We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away from Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Kabira Beach

Save Saved
You added Club Med Kabira Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Kabira Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0543, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Ishigaki
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Far away from Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a great relaxing trip mentally and physically away from Japan Inc. hotel grounds are well taken care of, rooms are a but dated but mostly functional (however, no wash cloth provided and AC was underpowered). I went in three different rooms and the furnishings were very different in each. Building A is the furtherest from the "core" (lobby, pool, beach etc.) laid out like A, B, C, D core E, F, G etc. I think E and F are the closest to the beach with some rooms having direct access. Beach shack provides snorkel, kayak, wind surf and other activities. One warning, protected beach area is not protected. When snorkeling I saw numerous poisonous star fish and sure enough someone in our group stepped on one and had to be taken to hospital.
Also, if you are new to Club Med, might be surprised by GO staff joining you at meals but they always ask for permission. If you do not want them to join, just say "no".Overall a great escape from the Japan I usually live in.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    78
    27
    12
    22
See reviews for
167
59
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was our first trip to a Club Med resort and although we enjoyed it, there were some drawbacks to an all inclusive package. We went in the off season which meant that the pool was unavailable, as were some but not all of the outdoor activities. Naturally the weather is beyond the control of the hotel and to compensate for this there were a number of other facilities that could be taken advantage of indoors. Being "all inclusive" made us feel obliged to eat all meals at the resort. There is plenty of food but the quality is very average although most days there was a special such as steak made fresh to order which was generally good. At breakfast there was no one making eggs to order which I would expect at the price we paid. The wines were also disappointing, just one red and one white. Anything else was additional as were bottled beers. Mixed drinks were fine in so far as they contained the right ingredients but they were not well made over all. A game of pool was also an extra 300 yen which felt like penny pinching. Our room was fine and seemed to have been refurbished recently although the bathroom smelled bad and was clearly the original - for sure this was a two star bathroom at best. Internet access in the room was abysmal as was connectivity throughout the resort. Whist I can accept they may have issues with cellphone reception, the internet is within their control. I understand this resort is scheduled for refurbishment this year and this should be ungraded. The team were great and really made the stay. They work incredibly hard and have long hours and are alway willing to help. The shows are entertaining and well choreographed considering the limited time they must have to prepare and the skills sets of the participants. I think when the sun shines this resort would be delightful and for those with kids or an active lifestyle that could use the water-sports it would be hard to go wrong here. If it is refurbished well I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: See if they have rooms with refurbished bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

i'm currently at the hotel. The room stinks (bad airconditioning). The food is plentiful but tasteless. The rooms are basic..... really basic and dark too. I'm struggling to see what I spent all that money on. This is a 3 star package .... nothing more. Paying anything more than $60 USD per person per night is a complete waste of money!

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not smell and which has good light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our first time to visit a Club Med resort (2 adults, 3 children: ages 2, 5, and 6 years old and 1 infant). Following please find a rundown of our impressions of Club Med Kabira. We stayed in 2 inter-connecting superior triple rooms for 1 week.

Positives
- Room sizes: perfect.
- Comfort: basic, but sufficient for a family holiday.
- Baby care: excellent (baby bath, baby chairs, baby bed, nappy bin, utensils for making baby food, etc. all included).
- Staff: very friendly and helpful and was fluent in English.
- Activities: plenty (i.e. windsurfing, snorkeling, canoeing, aerobics, water aerobics, yoga, trapeze, trampoline, table tennis, tennis, basketball hoops, etc. all included).
- Food: great variety of International and Japanese cuisine, buffet style. Fantastic for children to choose their favourites, especially from the dessert buffet!
Food (main meals and finger foods provided throughout the day) and drinks (soft drinks, juices, alcoholic beverages) all included.
- Kids’ clubs (ages 2 – 17) with friendly G.O.s provided daily entertainment from morning until evening. The children could join when they/you wanted.
- Beautiful beach right in front of hotel, very short walk.
- Pool includes a kids’ section.
- Show every night, great for kids’ entertainment.

Negatives
- Big cockroaches in rooms.
- Rooms or blankets very moldy/dusty.
- Toilets smelled of urine.
⇒ After a couple of days we complained and were moved to different rooms, which were better.
- Every time we went to the beach we found numerous pieces of glass in the sand!
- The swimming pool was rather small.
- G.O.s (Gentils Organisateurs) came to join your table at meal times, which is a general Club Med concept.

Summary
It took a while getting used to the Club Med concept, but taking the convenience of the all-inclusive deal into consideration, I would definitely go again.

There was no need to travel outside of the complex to indulge in water sports, there was never a queue and also booking was not required.
We didn’t have to worry about where or what to eat with 4 small children and there were plenty of activities all day long to keep us happy and busy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We just got back from a four day stay. It was picture perfect. The senery was wonderful. Many activities for the whole family (we had a family of 6 with infant to school age children). Clean rooms and beautiful grounds. The best part is the friendly, inviting staff. I could not single out one person that was more accomidating than another. From check-in, dining, excursions, water/land activities, evening shows and Mini club they are all awesome! I wasn't planning on taking my children to the mini club, but I couldn't get my daughter out! She had such a wonderful time and felt very special with all the attention and activities that she participated in. I would highly recommend this vacation spot. There is one down side...you have to leave and go home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

All in all it is a great place, but since I was on a company trip I didn't pay. I'm not sure Club Med would be my choice if I had to pay very much. Kabira is a beautiful place. The Club Med resort and the surrounding areas are a natural paradise. The beaches are absolutely fantastic.
I do have mixed reviews about Club Med itself. The grounds are beautiful and very well-kept. The standard rooms are worn-out, not unclean, just worn-out. The double bed was 2 singles put together and there was a bar in the middle.The deluxe rooms are better but still not great. The facilities are past their prime. The spa was super expensive. The dinner buffet was really good, plenty to choose from and very delicious. Breakfast also had a wide choice but seemed to all be rather bland and not really good. Lunch was in between, not great but not bad. Most of the staff are really friendly. The bar was OK but they don't try very hard to be creative with their very limited choice. For example they absolutely won't wake a mojito because they don't say they don't have fresh mint, but of course the kitchen does have fresh mint. They are very rigid to follow their Club Med rules. If I had to pay resort prices myself I would expect more flexibility.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

it was our second time visiting there and we went there for college graduation trip.
first time was for high school graduation trip.
everytime we went there, we got wonderful experience beyond our expectation.

the most remarkable point is staffs, who are called "GOs".
they are very friendly and kind. we could have an amazing time because of GOs.

i recommend there for students, because of the all inclusive system.
with this system, you can get free delicious foods, drinks and many attractions with budget-friendly price. ( there are many discount plans. check their website) .
you dont have to worry about money. this is gonna release you from daily life and make your trip like it is a dream.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Kabira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kabira Beach

Address: Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0543, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ishigaki
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#6 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kabira Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabira peninsula is located on the north-west part of the Island of Ishigaki. This Resort stands opposite a white sandy beach where the sea is extremely clear. The high quality of the underwater world and the wealth of fauna and flora make the bay of Kabira Japan's most beautiful diving spot. Kabira is also an excellent starting point from which to explore the purest of Japan's traditions. For all the family to discover, this Resort is an excellent way to fall for the charms of Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kabira Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kabira Beach Hotel Ishigaki
Club Med Ishigaki
Club Med Kyushu-Okinawa
Ishigaki Club Med
Club Med Kabira Beach Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Kabira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.