We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, nice food, nice location, nice GO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Kabira Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Kabira Beach to your Saves list
Club Med Kabira Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki 907-0543, Okinawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice beach, nice food, nice location, nice GO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I join ClubMed.
During the 5 days 4 nights vacation, I experience the most relax vacation. Food is wide variety, i especially like the curry and spagetti and misu soup. GO is kind and nice, and wrap my injuries in great care (get hurt in snorkeling). The room is clean and tidy (mine is deluxe ocean view). The transport is convenient, can take bus to the city , as Clubmed is the terminal station. Overall experience is excellent, thx Clubmed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    91
    28
    13
    22
See reviews for
188
62
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Comical it was so bad.

The night before we left, I called the front desk to ask for the shuttle times as we had changed our departure flight. I was told 7:10 AM. At 7:10 our family and another were met by the shuttle. The GM thanked the other family for joining Club Med as we brought our bags out. The receptionist ran out, grabbed out bags and told us not to get on this shuttle- ours was coming. I told my husband "Thank goodness he told us!" as we don't understand the Okinawan dialect very well.

The GM waved off the shuttle and left.

A public city bus pulled up and the receptionist indicated this was our airport transportation. He then handed me a schedule written in Japanese kanji, pushed us toward the bus, told us to change buses at a location he circled on the schedule, and ran inside. A GM wave off didn"t come with the city bus departure. The next 15 minutes were spent trying to figure out how much the bus cost, how to actually pay the money required and figure out where and how to change buses. We rode it until we found a cab and then abandoned ship.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels, across the board in terms of stars, but have never been put on a city bus when paying that kind of money for a vacation.

Very few employees at the front desk speak English well enough to be helpful. The food is mediocre even though there is a lot of it. Because the hotel has tile floors you will hear every ball bounced and kid jumping off the bed in the room above you. And they will do it all night long.

Sayonara Club Med.

Room Tip: Best for families with very young kids. (under 9) Get a room on a top floor. Speak Japanese. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We arrived at the resort at the end of November 2011. There were limited activities due to the season. We were able to sit by the pool some, but it was small and the weather was windy and chilly. We snorkeled for a short time, tried archery, tennis, bocce ball, and attended the evening entertainment. The food buffet was a large spread, but it was certainly not what we were used to from resorts in this price range. Every meal was a buffet meal served in the same dining area. Our room was very outdated and dark, but our view was gorgeous. The evening entertainment was mediocre. After the evening show there was usually an event at the bar. Only some drinks were included in the all inclusive price. If you are looking to sit and enjoy your drink you can forget it. The staff will harass you until you feel pressured to perform karaoke, dance, or go to bed. We understand that the resort cannot control the weather and we also understood that some of the activities were limited due to the weather, but we did not feel that this trip was worth what we paid. There should be a much larger adjustment in rates during the off season.

Room Tip: I would return to Ishigaki, just not to this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a great relaxing trip mentally and physically away from Japan Inc. hotel grounds are well taken care of, rooms are a but dated but mostly functional (however, no wash cloth provided and AC was underpowered). I went in three different rooms and the furnishings were very different in each. Building A is the furtherest from the "core" (lobby, pool, beach etc.) laid out like A, B, C, D core E, F, G etc. I think E and F are the closest to the beach with some rooms having direct access. Beach shack provides snorkel, kayak, wind surf and other activities. One warning, protected beach area is not protected. When snorkeling I saw numerous poisonous star fish and sure enough someone in our group stepped on one and had to be taken to hospital.
Also, if you are new to Club Med, might be surprised by GO staff joining you at meals but they always ask for permission. If you do not want them to join, just say "no".Overall a great escape from the Japan I usually live in.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our first trip to a Club Med resort and although we enjoyed it, there were some drawbacks to an all inclusive package. We went in the off season which meant that the pool was unavailable, as were some but not all of the outdoor activities. Naturally the weather is beyond the control of the hotel and to compensate for this there were a number of other facilities that could be taken advantage of indoors. Being "all inclusive" made us feel obliged to eat all meals at the resort. There is plenty of food but the quality is very average although most days there was a special such as steak made fresh to order which was generally good. At breakfast there was no one making eggs to order which I would expect at the price we paid. The wines were also disappointing, just one red and one white. Anything else was additional as were bottled beers. Mixed drinks were fine in so far as they contained the right ingredients but they were not well made over all. A game of pool was also an extra 300 yen which felt like penny pinching. Our room was fine and seemed to have been refurbished recently although the bathroom smelled bad and was clearly the original - for sure this was a two star bathroom at best. Internet access in the room was abysmal as was connectivity throughout the resort. Whist I can accept they may have issues with cellphone reception, the internet is within their control. I understand this resort is scheduled for refurbishment this year and this should be ungraded. The team were great and really made the stay. They work incredibly hard and have long hours and are alway willing to help. The shows are entertaining and well choreographed considering the limited time they must have to prepare and the skills sets of the participants. I think when the sun shines this resort would be delightful and for those with kids or an active lifestyle that could use the water-sports it would be hard to go wrong here. If it is refurbished well I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: See if they have rooms with refurbished bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

i'm currently at the hotel. The room stinks (bad airconditioning). The food is plentiful but tasteless. The rooms are basic..... really basic and dark too. I'm struggling to see what I spent all that money on. This is a 3 star package .... nothing more. Paying anything more than $60 USD per person per night is a complete waste of money!

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not smell and which has good light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our first time to visit a Club Med resort (2 adults, 3 children: ages 2, 5, and 6 years old and 1 infant). Following please find a rundown of our impressions of Club Med Kabira. We stayed in 2 inter-connecting superior triple rooms for 1 week.

Positives
- Room sizes: perfect.
- Comfort: basic, but sufficient for a family holiday.
- Baby care: excellent (baby bath, baby chairs, baby bed, nappy bin, utensils for making baby food, etc. all included).
- Staff: very friendly and helpful and was fluent in English.
- Activities: plenty (i.e. windsurfing, snorkeling, canoeing, aerobics, water aerobics, yoga, trapeze, trampoline, table tennis, tennis, basketball hoops, etc. all included).
- Food: great variety of International and Japanese cuisine, buffet style. Fantastic for children to choose their favourites, especially from the dessert buffet!
Food (main meals and finger foods provided throughout the day) and drinks (soft drinks, juices, alcoholic beverages) all included.
- Kids’ clubs (ages 2 – 17) with friendly G.O.s provided daily entertainment from morning until evening. The children could join when they/you wanted.
- Beautiful beach right in front of hotel, very short walk.
- Pool includes a kids’ section.
- Show every night, great for kids’ entertainment.

Negatives
- Big cockroaches in rooms.
- Rooms or blankets very moldy/dusty.
- Toilets smelled of urine.
⇒ After a couple of days we complained and were moved to different rooms, which were better.
- Every time we went to the beach we found numerous pieces of glass in the sand!
- The swimming pool was rather small.
- G.O.s (Gentils Organisateurs) came to join your table at meal times, which is a general Club Med concept.

Summary
It took a while getting used to the Club Med concept, but taking the convenience of the all-inclusive deal into consideration, I would definitely go again.

There was no need to travel outside of the complex to indulge in water sports, there was never a queue and also booking was not required.
We didn’t have to worry about where or what to eat with 4 small children and there were plenty of activities all day long to keep us happy and busy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Kabira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kabira Beach

Address: Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki 907-0543, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ishigaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#4 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kabira Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabira peninsula is located on the north-west part of the Island of Ishigaki. This Resort stands opposite a white sandy beach where the sea is extremely clear. The high quality of the underwater world and the wealth of fauna and flora make the bay of Kabira Japan's most beautiful diving spot. Kabira is also an excellent starting point from which to explore the purest of Japan's traditions. For all the family to discover, this Resort is an excellent way to fall for the charms of Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kabira Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kabira Beach Hotel Ishigaki
Club Med Ishigaki
Club Med Kyushu-Okinawa
Ishigaki Club Med
Club Med Kabira Beach Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Kabira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.