We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Club Med formula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Kabira Beach

Save Saved
You added Club Med Kabira Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Kabira Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0543, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in Ishigaki
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“The Club Med formula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If the Club Med formula wrks for you, you'd be returning time and time again.

This location is very convenient for Taiwanese, they have a direct flight. For us, it was Naha and then domestic to Ishigaki.

Having spent days in the Club Med resort, doing the usual Club Med things: relaxing, eating and drinking to excess, we hired a car to toru around the island.

The island is a very relaxed place with narrow roads, few cars and lots of bays to explore. We even found a cave system on the tourist map. Well worth taking the time to drive a round.

The resort is everything you'd expect a Club Med to be, except the food seemed even richer here, more variety with the Okinawa cuisine. We met a Tokyo family who came every year with their three sons, many for the food and life on a beach feel of Ishigaki.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    74
    25
    11
    22
See reviews for
159
55
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went there last week! Weather was nice and warm and everything about the place was so peaceful and simply beautiful. Highly recommend for families. Do take time to check out Taketomi or Kondoi beach...amazing beauty. Will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent about 2 weeks there during christmas period with our 4 kids (11, 9, 3 & 3) and we all had a wonderful time. Not the best spot at that time of the year if you are looking for sun-bathing or enjoying the pool, but certainly worth it if you are looking for a place to relax and have all family enjoying it. Entire staff proved very welcoming and thoughtful.
Kids all experienced and approved the mini-club and petit-club. Quite a number of activities are available (though a few are closed during winter period), and I particularly enjoyed the water sports: not that they should be given any credit for the very good wind we experienced, but the spot is really good for windsurfing with good equipment readilly available and cheerful staff always on the move to make sure you have a great time... and looking after your safety, to what they proved very efficient. Diving was not possible (winter period) but snorkeling is still a great experience just by the beach.
We would maybe regret the lack of japanese "atmosphere" (you don't feel like you are in Japan, which could be disappointing for looking for some taste of it) or the average condition of our rooms, clean and well maintained but a bit dated.
Overall, we all had a great time and we certainly look forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwakuni, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at Club Med Kabira Beach. Our room was clean and spacious--we had the ground floor room which opened to a garden. Our 6 year old had a blast running around catching butterflies. The service was excellent and we liked the variety of food offered.

It has been nearly a year since our visit and our kids still beg to go back. They had so much fun, especially at Mini-Club Med. In fact, when we were there they ASKED to spend most of the time with their friends and the staff which was fine with us. Our typical day went something like this: morning breakfast together, dropped the kids off (the kids then got to do cool stuff like archery, flying trapeze, swimming at the pool, arts and crafts, beach trips etc...ALL in one day), we'd go diving or snorkeling or wind surfing, then back for lunch. In the late after noon, we would pick up the kids and spend family time at the pool then dropped the kids off so they can enjoy their meals with their friends while we have dinner by ourselves (we're in the same restaurant, just in a different part). Then we would meet up and enjoy the evening show. It was absolutely fantastic. We went in May and it wasn't busy at all.

On our last day, we rented a car through Club Med and drove around and visited various points of interest. As for diving, we actually didn't go through Club Med because of the price. Instead, we picked Dive School Umicoza and highly recommend them. They provided transportation as well as lunch.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk, as for rooms closer to the pool. Ground level rooms have sliding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spentt 5 days in our 3rd Club Med at Kariba Beach, Ishigaki. My wife and I are great fan of diving, we placed our kids, aged 7 and 8 in the mini club and we went diving with Euro Divers, the affiliated diving company in Club Med.
Food and Lodging were nice. The service was also up to standard. The kids were very impressed by the night show in the theatre every nights. They are really entertaining. Perhaps the village chief is from USA and he just arrived there 10 days ago!
We were lucky that the weather was so nice except the 3rd day when the sea appeared a bit wavy. The snorkelling trip was cancelled. Do watch out for typhoon season in Okinawa. Otherwise you really can't do anything there.
The diving was wonderful! New and well maintained equipment, good English speaking dive masters, good visibility under water... We visited the Menta City twice and we saw up to 9 mentas surfing around. The scene was unforgattable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I join ClubMed.
During the 5 days 4 nights vacation, I experience the most relax vacation. Food is wide variety, i especially like the curry and spagetti and misu soup. GO is kind and nice, and wrap my injuries in great care (get hurt in snorkeling). The room is clean and tidy (mine is deluxe ocean view). The transport is convenient, can take bus to the city , as Clubmed is the terminal station. Overall experience is excellent, thx Clubmed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Comical it was so bad.

The night before we left, I called the front desk to ask for the shuttle times as we had changed our departure flight. I was told 7:10 AM. At 7:10 our family and another were met by the shuttle. The GM thanked the other family for joining Club Med as we brought our bags out. The receptionist ran out, grabbed out bags and told us not to get on this shuttle- ours was coming. I told my husband "Thank goodness he told us!" as we don't understand the Okinawan dialect very well.

The GM waved off the shuttle and left.

A public city bus pulled up and the receptionist indicated this was our airport transportation. He then handed me a schedule written in Japanese kanji, pushed us toward the bus, told us to change buses at a location he circled on the schedule, and ran inside. A GM wave off didn"t come with the city bus departure. The next 15 minutes were spent trying to figure out how much the bus cost, how to actually pay the money required and figure out where and how to change buses. We rode it until we found a cab and then abandoned ship.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels, across the board in terms of stars, but have never been put on a city bus when paying that kind of money for a vacation.

Very few employees at the front desk speak English well enough to be helpful. The food is mediocre even though there is a lot of it. Because the hotel has tile floors you will hear every ball bounced and kid jumping off the bed in the room above you. And they will do it all night long.

Sayonara Club Med.

Room Tip: Best for families with very young kids. (under 9) Get a room on a top floor. Speak Japanese. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Kabira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kabira Beach

Address: Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0543, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ishigaki
#7 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kabira Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabira peninsula is located on the north-west part of the Island of Ishigaki. This Resort stands opposite a white sandy beach where the sea is extremely clear. The high quality of the underwater world and the wealth of fauna and flora make the bay of Kabira Japan's most beautiful diving spot. Kabira is also an excellent starting point from which to explore the purest of Japan's traditions. For all the family to discover, this Resort is an excellent way to fall for the charms of Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kabira Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kabira Beach Hotel Ishigaki
Club Med Ishigaki
Club Med Kyushu-Okinawa
Ishigaki Club Med
Club Med Kabira Beach Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Kabira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.