We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view of Kabira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minshuku Maetakaya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ishigaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minshuku Maetakaya
Save Saved
You added Minshuku Maetakaya to your Saves list
934-32 Kabira, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0453, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Ishigaki
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The view of Kabira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 14 night's in Minshuku Kaetamaya. The location is perfect. You can walk everywhere and bus stops are very close. And if you diving like me ex. Umicoza diving shop pick up every morning. Kaetamaya is nice place to relaxing and enjoing for silence and good views. The rooms have propbly best views to Kabira bay. Breakfast and dinner was very good. And athmosphere is also good. I really enjoy my two weeks in Maetakaya.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
6
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed 10 restful, although rainy, days in this lovely comfortable guesthouse overlooking Kabira Bay. It was a nice quiet village which allowed us opportunities for walks on the beach (walking distance or bus to swimming beaches), through the village and arrangements with Umicoza for diving and snorkeling. Kabira is quiet and this guesthouse provided rest away from Ishigaki city but was accessible by bus or taxi, although probably not for those seeking nightlife and late nights.

The views were great from all of the traditional Tatami mat rooms (good cushioned futons). Rooms for singles and couples are smaller than some others, but affords more privacy and quiet for those who are without kids. The owner made efforts to put families and children in another section where there are larger rooms with balconies. This left us in peace and tranquility even with shared bath areas we shared with mostly Japanese visitors. We had both pay as needed heat or air conditioning in the room.

The common areas with television, dining area and outside patio desk allowed interaction with our hosts and other guests and provided internet, tea, beer and awamouri for purchase and the owner chef Tatsu prepared excellent food. We were pleased with the Japanese authenticity but also the accommodations made to make Westerners feel at home as well. Tatsu-san has lived abroad and speaks English well, but also has an understanding of some Western needs. He provided culinary diversity with a variety of Japanese, Okinawan, Korean and some "Western" style food. We had both dinner and breakfast, but also could opt for days off to eat out where there is a small selection of resturants in Kabira. We seldom did eat out since Tatsu-san prepared such fantastic food which was a delight to the eye even if we could not eat it all due to the great amount provided (and sometimes our unaccustomed palates which were learning to appreciate Japanese tastes). Arrangements in Japanese with his friendly wife were more challenging with limited language on both our parts, so it is best to clarify with Tatsu for specific needs. There is one cash machine in town and payment is in cash, but there may be other arrangements if diving through the Umicoza dive shop. Overall, we highly recommend this for those seeking a Japanese style room and a unique and beautiful authentic Japanese guesthouse stay. Tatsu also threw in some extra hospitality with a ride to the palm forest and an evening watching fireflies. This is a low key place to hang out and relax for a while. Website helpful http://kabirabay.exblog.jp/

Room Tip: Make a phone call or email and talk to Tatsu
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Me and my wife stayed at Maetakaya in Aug-2009.
The place is very basic but clean, comfortable, great food, great location, and the terrace is lovely with a great view to kabira's nice bay.
About the food, Tatsu the owner, is a former chef form a sushi bar in L.A. and he cooks very well. The days we stayed there where some fellas that asked him for a "cooking lesson" and he made them cook sushi for dinner while he taught them with no problems.
He is a very friendly and nice guy. Her wife is also very gentle but she speaks little english.
The terrace is lovely, you can buy some beers from Tatsu, or if you prefer and don't mind a little walk, you can buy your own beers at the nearest mini-market (a bit cheaper) and keep them on a fridge that is at guests service.
Room was a very basic tatami room, but fresh, quiet and clean. Only thing is you had to put coins in order to make the A/C work.
Bathrooms are outside the room but very, very clean. To be honest I found this bathrooms cleaner than many other in-room services in other countries I've visited.
They don't take credit cards, but we had a package with Umicoza Diving, so we had a discount and we paid for everything at the dive shop, where they do take credit cards.

My opinion is that Maetakaya is a great place to stay if you want to discover the real Ishigaki Japanese Spirit, do some dives in the island and then relax with some beers in the nice terrace.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed there for 2 nights back in April 2010 with my brother. We were going diving with Umicoza Diving and wanted to see Ishigaki-jima, so we decided to stay at Maetakaya. For the price and location, it was more than adequate. We had a corner room with a fantastic view of the bay. The room was just a basic tatami room, clean and simple. The bathrooms were shared and were clean, even if it was nothing fancy. The hosts were really nice and the overall feeling of this place was quiet and nice. The English spoken was basic though.

We chose to reserver for dinner and breakfast on location as well and we were really satisfied by our meals. The breakfast had both Japanese and Western foods, and the dinners were comprised of an array of many little dishes, all very tasty. The portions were ample, and we always had as much rice or tea as we wanted, and there was also alcool for purchase. The dining room had a superb view of the bay, and the adjacent terrace was also a great place to relax.

As for payment and arrangements, it turned out that because Umicoza had an arrangement with Maetakaya, we got a small discount and we were able to pay for both the Inn and the diving directly at Umicoza (and they take credit cards).

Overall the village of Kabira was a nice place to visit by foot. We visited a nearby distillery of Awamori (and got free samplings), and the Soba place had excellent soup and some 20 flavors of gelatto - the coconut one was delicious. Since Maetakaya is within walking distance of all of this, the location is just perfect. However, the village itself is a good 30 mins by car to Ishigaki-city, and we decided to go there one night because frankly, we had exhausted the options for entertainment in Kabira.

This is a place I would go to again, for a reasonably priced stay in beautiful Ishigaki island, especially if I went diving again there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I was entirely satisfied with my stay at Maetakaya. The facilities may be a bit stretched when it is fully occupied but it was peaceful and relaxing during my stay. The food is excellent - Kobayashi san is a good cook and varies the menu. However if you prefer to go out and not eat at fixed times (dinner is early for many Westerners) there are alternatives in the village and in Ishigaki town. I found the owners very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

Food was good, quite clean, setting ok but room is extremely small and air cond 100 yens for one hour. But above all, if you are a westerner (europe or us), avoid maetakaya !!! You have to pay in advance (whereas Japenese people don't), and the woman in charge keeps thinking that you will go away and gets intrusive... Well holidays in "paranoia land"... not for me anymore !!!!!

  • Liked — maybe food
  • Disliked — Pay aircond, staff and no value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — Prefer Ishigaki centre (port) for more choice and convinience
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minshuku Maetakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshuku Maetakaya

Address: 934-32 Kabira, Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture 907-0453, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Ishigaki
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Minshuku Maetakaya Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minshuku Maetakaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.