change in a Japanese hotel is almost impossible. Required a thousands of approvals and even then they downgraded me and required endless debate and negoaition to get rates adjusted over nothing which was frustrating a semi-invasive to a relaxing time. Had they just said we'll take care of it I never would have cared. But of course no one can on there own take care of anything. Then the pillows were like rocks and bedding was like canvas. My room was covered in ants and no matter how many times I call room service felt like I lived in a swarm and nothing changed. Food was good but still buffet cold and over cooked. service in dining room was confusing around being served wine if you didn't tell anyone right away hard to get them back. Pool was fabulous.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

This is our first clubmed vacation and we chose kabira because of its beautiful beach and its short distance from taipei. Its only a 40 minute plane ride then another 40 minute bus ride to the resort.
Its a very family friendly resort with most of the guests with young kids. I was there with my husband and my 1.5 year-old daughter and we all enjoyed the resort. It is a large property with lots of buildings. As anyone who has been to a clubmed knows that there r lots of G.O.s around the resort with most of them being very curteous and helpful. (we especially loved the GO's at the kids club, they were great with kids! the kid's club had a swimming pool and playground which the GO's did daily activities.)The activities around the resort includs swimming at the main pool, sailing, snorkeling trip, beach soccer, beach volleyball, tennis, arrow shooting, nightly shows and kid's club. There r some excursions that can also be arranged out side of the resort.
We had a standard ocean view room which we thought was quite small with a small veranda. It was on the 3rd floor so we had a hard time climbing the stairs with a baby. I would recommend a 1st floor room close to the main building if u have young kids or babies. The 1st floor rooms had no view of the ocean but has direct access to the beach which is very convinient.
As for meals, there is only one main restaurant which offers three buffets a day with japanese cuisine, okinawa specialties and some western style foods. The restaurant gets quite crowded at peak meal times and we were seated together with other guest and GO's. The food was very average, not very good. The bar offers light snacks, ramen (instant noodle), soft drinks, cocktails and crushed ice. We thought the cocktails were also very average, not so great.
Overall, the resort is a good, decent, a bit above average family resort and don't expect luxury or pampering.

  • Liked — beach, pool, kids club GOs
  • Disliked — food, room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

The resort is located about 40 minutes drive from the airport and CLUB MED arranges for a pick-up from the airport. This is often facilitated in a CLUB MED bus or depending on the number of guests in a local taxi ( with A/C)
There a re three room categories available (superior in the 1st floor, balcony/terrace on the ground floor and ocean view on the 2nd floor). However most room on the 1st floor allow for ocean view as well. In addition there are some suites available. More recently in addition to the A/C the club has invested in dehumidifiers which brings the humidity in the rooms down. However the air become so dry that people with contact lenses may experience some problems. All rooms have a bathroom as well as a separate toilet. The rooms in the first floor also have a small balcony.
Breakfast ranges from traditional Japanese cuisine to bacon and eggs. Healthy food like yoghurts and fresh food as always available. CLUB MED has recently introduced free snacks in between meals (at certain times of the year) as well as free bar services (most alcohol included, some exclusions). Snacks in between meals are available at the bar ( fruits, cakes, biscuits, hors deuvre) as well as a small a la carte menu in the restaurant. Lunch and dinner are themed and range from a gala dinner with seafood to Italian, Mexican, Island etc. The chefs have introduced signs to show which meals are low in calories too. The desserts are spectaculous and the head chef is French.
There is a wide range of free sport and ongoing daily and nightly entertainment. Circus skills including flying trapeze are easily learned. However Kabira is the best windsurfing spot in the Northern Asian hemisphere in winter. The equipment is great and the staff is dedicated to get it right. Beginners are welcome, but Advanced windsurfer are well catered for.
In fact the trip was so enjoyable that we will return in April 2008.

  • Liked — Food was amazing, great gym and classes
  • Disliked — You have to ask if you want to have your beds put together
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Normally the adventure-travel types, we booked a 3-night stay at Club Med Kabira resort with the sole intentions of relaxing and enjoying what the hotel has to offer. We were pleasantly surprised with the laid-back, yet mature and sophisticated atmosphere of a resort-style hotel. It was dotted with a range of ethnic families and guests, yet thankfully not crowded (off-season) so we could enjoy it to its fullest.

PROS: All inclusive food, drinks, activities, entertainment, and lodging. A travel agent arranged a great deal on flight, transportation, etc. The bus from Ishigaki Airport is convenient. A rental car is not needed on Ishigaki. Club Med Kabira is located on Kabira Bay which has world-class diving, snorkeling, and crystal-clear water. Definitely do the manta ray scramble which can be arranged through the excursions desk.

The staff members are polyglots (multilingual) which reflects their worldly experience, nature, and hospitality. Most importantly they are truly observant and cater to your M.O.: privacy, regular interaction, or something in-between, they cater to your likes and dislikes.

Activities abound to suit all types of personalities and levels: archery, windsurfing, mountain biking, circus, tennis, soccer, kayaking, etc., etc (too many to recount here). There is no shortage of entertainment during the day and night.

The facilities are well equipped and clean. Accommodations are spacious and quiet with an ocean view or garden balconies offering a hiatus when needed. International chefs cook up tasty, diverse menus which change daily and are dietary friendly (vegetarian, Halal, etc.). Cheese enthusiasts beware: there is an entire table with tracklements galore! The spicy, international menu is a nice change of pace from very uniform-tasting local cuisine. The bar caters to all in a relaxing Indonesian indoor-outdoor atmosphere: fruit shakes and snacks for everyone throughout the morning until evening.

CONS: Excursions and spa treatments are an extra charge but within reasonable prices. Regularly changing weather can cancel windsurfing activities. The Japanese menu could be reduced and replaced with even more ethnic and worldly dishes which the chefs seem to excel in preparation.

Overall, it was an excellent experience which has triggered our curiosity about other Club Meds. We hope that other facilities will leave us with the same level of satisfaction that Club Med Kabira did. We left there truly refreshed and relaxed.

  • Liked — All-inclusive, outdoor activities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Kabira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kabira Beach

Address: Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0543, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ishigaki
#7 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kabira Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabira peninsula is located on the north-west part of the Island of Ishigaki. This Resort stands opposite a white sandy beach where the sea is extremely clear. The high quality of the underwater world and the wealth of fauna and flora make the bay of Kabira Japan's most beautiful diving spot. Kabira is also an excellent starting point from which to explore the purest of Japan's traditions. For all the family to discover, this Resort is an excellent way to fall for the charms of Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kabira Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kabira Beach Hotel Ishigaki
Club Med Ishigaki
Club Med Kyushu-Okinawa
Ishigaki Club Med
Club Med Kabira Beach Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Kabira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.