We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waste of your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Kabira Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Kabira Beach to your Saves list
Club Med Kabira Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki 907-0543, Okinawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 stars 336 Reviews
tokyo
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“waste of your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

i'm currently at the hotel. The room stinks (bad airconditioning). The food is plentiful but tasteless. The rooms are basic..... really basic and dark too. I'm struggling to see what I spent all that money on. This is a 3 star package .... nothing more. Paying anything more than $60 USD per person per night is a complete waste of money!

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not smell and which has good light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    84
    28
    13
    22
See reviews for
180
62
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our first time to visit a Club Med resort (2 adults, 3 children: ages 2, 5, and 6 years old and 1 infant). Following please find a rundown of our impressions of Club Med Kabira. We stayed in 2 inter-connecting superior triple rooms for 1 week.

Positives
- Room sizes: perfect.
- Comfort: basic, but sufficient for a family holiday.
- Baby care: excellent (baby bath, baby chairs, baby bed, nappy bin, utensils for making baby food, etc. all included).
- Staff: very friendly and helpful and was fluent in English.
- Activities: plenty (i.e. windsurfing, snorkeling, canoeing, aerobics, water aerobics, yoga, trapeze, trampoline, table tennis, tennis, basketball hoops, etc. all included).
- Food: great variety of International and Japanese cuisine, buffet style. Fantastic for children to choose their favourites, especially from the dessert buffet!
Food (main meals and finger foods provided throughout the day) and drinks (soft drinks, juices, alcoholic beverages) all included.
- Kids’ clubs (ages 2 – 17) with friendly G.O.s provided daily entertainment from morning until evening. The children could join when they/you wanted.
- Beautiful beach right in front of hotel, very short walk.
- Pool includes a kids’ section.
- Show every night, great for kids’ entertainment.

Negatives
- Big cockroaches in rooms.
- Rooms or blankets very moldy/dusty.
- Toilets smelled of urine.
⇒ After a couple of days we complained and were moved to different rooms, which were better.
- Every time we went to the beach we found numerous pieces of glass in the sand!
- The swimming pool was rather small.
- G.O.s (Gentils Organisateurs) came to join your table at meal times, which is a general Club Med concept.

Summary
It took a while getting used to the Club Med concept, but taking the convenience of the all-inclusive deal into consideration, I would definitely go again.

There was no need to travel outside of the complex to indulge in water sports, there was never a queue and also booking was not required.
We didn’t have to worry about where or what to eat with 4 small children and there were plenty of activities all day long to keep us happy and busy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We just got back from a four day stay. It was picture perfect. The senery was wonderful. Many activities for the whole family (we had a family of 6 with infant to school age children). Clean rooms and beautiful grounds. The best part is the friendly, inviting staff. I could not single out one person that was more accomidating than another. From check-in, dining, excursions, water/land activities, evening shows and Mini club they are all awesome! I wasn't planning on taking my children to the mini club, but I couldn't get my daughter out! She had such a wonderful time and felt very special with all the attention and activities that she participated in. I would highly recommend this vacation spot. There is one down side...you have to leave and go home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

All in all it is a great place, but since I was on a company trip I didn't pay. I'm not sure Club Med would be my choice if I had to pay very much. Kabira is a beautiful place. The Club Med resort and the surrounding areas are a natural paradise. The beaches are absolutely fantastic.
I do have mixed reviews about Club Med itself. The grounds are beautiful and very well-kept. The standard rooms are worn-out, not unclean, just worn-out. The double bed was 2 singles put together and there was a bar in the middle.The deluxe rooms are better but still not great. The facilities are past their prime. The spa was super expensive. The dinner buffet was really good, plenty to choose from and very delicious. Breakfast also had a wide choice but seemed to all be rather bland and not really good. Lunch was in between, not great but not bad. Most of the staff are really friendly. The bar was OK but they don't try very hard to be creative with their very limited choice. For example they absolutely won't wake a mojito because they don't say they don't have fresh mint, but of course the kitchen does have fresh mint. They are very rigid to follow their Club Med rules. If I had to pay resort prices myself I would expect more flexibility.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

it was our second time visiting there and we went there for college graduation trip.
first time was for high school graduation trip.
everytime we went there, we got wonderful experience beyond our expectation.

the most remarkable point is staffs, who are called "GOs".
they are very friendly and kind. we could have an amazing time because of GOs.

i recommend there for students, because of the all inclusive system.
with this system, you can get free delicious foods, drinks and many attractions with budget-friendly price. ( there are many discount plans. check their website) .
you dont have to worry about money. this is gonna release you from daily life and make your trip like it is a dream.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

For this hotel,I really enjoyed because the cuisine in the Club med is excellent!Why I say so is because every night,the theme of cuisine changes and also the show which begin after dinner will change also that means the customers can see different show and eat different kinds of food every day!
And talk about staff,I was suprised because the staff always sat next to ke and eat dinner or breakfast,even lunch with us that can relax ourselves and also we can talk with them just like friends!This is the thing that I enjoyed best in this hotel!
And last,I hope you can be there once and feel same feeling with me!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

3 days was not enough, our family needed a few days to reconnect after a few months of non stop work and Club Med was just what we needed! We were nervous because the weather forecast was not the best, but the staff definitely made up for it! From the minute we got there we were taken care! We got there early in the morning and were given a tour and taken right to our rooms, no wait! The kids enjoyed the mini club with their amazing care givers and we enjoyed a drink at the bar. The staff was beyond welcoming and entertaining! The food was a great mix between Japanese and western style food, and plenty of selection! Beer & wine was available with every meal and a great all you can drink bar was available all day starting at 10am. Finger food was available most of the day at the bar as well. Despite the weather, there was plenty to do, bar games, table tennis, the spa (extra charge but so worth it), board games, yoga, squash, walk on the beach, and every night there was live entertainment. The same lovely people making sure your day was wonderful, entertained you at night. Ara was definitely the highlight of the night. He and the rest of the staff were so funny and highly entertaining!

The resort offers excursions at an extra cost, but they will tailor them to your needs. Joanne modified one of the trips to the mini zoo just for us and it was perfect! The kids got to feed and play with 36 monkeys, definitely one of the most memorable parts of the trip!

The only down side to the trip I would say were the beds, not very comfortable, but that is very common we've found throughout Japan. The view from our room was gorgeous!

Club Med's best asset is definitely it's staff! The GM Dominique was beyond accommodating; the care givers Bianda, Eng, and Asako were not only wonderful to our children but to us as well; Roy our bartender always knew exactly what we wanted; and Ara & Tom Tom are the reason we will be returning! They were the perfect mix of fun, entertainment & making sure we were happy! I can't say enough about the staff as a whole, perfect!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Kabira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kabira Beach

Address: Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki 907-0543, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ishigaki
#5 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kabira Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabira peninsula is located on the north-west part of the Island of Ishigaki. This Resort stands opposite a white sandy beach where the sea is extremely clear. The high quality of the underwater world and the wealth of fauna and flora make the bay of Kabira Japan's most beautiful diving spot. Kabira is also an excellent starting point from which to explore the purest of Japan's traditions. For all the family to discover, this Resort is an excellent way to fall for the charms of Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kabira Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kabira Beach Hotel Ishigaki
Club Med Ishigaki
Club Med Kyushu-Okinawa
Ishigaki Club Med
Club Med Kabira Beach Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Kabira Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.